We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Firm beds in a tired hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairway Inn
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Firm beds in a tired hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The good news is the beds are firm and the rooms safe in this worn hotel that needs renovation. We also liked the lobby with two rocking chairs and two gliders. The continental breakfast. advertised as just bagels and coffee also offered cinnamon raisin and white bread for toasting, as well as hot cocoa for the kids. One other big plus: lots of stations on the cable TV.

But . . . our window screen was ripped, and exactly half of the screens on the first-floor windows were missing. Fortunately the missing screens did not mean someone could enter the rooms, as the sliding windows are opposite the screen side, but it doesn't give you a comfortable feeling seeing so many window screens gone. The side and back doors are locked throughout the day, so your card key is the only way in. That's good, but our bathroom had missing caulking and some mold close to the tub. The friendly office staff do the best they can with a tired hotel that seems in need of more maintenance and updating in the rooms. But you will like the walking distance to Perkins and Cracker Barrel restaurants. And you will get a good night's sleep for almost half the price of the four fancier hotels that surround the Fairway. Great location just off exit 92 of the Indiana toll road.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor if you want window screens and the option to open windows for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyJim49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    9
    3
    9
See reviews for
5
10
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed there for one night. Room was clean. Needed an extra pillow, no problem. Needed handicap accessible, which we received. Apparently that just means a handle bar at the toilet and a little higher toilet seat. Would have been nice if the bed was a bit higher as well. Otherwise, the continental breakfast of bagels, toast, coffee, butter and jelly was acceptable, and the seating in the breakfast area was comfortable. I would stay there again.
My biggest annoyance was the room heater being a bit loud when it would kick on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioKat51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I checked in late at night. I needed pet friendly room for the night and Staybridge Inn was way more than I needed. They told me Fairway was pet friendly. I checked in and was not informed the phone system was down. (calling up to complain they told me its been down for 2 months!!)

My puppy pulled all kinds of crap out from under the bed. I don't want to know how long it was there or what it was!

I was not given the WiFi password and since there was no phone service I had to get dressed, walk to the front desk, get the code, only to find the code didn't work so I had to go back to the front desk! The 3rd shift man came back to my room with me to connect my laptop. That was a little uncomfortable being I was traveling alone with a 12 lb puppy.

In the morning I went to get breakfast from their "breakfast area" there was 3 kinds of bread a few bagels and coffee. No butter, jelly, cream cheese, or anything... PASS

I went to take a shower and the shower head was moldy, and the bathmat was torn up... PASS. When I complained while checking out and said I really wanted to take a shower before my drive, I felt gross. I was told "I will have maintenance check on it later today" well that didn't do me any good, they could have offered me another room for 15 mins or so!! NOTHING.

Called to complain the next day and I was told no manager for a week. I said what if you have a problem, she said I don't know. Called back a week later and the manager says to me I am mistaken about a female checking me in, as if that mattered and proceeded to fight with me about it and told me she was there but training a male so I am wrong. Didn't address the reason for my complaint!! finally said she would tell the owner and he might call me.

Spend the extra money and stay ANYWHERE else!!!

After 2 weeks of trying to reach the owner. I did get a refund for my stay... but I would have been better off spending more money and staying in a clean hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. there are places that are the same price range that have to be better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MysticalDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elkhart hotels

Pa.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here in November and had a coupon from a roadside rest in Ohio. The price was $44.95 and they honored the coupon. The hotel was nice, nothing special and it had bagles and toast and coffee for breakfast which was nice. It was a football weekend and not crowed at all. Would and will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigMalPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Spent the night here after 6 hours of driving. The hotel was clean. It was 49.00 for the night the rooms were very clean. Mitch was a very nice front desk person. They had wi fi and cable. The room had a safe. Very nice place. There is a Perkins right next to the hotel so if you want breakfast you can casually walk there. I didnt wake up on time to enjoy the free breakfast in the morning. This hotel offers free breakfast

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soyeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

the chair was extremly dirty,the internet did not work and the offering of breakfast was several choices of bread & coffee.but you did have cracker barrel/perkins within very close walking distance.

Room Tip: all rooms are about the same all right close to interstate but limited road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christopher g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monee, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were yelled at by an employee who was intoxicated while we were talking w other couples outside of the bldg. Also, employees let themselves into our hotel room while we were occupying the room. Also was told because of our bad experience they would give us a free room but lied to us and charged us.

Room Tip: look for coupons
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elkhart hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Elkhart
0.4 mi away
The Garden Inn
The Garden Inn
#6 of 22 in Elkhart
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Elkhart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
#11 of 22 in Elkhart
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#19 of 22 in Elkhart
3.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elkhart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Inn

Property: Fairway Inn
Address: 115 Northpointe Blvd, Elkhart, IN 46514-6718
Location: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Fairway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Elkhart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing