We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Handled the crowds well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn East
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Evansville
Sioux City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Handled the crowds well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel was full due to local sporting events and several teams were in residence. The hotel staff kept things running smoothly even with the crowds in the lobby. The high demand in the breakfast area every morning, (The management should give the person handling the breakfast area a special compliment.) and the buses in the parking lot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niederw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
24
15
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We needed a stopping point in the middle of a road trip and landed here. This hotel is easy to see from the road but like so many others it is a minor couple of blocks to get there. This was well worth the short drive. The front desk staff was very friendly and the appearance of the hotel was clean and quiet and attractive. The room reflected the same qualities. The only mild concern was playing the pillow swap game with the choice of firmness of the five pillows to choose from that were on the bed, this was a situation that we were happy to have to deal with. After a good nights sleep on a pretty firm bed, we went down for a pretty good complementary breakfast. There were several offerings of pastries, breads, and cereals. Fruits, sausage and what I can best describe as an industrial omelet made for a good start for the day. I will never assume that a complementary hotel breakfast will rival restaurant quality but this worked well. The breakfast area was clean and well tended to by the staff. On our way out we stopped at the desk to check out and they seemed genuinely concerned when they asked "How was your stay?" I believe that they meant it. One surprise when we reached our car to leave was that the frost from our windshield had been scraped off. I dismissed my concern when I saw the truck next to ours had been cleared as well. I don't know if this had been done by the staff, good Samaritan or confused traveler in error but we shared a smile and headed back on our way. On our way to the big road we noticed that this hotel is located close to "Retail Everything" so if that is what you want, it's here. This was a great stop in the middle of our road trip and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetnuthinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked this hotel with hesitation as the booking site indicated only 2 stars. What a pleasant surprise when we arrived. This is a very nice hotel which has just been freshly remodeled. The rooms were clean with very comfortable beds. They host a nice happy hour with free drinks and snacks. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LWogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLM78, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn East, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your review! We appreciate it and glad you enjoyed happy hour. We can't wait to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We mistakenly booked a room in another hotel, after hurriedly making room arrangements before driving to Evansville. The comparison between our hotel for the previous night and this one were like night and day, so perhaps our review might be a little skewed.
Upon entering the lobby, there is a bright, fresh feel that we have not found at many hotels in this chain. Desk personnel were very friendly and helpful and check in was easy.
The room gave a sense of one in a new hotel, so it apparently has been renovated recently. The beds were extremely comfortable along with the bedding. Though close to the highway, it was quiet. We slept VERY well here and woke up refreshed.
Breakfast had a better selection than most hotels in this class, and the person maintaining the food area worked very hard to keep everything supplied.
We were very impressed with this hotel and will likely stay there on future visits to Evansville

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLM78, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn East, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you all for choosing us and you're correct, the hotel has been newly remodeled. We appreciate the review and look forward to seeing you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived, check-in was less than 5 minutes. The hotel appeared to be newly remodeled. The room was very quaint and the beds were comfortable. The only down side was getting to the hotel. We had to make several turns even though we could see the sign. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenTennpolygraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I decided to try the Comfort Inn this trip. This hotel has undergone a very nice remodel. The room was very comfortable and the bed was too. I slept like a log. Nice amenities such as access to a walking path that encircled the "pond" or retention pool or whatever the body of water that was near the hotel..a light snack and adult beverage option at the end of the day was offered in the dining area.

The hotel is off the beaten path (and away from the busy parkway). It is a pleasant drive once you find your way. Other hotels are in the vicinity. Great access to eateries, shopping and the highway. If you don't want to venture far, the Cracker Barrel is just around the corner as is a bar/hamburger restaurant called Cheeseburgers in Paradise. I opted for the quieter Cracker Barrel.

Breakfast was nice too!

Overall, i thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will stay here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IlLibby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel based on the price and reviews on TripAdvisor. It was easy to find, right off the highway, which was great for us, as we were en route. Our Expedia rate was good, and the pool was nice for cooling off after a long day of traveling. There was coffee and tea in the room. The room felt clean and fresh, with very comfortable bedding and soft and firm pillows. The beds, themselves felt new and cozy. Though we didn't turn it on, there was a nice large flat screen tv in the room also.

We thought we'd go to the nearby Cracker Barrel for breakfast, but the it desk clerk told us the free breakfast was quite good. It was a great breakfast with omelets, sausages, potatoes, bagel, toast, muffins, donuts, yogurt, fruit, waffles, cereals, oatmeal, 3 kinds of juices, coffee, tea and more.

One other nice thing....the vending machine was very expensive $1.75 for a bottle of Dasani water, but when we mentioned it as the only note we had, the front desk clerk said that they refunded water bottle money to the guests, and promptly did so. Wow!

I would be happy to stay here again and feel comfortable recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are non-smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gradresearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evansville hotels
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Evansville
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn East
Quality Inn East
#21 of 35 in Evansville
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
1.8 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#28 of 35 in Evansville
3.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#23 of 35 in Evansville
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Evansville
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Evansville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn East

Property: Comfort Inn East
Address: 8331 E Walnut St, Evansville, IN 47715-8167
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Evansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn East Hotel Evansville
Comfort Inn Evansville
Evansville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing