We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“labor of love”

USS LST Ship Memorial
Ranked #2 of 40 things to do in Evansville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The USS LST Ship Memorial is the last fully operational WWII Landing Ship, Tank in the United States, and is dedicated to these very important ships and the men who served on them. The USS LST 325 was one of the over 200 that participated in the Normandy Landings. Tours of the ship are guided as the ship is fully operational, and run on the hour with the last tour going on ship at 3:00 PM.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“labor of love”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This historic ship was fun to explore. Our tour guide Bob, was wonderful and you could tell that his job was a labor of love. His stories were interesting and he really wanted us to understand the historic significance of this ship.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank explorerfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    63
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everyone..”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Everyone should see this ship and realize the magnitude of sailing it fully laden across the Atlantic or Pacific oceans.That took guts when you think just how not-so-big they really are.We owe it to that generation to see it and stand in thanks to them.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KDA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Piece of History”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I visited the LST on a warmer than usual January day in 2011. We are so glad we took the time to tour this piece of history! We had a voluteer take us around who was also a WW II vet who really was able to answer all our questions. This should be a must see for all history buffs who visit our area.

Helpful?
Thank lash5911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss the LST”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Had such a great experience. Our tour guide had actually served on an LST.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank SpartyNewburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
“Take Tour”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

You can go down and take a tour of the ship and the kids love it. It is the last ship from WW1 that still takes trips. Good place to have family fun and learn a thing or two.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS LST Ship Memorial also viewed

 

Been to USS LST Ship Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing