We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Evansville
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Our baseball team from the Nashville, Tennessee, area of 13/14 year old boys, parents, and siblings came to Evansville for a regional tournament. Most of us stayed 4 nights. Having traveled extensively, I have to admit that I was apprehensive about staying so long in a Holiday Inn. In my experience, quality control is often an issue. Not with this property! The rooms and suites were exceptionally clean and modern...wonderful mattresses, crisp white sheets, lots of pillows, etc...which was a nice surprise after a long drive. However, the hotel staff was even better. Just the thought of teenage boys staying in a fully-booked hotel is enough to make most hotel staff members shake in their shoes. Our kids were polite, and the staff went above and beyond to take them under their wing and make sure they had a great time. For example... after the pool closed each night, they opened up the breakfast area and allowed them to play video games together til after midnight (sorry if the chocolate milk inventory was depleted!) They even provided a flat screen TV, Xbox, and board games for us. They also sectioned off an area for a birthday breakfast, housekeeping happily worked around a room full of boys having a video game tournament during the day, and...this one is so sweet...the maintenance man from the hotel who also works at the historic Bosse Field (where A League of Their Own was filmed), recognized the group and took the entire team to a reserved section behind the home dugout to watch the game. They were thrilled. Thanks to everyone for making this a trip such a memorable one. The Evansville Holiday Inn Select East should be used as an example of how all hotels should operate. Tather, Sarah, and Marlo, plus the maintenance staff and the wonderful night front desk staff (I regret that I didn't write down everyone's names) really made all the difference for us. Thanks also to Makenzie Dunn of Dunn Hospitality for handling our block of rooms. This is an exceptional property! Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Suites are nice and have central HVAC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curt B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Oops, crossed my responses. The Convention Weekend response was to go here, lol.

So, I will reply to theirs on here. So sorry.

Brittany is indeed a great addition to our team and someday she will have my seat, I am certain. The entire staff here takes pride on the experience of each and every guest and we are glad you noticed.

Thanks for the great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    39
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
50
24
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June. The hotel is conveniently located right off of the Interstate with many dining choices in the surrounding area. The hotel in clean and well maintained and the staff was friendly, and incredibly helpful. The room had a refrigerator and microwave, comfortable beds and pillows and an easily controlled thermostat.

Breakfast was typical Holiday Inn fare. What stood out was how clean the breakfast area was kept and how helpful and friendly the breakfast staff was. I have food allergies and I spoke with Marlo to see if there was something safe for me to eat. The next day, I was pleasantly surprised that to find that the staff had gone to the grocery store for items that I could have for breakfastt. I have never encountered this kind of personal service in a chain hotel.

Monday through Thursday (from 5:30 - 7 I think) there is a happy hour and each adult receives 2 drink coupons per day. They serve mixed drinks, wine and beer along with snacks (chips, chex mix, etc.). A welcome wind down to the day before heading to dinner!

If you are in this area, I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeegirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was our first time at this hotel. Our son in college at USI in Evansville broke his ankle and needed surgery. We came to Evansville for 2 nights to be there for the surgery and the first night of recovery. The staff was very friendly, the room was huge, and the breakfast was the best mid-priced hotel free breakfast we have ever had. The variety was amazing and the scrambled eggs were delicious - like homemade. Of course, their signature cinnamon rolls were also delicious. We wanted to have a little thank you pizza party for our son's friends who had been helping him out in various ways since he was on crutches and the staff allowed us to use the "breakfast area" one evening. The location was also excellent - close to shopping, eating, and USI.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curt B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Tom,

Thanks for sharing your experience. Here at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites, We pride ourselves on the world class service that we provide to every guest every time. My personal favorite are the cinnamon rolls, and with the recent change (May 1st) we have even more great offerings at our breakfast.

I am glad that our staff was able to accomodate your needs for a pizza celebration. We also have a meeting area that can be rented for small fee should anyone wish to have a private party.

Thank you again, and we look forward to hearing from you on your next visit to Evansville.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express On Circle Front Drive when I was in town for business. After leaving in the morning to visit customers, I found that my car had a flat tire in the parking lot. I went back inside to call Triple A but the receptionist at the front desk suggested calling maintenance to see if they could help first. Jeff from maintenance quickly appeared and offered to help. He aired up my tire enough for me to drive it down the street to the Ford Dealership. The tire was not repairable so I had it replaced. Had Jeff not offered his assistance and I would have called AAA, I would have had to wait for them to arrive and then still had to go to a repair shop after they would have put on my spare. Jeff not only saved me a step and thus saved me valuable time but he was courteous and efficient, even checking to make sure everything went well after i returned with my car. Jeff is an valuable asset to the hotel and part of the reason that I will be staying at the Holiday Inn Express on all future visits. Jeff made what could have been a very frustrating experience, a piece of cake!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curt B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We here at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Evansville East pride ourselves on taking pride in our guest satisfaction. We are always here to extend a hand when a guest is in need, big or small.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and let us know when you will next be in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakeman, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Courteous staff, large clean room. TV is medium sized, large bathroom, QUIET AIR CONDITIONER/HEATER, room decorated nicely and bed was comfortable. Two free complimentary drink tickets here. Breakfast was OK. Orange juice was out.
Lots of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

8 of us stayed in two rooms, and we all thought the stay was great! The rooms were nice and clean, beds extremely comfortable (even the pull out bed!), and the free cookies in the lobby when we came in were a pleasant bonus! The morning breakfast was mediocre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great front desk service. the night and morning people were very friendly. All the equipment in the exercise room work. But the Pool is seasonal.
The room were very clean and there are plenty of places to eeat around there.
Also there is a managers reception. Nothing great. But very nice.

Room Tip: This is a very nice place. Prces are a touch high though. But check it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baz197777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evansville hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Evansville East
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Evansville
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Evansville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Evansville West
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Evansville
Hilton Garden Inn Evansville
#2 of 36 in Evansville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Evansville East
Courtyard Evansville East
#5 of 36 in Evansville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Address: 301 Circle Front Dr, Evansville, IN 47715-7197 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Evansville
#11 Business Hotel in Evansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites East Evansville offers 69 guest rooms with 24 one bedroom suites and 1 presidential suite with a whirlpool. The Country Inn & Suites is located at the northwest corner of I-69 and Lloyd Expressway on Evansville's East side. The hotel features complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Evansville. Conveniently located just five miles from the Evansville Museum of Art and the Reitz Home Museum. This Evansville hotel is close to popular attractions like the Casino Aztar, Eastland Mall, historical New Harmony, historical Newburgh and Mesker Park Zoo with the new Amazonia. There are a wide variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the area. The Evansville Dress Regional Airport is 10 miles from the hotel. Ivy Tech University, the University of Evansville and the University of Southern Indiana are also nearby. Free deluxe Continental breakfast, free hard wired and wireless high-speed Internet and exercise room. Also we offer discount passes to Tri-State Athletic Club, Evansville's premier private health club for our guests. 100% Smoke free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Evansville
Evansville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing