We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay right in my own town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Evansville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropicana Evansville
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Evansville
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A nice stay right in my own town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

While at the casino, I won a free night's stay. I thought it would be kind of weird staying in a hotel 6 miles from where I live, but I wouldn't let something free go by! The room, as well as the halls and lobby were very clean. There was no smoke smell on our hall or in our room which was much nicer than I expected it to be. The only place that is disgusting isn't really the hotel, it's the stairway in the parking garage. I have complained on the complaint cards numerous times, and nothing is ever done. I don't think the casino even owns a hose; obviously they don't use it on the stairwell. Anyway, we had a 7th floor river-view room. It was awesome. We sat and watched the sun set over the river. I guess because we were that high above the street, there was absolutely no street noise whatsoever. We walked down to the LST, went to the museum, walked around and looked at the old homes, and, of course, went to the casino. It was kind of like we were from out of town. I was really surprised how different it was staying there than just driving in to go to the boat (casino).

Room Tip: If you can get a river view--do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pearce24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are certainly glad that you took advantage of our offer and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Even though you are a "local",
it is still a nice get away with lots of options for things to do.

I have contacted our Director of Facilities who look into the stairway problem. We do try to keep that area clean, but sometimes it may get away from us. We do have patrols in there and they do a good job in letting us know when there is a problem, but we will be more observant there.

Thanks for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    57
    38
    8
    12
See reviews for
17
83
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

the room was clean,and very comfortable, check in was a breeze,my room was on the 8th floor it was very quiet and overlooked the Ohio river the casino offered all kinds of games i thought the tables a little high and they have a computer black jack dealer,the machines were hitting ,drink service is slow. the casino 3 levels and a observation deck that overlooks the river.

Room Tip: i had a room facing the Ohio river it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review about your stay with us at Tropicana Evansville. We are glad that you had a great time and the room was to your liking. Our river view rooms do seem to be
the most popular, as everyone enjoys the relaxation from looking out.

Glad you had a good time and hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St louis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We received a complimentary 3 night stay to Tropicana Evansville. We made it through 2 days and left early. Hotel room was filthy. Upon checking in my children attempted to get under blankets in which we noticed brown stains not only on the sheets but the comforter. Cigarette burns also. The vents in the room had 3 inches of dirt visible blowing into the room. Walls were stained with spots of god knows what. Beds were extremely uncomfortable. The hotel is not very kid friendly. No pool, most of the restaurants listed are not open during weekdays. Casino slots are tight. I saw no one winning. Tropicana points and cards do not transfer from other tropicana casinos. You have to get new card and the machines are prehistoric. Casino is dirty which shouldn't surprise anyone staying in their rooms. It is quite a hike from the room. Staff at the casino and hotel are not friendly. When I checked out the male staff member said "ok your done, you had a complimentary stay" Hello?! How about thanks for staying with us, or maybe even is their a reason your checking out early? Or even better yet how was your stay Mrs. Smith? Come back to see us..... I checked out the 7th at 10:00 if anyone wants to talk to this taller male about customer service! Avoid this place at all costs the only good experience we had on this vacation was outside the hotel at Holiday World! Do yourself a favor and pay to stay somewhere clean, comfortable and more accommodating!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woodsfamilystl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and for providing the honest feedback, even though I am sorry that your stay with us was not all that it could or should have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and our team for all the inconveniences that you occurred. The fact that your reservation was for three days and you left early causes concern that interaction with our Front Desk staff is certainly not typical and we should have addressed this issue right then when it was brought to us. The Executive Housekeeper and her staff has been made aware of the comments you made concerning the cleanliness of the room and this will be addressed as well.
All of our restaurants are open during the week with the exception of the buffet, so there should have been plenty of dining options for you.
Again, I am sorry that you had an unpleasant stay with us and hope that in the future we do get the opportunity to make this up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Three of stayed for one evening while gambling at the Tropicana Casino. Room exceeded our expectations. It was clean, quiet, and comfortable! My mother is a member of their 55+ club, and we had an amazing deal on the room. We were very pleased!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parisresale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review of our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found it comfortable and relaxing. Thanks for taking the time to spread the word!
We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were in a tennis tournament in Henderson for the weekend. Spouses came with us so we thought we'd stay at the casino hotel for more activity options.

The Tropicana was a good choice. Rooms were clean and modern. Staff friendly and helpful.

It was nice to get back to the hotel in the evening and have a choice of restaurants on premise. They had a really good band playing one night at one of the bars. There's a Starbucks on site to get you going in the morning! And of course, there's the casino!

There are cheaper hotels in the vicinity, but not with all the amenities of the Tropicana.

We didn't have a good view from our room (looked out over the parking garage), but we didn't care as we weren't in our room much.

Overall, we had a good experience and would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are so glad that you decided to stay with us and that we had everything you needed to make your stay so enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon and be sure to ask for that river view room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Loved are room, it was comfortable and loved the view of the Ohio River. The restaurant Max and Erma's that is on property was very good and so was the service. If you are looking for a casino to stay at, I would definitely recommend this place, and French Lick Resort and Casino... Southern Indiana is awesome!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 180melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. We are pleased that you found your room clean and comfortable. I will be sure to pass that along to our housekeeping staff. Max & Erma's is a great place to catch a snack or a nice dinner and so glad that you enjoyed that as well.
Hope the next time you are in the area, you decide to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Nice Hotel in the Downtown area......across from the river. We had a room on the third floor with a nice view of the river. This Hotel/Casino is really spread out.....the parking garage entrance is on the opposite side of the building (that is, if, you do not pay for valet services). Some very nice valet ladies allowed us to park our car at the entrance of the hotel to go in and check-in and then load our luggage cart with our belongings and was able to take them to our room. About 10 minutes later, we returned to our car (thanking those two ladies) and drove to opposite side of building to park our car. The walking at this establishment and getting from one place to the other is quite lengthy.....at least it is all under one roof!
That evening we retired for the night and was ready to take a shower. To our surprise, there was ONLY one wash cloth, one hand towel, no bath mat and 4 bath towels. We managed with what we had, but, I did report it the next morning when we checked out. The man behind the check-out desk told us that was what they put in the rooms. I told him, for two people, there should have been sufficient bath linens and I had never encountered this at any other hotel!! So, people, if you stay at this hotel, check out the bathroom before you get in the shower!
Also, the bathroom vent was totally FILTHY, coated with dust, etc.
Internet... we could not connect to certain websites, like genealogy, etc.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor was quite and we had a very nice view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for writing your review about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you had a good time and have addressed some of the issues that you had. The Front Desk Clerk did give you some wrong information about the number of towels and wash clothes that are in the room and the Executive Housekeeper has been notified that some of the rooms did not have the correct amount of terry in them. This should not happen again and appreciate any feedback when it is given. She has also been notified about the vents and her staff is paying more attention to detail when it comes to the vents.

I don't know what the issue was not being able to connect to the internet websites that you wanted. I do not know if they were having issues or anything like that because you can usually get on most websites on your own computer or if you came down to the Business Center and used ours.

Again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evansville hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Merigot at Tropicana
Le Merigot at Tropicana
#10 of 36 in Evansville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Evansville
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Evansville
Hampton Inn Evansville
#3 of 36 in Evansville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Evansville
Hilton Garden Inn Evansville
#2 of 36 in Evansville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
6.8 mi away
Courtyard Evansville East
Courtyard Evansville East
#4 of 36 in Evansville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
6.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Evansville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Evansville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Evansville

Property: Tropicana Evansville
Address: 421 NW Riverside Dr, Evansville, IN 47708-1047 (Formerly Casino Aztar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Evansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Evansville 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Tropicana Evansville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aztar Casino
Evansville Aztar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing