We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza and Friendly Service”
Review of Roca Bar

Roca Bar
Ranked #224 of 408 Restaurants in Evansville
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Evansville, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Friendly Service”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We love the pizza (the Italian sausage is yummy) at the Kentucky Avenue Roca Bar. The (no smoking) bar area has a "Cheers" atmosphere where diners and sports fans can watch and talk about their favorite teams while dining. Very casual.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TexasSugarbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

This place rocks. Great atmosphere and great food. The outside patio is an awesome place to eat. They have live entertainment through out the summer on the patio.

Helpful?
Thank BradG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great pizza, Kentucky Ave preferred”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Roca Bar is a tradition for Evansvillians. The one on Kentucky Avenue is the old-time tavern-like atmosphere. The one off the highway is really good too, however it's much newer, bigger, and much more acustomed to larger groups and families, so it's much more of a preference thing. The 41 location also has outdoor seating which is nice, but tends to cause a lot of flies to hang around in the restaurant, which is a major turn off. I know all restaurants have flies, but they were EVERYWHERE, and most places we go don't seem to have the same problem.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
619 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“I don't get it. Sorry ”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Other reviews rave about this place and it was disappointment to me.
Wasn't really feeling the menu or the Resturant.
The service was friendly the food tasted good not wow good.
Smaller portions and a bit pricey.
It was just not a "I have to go back" kind of place.
I have a feeling (not knowing history but realizing after reading reviews)
This was probably a long time local favorite in a older location someplace else. Second generation built this place with new look and ruined it.
It's more of a Resturant with bunch of kids and family then a sports bar.





Helpful?
Thank Travel46804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An Evansville tradition with me for over 50 years”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

When my wife and I travel to Evansville for pleasure or business we always stop at the Roca Bar for a superb thin crust pizza that can only be found here. The tradition began while we were dating in college and they still prepare the pizza the same way and it always satisfies.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roca Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing