We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropicana Evansville
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Evansville
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have only been to the casino here once but got a free room offer for Sun-Friday so we decided to use it.

We had our day planned to do some site seeing of the Indian mounds nearby and a couple of other things on the river but it began raining right after we arrived in town.

We got to the hotel a couple of hours early since we could not do what we intended but the front desk was awesome and went ahead and gave us a room. check in was really quick and easy. I had requested a fridge and they had it to us in less than an hour along with extra coffee.

I booked a king smoking and it was really nice. the bed was a little hard but slept ok and there was a small couch and desk in the room. I thought the tv was sort of small but it was flatscreen and did ok.

the bathroom was amazing. It had this huge walk in shower with an awesome shower head.....the vanity was nice and there were plenty of towels and stuff. I really like the hair dryer provided and the makeup mirror too.

For the most part, the hotel was quiet but it did not seem to be that busy so we slept well.

As for the casino......it still sucks....you do not get free drinks and they do not comp food very easily like a lot of the places in Tunica do. No incentives really to spend time there.

We ate dinner at Max and Ermas and it was good....not the best steak I have ever had but good. I thought the price was reasonable since we paid 30 for two steak dinners and two coors lights.

The one thing I do have a problem with is that they put a 50 hold on your credit card and supposedly release it but it has been 3 business days and it is still there.

I think this is a good place to stay if you want to get out and see things but the casino is a huge waste of time really but it is the only game in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walker_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. Sorry that it rained and ruined your plans around town, but glad that you did stay with us and had a good time. We have had a lot of positive remarks about the bathroom and the fact that it is bright, making it easy to get ready for the day.
We have a lot of fun things going on in the Casino, but unfortunately the state of Indiana does not allow for alcohol to be comped at any of the Casinos. Please contact the Hotel and ask for either myself or the Front Desk Manager if your deposit has not been released back to you and we will look into it. We authorize for a deposit when you check in and we release that authorization back when you depart. Some banks do take a little longer than others in releasing the funds back to your card, but it is immediate on our part. If we can help you in any other way, please let us know. Hope you do return and visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    62
    42
    10
    13
See reviews for
22
94
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at this property recently on a spur of the moment having been to the casino that night. Check-in was wonderful! We didn't have any kind of discount code and she voluntarily gave us the facebook discount. The room seemed to be new and fresh so I am guessing there has been a room renovation pretty recently. I would happily stay here again, especially if we were at the boat again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmomof3Kentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our rooms have been recently renovated and we are ciontinually getting positive feedback on them. Since this was a last minute stay with us, we hope that you plan a return trip and spend time with us again.
We look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The staff at this hotel were incredibly friendly and helpful. Everything in hotel, restuarants, and casino was very clean and updated. The area is overall very lovely.

I would have given a "very good" rating but for a few issues:
(1) The "riverfront" view we were promised in the room was true...if you stood in the corner, on your tippy-toes and craned your neck to look down the side of the building to get a view of the river. The actual view is lovely, so I would have been very pleased if this had actually worked out.
(2) The bed was very bouncy, for lack of a better term. The first time I sat down on the bed, I almost fell into the floor because I sat down with a little force, and the mattress almost bounced me off.
(3) The breakfast buffet was terrible. There just isn't anything else to say about it but it was terrible and probably the only place where we didn't receive excellent customer service on this visit.
(4) They charge for the valet service, even for hotel guests unless you were one of the higher level casino card holders which is very unusual. Also, the day we dropped the car off, the young gentleman stood and waited for us to get our own bags out of the trunk rather than helping (even though we had already given him his tip. On the day we left, the valet service was being run by two elderly people (a man and a woman both appearing to be in their late 60s or early 70s), and we had to wait about 20 minutes for them to wait on us and our vehicle. When the woman pulled up, she got out of the car, snatched the tip from my hand, and walked off. She didn't turn on the A/C in the car, pop the trunk, or help us load our luggage like any other valet service I've ever dealt with has done.

Room Tip: Be very specific about the riverfront view and ask not to be on the side or corner rooms so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wnr327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are pleased that everyone was friendly and helpful to you during your stay with us. We are sorry about the view that you had in your room. While we do have some rooms that are riverfront, we advertise our rooms as a riverview because we can not guarantee that everyone will get a full front on view. We do our best to honor any request that we may have for the full view though. As far as the Breakfast Buffet I will contact Food and Beverage and let them know that the food and the service was not up to par of what we usually deliver. We are taking all your comments about Valet and will use them as a training session with our department, as it looks like we missed an opportunity to wow you with our service here. We do provide free valet parking to all our guests, so there may have been a misunderstanding in that regard and we apologize for that.
All in all, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return and give us an opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was surprised with the rooms at Tropicana Evansville. They're nicely updated, comfortable, and the AC worked great.

The staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating. While we only stayed a few days for a quick trip for business, it was a great stay.

Parking was free (which is always nice), and entertainment endless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Public Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review about our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and liked our newly renovated rooms. We pride ourselves on our thoughtful service and being attentive to our guests needs, so we are glad that you found our staff helpful in every way. We look forward to you visiting with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosedale, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and overnight stay at the Tropicana. Had a great time donating our money to the casino but the rooms were very nice and comfortable. Nice and clean. We also enjoyed the selection of restaurants at the location.

Room Tip: Ask to a room with a view of the Ohio River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKneeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel and property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and liked the diiferent restaurants and things that we have. Sorry you did not win in the Casino, but there is always next time! We look forward to being able to serve you when you do decide to stay in Evansville in the future. If we can do anything else, please visit our website and let us know. Thanks again, Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, IN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel renovation reminiscent of a sophisticated boutique big city hotel. Soaring lobby. Premier reservation customer service. Polite and expedient desk clerks. Stunning modern room decor in crystal whites with a splash of blue include large comfortable bed, flat screen TV, love seat, colorful rug and large spacious bathroom with huge walk in shower, large basin sink with adequate counter space and towel storage and beautiful marble floors. River view and walkway to casino and several on site restaurant choices including a breakfast/lunch buffet, deli, steak house, Max and Ermas, coffee bar, deli and casual dining. Lively renovated riverboat style casino (but quite smokey in some areas) with varied entertainment. Join the Casino Player's Club or watch surrounding area newspapers for coupons or specials. Adjacent parking garage and valet parking. Other local shopping mall, retail and restaurants accessible within 10 minutes on the nearby Lloyd Expressway.

Room Tip: Hotel is on river and adjacent to downtown business (not shopping or dining) areas. Rooms on one sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DotHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Wow!! Thank you so much for the outstanding review. Your description of our property is exactly what we would like our guests to experience and how we would like to come across. It is so nice to see that we did succeed. We just finished a complete renovation and when we were deciding the decor, the sleek, ultra-modern look is what we were going for. So glad that your experience was delightful and will share your comments with our Front Desk and Reservation Teams. Our Service committment is to Deliver Thoughtful Service, so we are excited that it does show through. We have installed a new air purifier in the Casino and it does help to keep the smoke down and the air cleaner. We truly look forward to your stay with us again. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmer City, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had stayed there previously when it was Casino Aztar Hotel and knew they had renovated the rooms and hotel so we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. Hotel lobby was fresh and modern. The lady at the check in desk was rather rude and condescending when we asked for a room on a higher floor with a view of the river. We got a room on the 4th floor and although we could see part of the river, we mainly looked at the office building next door. But we were pleased with the room as it had lots of room, a loveseat, a new flat-panel TV, and new modern bedding. But the best was the bathroom. Walk-in shower, great, great mirror and lighting. Not much room on the sink vaniety for toiletries, etc., but there was a shelf below we used. Luck was not looking down on us at the casino, however. It is rather small and very, very smoky. They have room service available from one of the restuarants in the casino pavilion which was good and we had a pleasant server deliver it. All in all we had a lovely time. Worth staying at if you are in the area or if you get offered a free room by the players club as there are many things to do and places to eat adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlsmls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your return visit to Tropicana. We are pleased that you found the renovation an exciting start to your stay. We are sorry though that your next encounter was not as pleasant. This has been addressed with our Hotel Staff to ensure that this is not the picture we portray to our guests. We are surely getting a lot of positive reviews about our new bathroom. The new look and feel leave most people very satisfied. Sorry Lady Luck did not favor you this visit, but it may change on a return one. If the Casino was too smoky, remember we do have one floor that is entirely non smoking and hope that you will return and visit it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the other things we offer up to par. We hope you return again soon. Thanks so much...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evansville hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Merigot at Tropicana
Le Merigot at Tropicana
#11 of 36 in Evansville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Evansville
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Evansville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Evansville East
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Evansville West
6.7 mi away
Courtyard Evansville East
Courtyard Evansville East
#6 of 36 in Evansville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Evansville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Evansville

Property: Tropicana Evansville
Address: 421 NW Riverside Dr, Evansville, IN 47708-1047 (Formerly Casino Aztar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Evansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Evansville 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropicana Evansville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aztar Casino
Evansville Aztar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing