We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best chinese food in tri state.”

Charlie's Mongolian Barbecue
Ranked #83 of 403 Restaurants in Evansville
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
194 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best chinese food in tri state.”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Always fresh, always as you want it, as you pick the ingredients yourself. Don't be scared to load the plate up, it gets smaller as it cooks. Wonderful quality. I have never needed a second plate, but there is always the option. For the price, it beats all restaurants in the area. Nice location, easy to get to from anywhere in the city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The BEST Mongolian BBQ grill in the country.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Make sure to pile your plate as high and as full as you can get it. They have fresh veggies, fruits, meats, fish, noodles all on a buffet then they grill it up. Make sure to 'cry like baby' when you choose your heat level on your plate. I travel all across the country and live three hours away from Charlie's. But I always make time to drive up for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RolBak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have eaten at Charlie's a lot and I can honestly say that I can not recall a time that is wasn't good. I love how you go through the line and add everything to your plate that you want in your food and then you hand it to Charlie and he does his magic with the sauces. I love it when he ask how you want to cry, asking how spicy you want your food. Then they take your plate and cook it on the grill. You take it back to your table and just enjoy the goodness of the food.

I do believe that if i lived closer to the restaurant i would eat here 2 or 3 times a week. Good food, great price and extremely friendly staff. This place is a gem. I would recommend this place to all people.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neot HaKikar, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Happy Stomach!!!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Charlies Mongolian BBQ....I've never went away hungry!!Great value for the money.
The atmosphere is a bit "dated" but the food has always been delicious!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetskrtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Bar”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Usually eat here once a week for lunch.

They always have 4 different soups, baked potato, usually have ham salad, tuna salad, and 2 pastas at one station. Then they have a salad bar, which its not huge it is more than enough. Then there's a dessert station. Your drink is included for $8.91.

They keep the entire food station very clean. Have not eaten there in the evening but this is a favorite of mine for lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cruisetmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Mongolian Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Mongolian Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing