We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A great improvment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Evansville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropicana Evansville
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Evansville
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great improvment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have visited Casino Aztar twice this year and the hotel rooms are really nice. We have visited this hotel for several years and the hotel was really starting to be run down and very outdated but they just remodeled the whole hotel and redid all rooms and it is great. The rooms were very clean and more modern. The hotel also has free internet which is also great. The clerk at the front desk are always friendly. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Debra S,
Thank you for taking the time to respond about our hotel. We are proud of the updates that we have made. We were past due in doing so, but now our guests will experience a whole new stay in the new rooms. It is the ultimate compliment for you to tell us how friendly our clerks are. It is our goal that everyone is treated with the friendliest, most professional service ever. We are glad that you have enjoyed your past stays with us and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    57
    38
    8
    12
See reviews for
17
83
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel this weekend while we played. Our room was very nice. The bed was comfortable, for a casinos there was no noise in the hallways, plenty of towels and hot water. We will definitely stay here again.

The restaurants on the other hand leave a lot to be desired. The buffet is terrible. Very little selection and everything is either straight out of a can or looks as though it was prepared with left overs. The Cookery (I think that is the name) poor quality for the price. Max and Erma's has the best food, but the service Sunday morning was terrible. We sat for over 15 minutes without being acknowledged then had to request a manager. (At least 3 waitresses and the manager walked past our table numerous times and never spoke to us.) Once that problem was handled the manager never checked back, you had to beg more refills on coffee and when the food was brought to the table (we ordered breakfast), it was cold.

Next trip, we will leave the property to eat!!

Room Tip: End of the hallway, away from elevators puts you away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank altinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for comments regarding our hotel and food service. We are glad that you had a nice visit in the hotel and are looking forward to your return. I am sorry that you did not have a pleasurable experience with our restaurants. We appreciate the input that you gave us about the different outlets and our Food & Beverage Director will be made aware.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a long-awaited get-away and stayed at Casino Aztar hotel. The hotel itself isn't bad. The hallways (and rooms) all appeared to have fresh carpet laid down. The room was clean. That's pretty much all one can or maybe should ask for.

The service overall was good, except for the check-in. We booked online and the lower rate was apparently not carried over into the lady's computer. We inquired as to why the rate was so much higher and we were told that's the best she could do. After pining on the subject for a few minutes and told her we booked online, it was like Pandora's box had been opened --- and all of the sudden -- she would freely give us the rate (just $25 less each night) and the comped breakfasts that were part of the package we booked online. But for a few minutes there she had left us stranded and ready to sink the boat. Not very professional at all in our opinion. Just be careful to check your rates when you check in with what you are able to get online. This was a bad start to the weekend.

Still, for what one receives, it is a little bit pricey yo stay there. The breakfast buffet is not worth it at all. It contains rather pedestrian food and the food is NOT replenished often at all on the table. I went through our entire breakfast without seeing a tray of eggs on there. I had to ASK twice about the hashbrowns. Will not be a patron of that again. Our server (Pam) was a sweetheart, however, and she tried to get the food preparers to get food out there for the guests, but the pickings were slim.

There are many restaurants within the casino and you are better off going to one of them. We went to Max and Erma's to eat dinner one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is at the end of the hall - far away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Mr. Foster,
Thank you for the comments on your recent stay here. I apologize for the problems you encountered on check in and we will address this as a training tool. Our Food & Beverage Director will be made aware as to your comments on the dining outlets. I am sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations and we look forward to your return visit with hopes that it will be a more enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at Aztar multiple times but the last 2 times definitely were better! Stayed in rm 613 and 516. Nice valet service and friendly staff. The remodeled rooms were nice and bright, unlike the rundown version of old. Casino was nice and has non-smoking floor on Level 1. Entertainment was good at the lounge (Rob Caudill was in town - he's an awesome Rod Stewart tribute singer!!). My only wish is if it has a pool area. Overall it was a great stay!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brownboy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review on the Hotel and Casino. Glad you like the updates and hope you return soon. We have some sort of entertainment in the lounge every evening. Check our website for upcoming entertainers for your return visit. Rob Caudill is a Casino Aztar favorite and we have great response anytime he is here. Customer Service is very important to us and appreciate your comments on our staff. We are always aiming to make your visit a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have now been to 6 different casinos/hotels and this one blows all the others out of the water (pun intended).  Yes, this is a smaller casino boat but that gives every employee the chance to give you the one on one attention you deserve when you are spending your hard worked money.  We went to Metropolis, IL Harrah's and although larger and a bigger (brand name) it did not even come close to the experience at Aztar. We actually had planned to stay at Metropolis for 4 days and was so disappointed at the experience, staff, games and hotel that we left 2 days early when the rooms were comp'd and left for Aztar. After one quick phone call to Aztar they had a room reserved for us for the next 2 days with no questions asked.  Everytime we walk in everyone that has come into contact with us at least once is outstanding with customer service by remembering our names, making sure our trip was pleasant and asking if we have eaten or need anything.  We have stayed in about 30 hotels in the past and Le Merigot is the nicest of them all with modern rooms, wonderful staff, comfortable and clean rooms, a great employee that takes care of the breakfast bar in the blush lounge and amazing views from the rooms. I would love to name several names of the people that we talk to the most, but everyone there is always a joy to be around. The dealers are personable and treat you like a friend not someone they are paid to keep conversation with. The waitress are friendly, fast, and helpful. The pit boss' keep you very comfortable. Just an example, a pit boss on our first trip there noticed that Lindsey was cold and without question got permission from security to give his suit jacket to her to keep her warm.  That was the most thoughtful thing I have ever witnessed.   I could go on and on about all the experiences we've had, but the best advice we have is to experience the best for yourself. 
**This is not a fake review, no one put us up to this and we can be found almost every other weekend at Aztar. Just ask for Russell and Lindsey**

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you Russell and Lindsey for your comments! All feedback is important to us and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do pride ourselves on our Thoughtful Service to our guests and want to make it a pleasant experience all the way, from the Casino, to the restaurants and hotels. Come back soon and visit us at our newly renovated, modern Casino Aztar Hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
485 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is actually a really good casino. Don't let the riverboat aspect throw you off. This is a really well maintained casino that is constantly making improvements. Free sodas and coffee is a really nice touch. There are a few restaurants connected if you are hungry. The smoke free levels are really nice too. This a great attraction downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HanKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We have made a lot of improvements to our Casino and steadily looking at new products to make your visit to Casino Aztar more enjoyable. We appreciate the time you took to make a comment and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evansville hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Merigot at Tropicana
Le Merigot at Tropicana
#10 of 36 in Evansville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Evansville
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Evansville
Hampton Inn Evansville
#3 of 36 in Evansville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Evansville
Hilton Garden Inn Evansville
#2 of 36 in Evansville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
6.8 mi away
Courtyard Evansville East
Courtyard Evansville East
#4 of 36 in Evansville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
6.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Evansville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Evansville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Evansville

Property: Tropicana Evansville
Address: 421 NW Riverside Dr, Evansville, IN 47708-1047 (Formerly Casino Aztar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Evansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Evansville 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Tropicana Evansville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aztar Casino
Evansville Aztar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing