We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value.”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good value.”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The rooms are large, interior and furnishings in pretty good condition, fairly clean, about 60 seconds from the Indiana toll road, and inexpensive. You get points in the great Choice Hotels program. Some times of year the heat may have been off in your room and it can take a long time to warm up. The breakfast is a bare minimum - coffee and carbs. The view - a trailer sales lot. I've stayed before and I'll stay again. WiFi worked fine - I didn't use the TV. Iron worked fine.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor so that you don't hear people walking around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fringe_Gatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    10
    9
    7
See reviews for
16
14
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pine Falls, Manitoba
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very dirty, stinky motel. The rooms are not very clean. We asked for a non-smoking room and we got a very stale smoky room. My son has asthma and I have a chest infection! We are travelling with our pet dogs, so we were not able to get another room at another hotel. Very nice city though.

Room Tip: Do not stay if you have allergies or respiratory problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherryD1969_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elkhart hotels

Kettering
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I have stayed at this Econolodge several times in the past year. The rooms are large, clean and quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful. The wireless internet has worked well for me. There are many many choice available at this exit, This is my choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foto_johnyoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My room was large, updated, very clean and well-maintained. Nice comfy bed. I recommend the second floor however, as the floors seemed a little creaky. Breakfast is just the usual bagels and muffins for this chain, but for $41 the room was an excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We decided to stop at this inn because we had a motel coupon. As the title suggests, this was a very basic, no frills motor inn. People who complain about cheap facilities should stay at a place they pay more money for. You get what you pay for.

As for the room, it was clean and very plain, nothing fancy at all. The air-conditioning worked, as did the TV. The carpeting was clean and nice. The woman who checked us in was very friendly. All we wanted was a place to stay, and this fit. We had no complaints about it, except the fact that their free high-speed Internet had a very poor signal and I ended up using my own mobile hot spot.

Room Tip: Use the motel coupon from roomsaver.com.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karoleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This hotel is filthy. They did not appear to have cleaned our bathroom. When we arrived there were still hairs in the bathtub from the previous visitor and the sink counter had bits of dirt on it. Absolutely vile. I cannot believe a hotel this unclean is still allowed to operate. I've stayed in cheap youth hostels that were far cleaner than this.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooshrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stopped here on the first night of a 17 day road trip. We got in late, and while the attendant in the lobby was very friendly, we were disappointed to find that the bottom (fitted) sheet appeared unchanged (stains, hairs, etc). The air conditioner was noisy. Otherwise, room was fine. Bathroom was clean. This was a good place for a quick sleepover. Our rate was $39.99. Near many food locations, including a 24 hour steak-n-shake.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCWags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elkhart hotels
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Elkhart
0.3 mi away
Fairway Inn
Fairway Inn
#18 of 22 in Elkhart
35 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
#9 of 22 in Elkhart
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Elkhart
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#13 of 22 in Elkhart
126 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garden Inn
The Garden Inn
#12 of 22 in Elkhart
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 3440 Cassopolis St, Elkhart, IN 46514-6741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing