We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“LOVED this tour!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of USS LST Ship Memorial

USS LST Ship Memorial
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Evansville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The USS LST Ship Memorial is the last fully operational WWII Landing Ship, Tank in the United States, and is dedicated to these very important ships and the men who served on them. The USS LST 325 was one of the over 200 that participated in the Normandy Landings. Tours of the ship are guided as the ship is fully operational, and run on the hour with the last tour going on ship at 3:00 PM.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LOVED this tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

My son and husband went to the USS LST tour and absolutely LOVED it. They learned so much, even after reading about it online. They came back from the tour super excited to fill me in on everything and show me the pictures. We went back the next day to buy a t-shirt so my husband can proudly display his visit.

Visited April 2014
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“History At It's Finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This Landing Ship Tank (LST) is not to be missed. It is the only remaining ship of it's kind and it still functions. The crew takes the ship to different ports every year in late August or early September so other areas get a chance to tour it. Evansville is lucky to have LST 325 permanently docked here.

Visited February 2014
3 Thank EVVDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice naval historical piece”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Very nicely presented and friendly people working there. It's not every day one can see a big naval ship in Indiana! A little pricey to tour so large families might want to consider that, but would be a fun place to take your little navy fan, or for those wanting to reminisce.

Visited June 2013
2 Thank ShowMeTheMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This is an excellent piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Evansville used to build ships long ago, and I think this is one of them or one similar to the ones they built. This is a great tour where you get to know what went on and an explanation of the different equipment, not just a look-see and "Oh I wonder what this is." Very knowledgable people running the tour.

Visited May 2013
1 Thank MustangRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Embrace a Piece of living History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We loved it! It was everything I'd hoped to see feel and experience. This is coming from a guy who enjoys military history. It is a very special ship with a very dedicated and knowledgeable volunteer staff. If you understand what you're seeing you will truly appreciate it.
That being said, do a little homework before you go to better understand. It is a WWII ship, there are no museum interactive games, no 3D effects, no IMAX cinematography. This is the real deal, cold hard steel. Absolutely no place for little kids, they wont get it and may distract from those who do.
The guide told of stories of the WWII sailors who have visited, shared their stories, and walked it's decks again. The photos and the shell holes put it all in perspective. There are many men who left this ship never to come back home. You can take this as a museum or as a memorial, I believe that they've accomplished both. Well worth the trip for anyone who wants to get a better understanding of this bit of Military history

Visited December 2013
3 Thank sweetnuthinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS LST Ship Memorial also viewed


Been to USS LST Ship Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing