We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price, good location”
Review of Super 8 Elkhart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Elkhart
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed here on our way to New York and it was right off the interstate. The room was clean, the staff were nice, and the price was right. They have indoor hallways, but the vending machine wasn't working.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Packerfancheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 278 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Sargge
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here for business purposes, and the bed was very comfortable, the room A/C certainly kept it cool. :) The wifi was strong. It was clean enough for me.. though there was a light that didn't work, and a stain on the comforter.. (which I tossed on the floor anyway). There was a Micro/fridge which I really appreciated. Large flat screen TV and a good channel line up.

The check in was smooth and the desk clerk was very personable and pleasant.

I skipped breakfast, and chose to go to Cracker Barrel instead.

I have stayed at hotels for the double the price and received the same service.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 137. It was a first floor room, with no room next to it.. and right next to a exit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verandagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I wanted to spend 4 days in Shipshewana (Amish country--big flea market and auction), but discovered very quickly that the price difference was SIGNIFICANT--it was $40 more per night MORE at Shipshewana. So, being the frugal person that I am, I chose Elkhart over Shipshewana, and I traveled the 24 or so miles back and forth each day, enjoying the country scenery as I rode along. The downside was that the one way trip took about 35-40 minutes, and the gas consumed. However, I consider it still a far better deal at $40 a night cheaper--which comes out to $160 difference. The closer you get to Shipshewana, the more caution you must have in spotting and passing the horse drawn buggies of the Amish.

The hotel was fairly quiet. I was at the end of the hall near the exit, and I heard the exit door and room doors slam a few times, but it didn't bother me too much.

The breakfast was pretty much the usual for a Super 8--not bad. I must tell you, though, that if they have round looking things in the refrig that look like sugar cookies--they aren't. I spied them and thought they looked pretty good, and thought a refrigerated sugar cookie wood be a nice dessert.........but it turned out they were perfectly formed round fried scrambled eggs--you are supposed to put them in the microwave to heat them up. Once I figured it out, it was pretty tasty.

My only problem was that during my first night the floor lamp light went out. I discovered that the top portion of the wall socket was dead; the bottom portion, which had the refrig plugged into it worked ok. I told the front desk about it; it was put on the list of things for the fix it guy to fix. I just happened to have an extension cord with me (I travel with it and a small clip on lamp which I sometimes need for extra light while using my lap top computer), and plugged in the floor lamp using a good socket from the other side of the room.

I found the internet connections (WiFi) to kind of fade out--I would have to reconnect sometimes.

However, over all, I found it to be a fairly good hotel,

Room Tip: I assume that a weekend would have more rooms occupied. I was there during the week (Mon.-Fri), thu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

So I stayed here on my way home from Chicago. It was late at night and some of the other hotels were already booked. It was clean, bed comfortable and hot water showers. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel even though it was included. There is a local diner next door that has great food and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The Toilet wouldn't flush, some of the sheets had holes, the yogurt at the breakfast was warm and the water was so soft it made the tub slick. Never staying here again. It is really cheap for good reason, and not worth the price at that. You are better off staying anywhere else.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elkhart hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
#6 of 22 in Elkhart
216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Elkhart
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Elkhart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#12 of 22 in Elkhart
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairway Inn
Fairway Inn
#18 of 22 in Elkhart
37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#19 of 22 in Elkhart
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Elkhart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Elkhart

Address: 345 E Windsor Ave, I-80/90 Exit 92, Elkhart, IN 46514-5520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Price Range: $56 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Elkhart 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is conveniently located off the I-80/I-90 Tollway Exit 92. We are situated in the heart of Amish Country. South Bend Regional Airport is less than half hour away. The University of Notre Dame is less than half-hour away in South Bend. Start your day with a free 8-item SuperStart breakfast and plan your trip with our free WiFi Internet at our pet-friendly hotel. Store a snack in your in-room refrigerator, or heat up a meal in the microwave. We offer free large-vehicle parking and accessible rooms. Enjoy the Amish Country attractions near our hotel. Take a 90-minute driving tour of the Heritage Trail, and make sure to see the Quilt Gardens along the way. If you love the thrill of unique finds, check out the 40-plus stores at the Elkhart Antique Mall or the Shipshewana Amish Flea Market, the largest flea market in the Midwest. The University of Notre Dame is a half-hour away in South Bend. Learn about the history of RVs at the RV/MH Hall of Fame and Museum in Elkhart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Elkhart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkhart Super Eight
Super Eight Elkhart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing