We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diverse menu”
Review of Chubby Trout

Chubby Trout
Reserve with OpenTable
Chubby Trout is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 193 Restaurants in Elkhart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Japanese, American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Upscale food but casual atmosphere located in the middle of the motels off 80/90 toll road. From hand pattied burgers to black angus sirloin and filet mignon. Walleye, lake perch, blue gill and salmon to a full sushi bar! 20 beers on tap specializing in local hand crafted micro brews. Great little wine list. It's where the locals and the business travelers meet. Great bar atmosphere!
nappanee, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Diverse menu”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great menu for lunch which includes sushi which is hard to find. It is a top choice for business lunch. I usually get the blackened Mahi Mahi sandwich.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TDW_3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    76
    36
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
phoenix az
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lake Perch”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I try to visit here whenever in town, just for the lake perch, sauteed or fried, your choice. They have very generous portions so come hungry. Went close to happy hour and the bar area is in the middle section, so it does make for a very noisy dining experience if you are there at that time. They serve veggies and potatoes or rice with the entrees. Dining partner had double veggies in place of potato. Veggie was green beans with garlic, very tasty. Server Hillary was pleasant and efficient as was the kitchen. Meals came out very quickly, despite being at a busy time when nearly all the tables were full.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sundevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I dined there on a Monday night. The atmosphere was somewhat rustic and quaint. Lots of locals which is a good sign meaning that the food is high-value and good quality.

They have a vast selection of specialty draft beers. There is a wide variety of fish and sushi. I had the bluegill which I had never tried before and they did it quite nicely.

If I had one minor complaint it would be the waitress. She was not all that attentive and many times I had to get her attention to service my table even though it wasn't all that busy.

Overall I would go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWA18854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Sushi place in Elkhart”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

But I am not a Sushi guy. They had a shrimp dish that I went for and it was good. It was Monday night Sushi was half off so the place was packed. Elkhart is not the place I would have thought liked sushi that much but they were coming out of the woodwork. The food was good. The folks at our table had a variety of things and everyone liked what they had. The prices were decent but we did wait a long time to be served.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bgkrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great menu”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good sushi, great salads and drinks. Service is excellent. My husband frequents the Chubby Trout at lunchtime and LOVES the crab bisque.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MommyTAI15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chubby Trout also viewed

 

Been to Chubby Trout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing