We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for extended stay's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Elkhart
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Years ago (don't remember which) I had stayed at this hotel, it was nice no complaints other than the girl at the front desk did not know what county the hotel was in when there was tornado's in the area. Fast forward to 2013, stayed here since there were no rooms anywhere because of RV week in Elkhart (not the reason for my visit). Front desk person was great, looks like from what I remember the hotel rooms and halls were updated, rooms very nice. Bed was comfortable, Internet was good as well. I was on 3rd floor, but some other people staying there who were on the 2nd and 1st said that you can hear people walking around above you. This hotel is walking distance to an Applebee's but right now the road over the highway are other places to eat so very convenient. If you like IHG priority club type places, this hotel is a good choice and usually less money than the Holiday Inn Express next door.

Room Tip: One thing to remember, being an extended stay is that you will not have maid service every day like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sixdrumin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS46514, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Elkhart, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Candlewood Inn & Suites. It is a pleasure to serve our guests and clients with the higest degree of professionalism, while providing a relaxed environment. Please vistit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 43 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Candlewood Suites operate on a limited service basis but this property is so great!!

My wonderful over achieving daughter started Notre Dame this week. I chose the Candlewood Suites to get a better price than the jacked up prices in South Bend; I was right. The Elkhart Candlewood is such an incredible deal:

The Good

Very clean rooms and well appointed - furnishings are pristine
Nice location next to interstate
Lots of Resturant options close by with a number of discount coupons in the lobby; my favorite is Callahan's
Beautiful workout room and guest laundry
Great clerks - especially Rob, the evening clerk
Nice, safe area

The Bad -

NOTHING

I'm an Auditor by profession so I am a critical thinker but I can find no fault with this property; honestly if you had a bad experience I don't see how it was possible. One of the main reasons revolves around the owner. He is an older, upbeat, jovial sort that openly jokes with his employees and has an easy smile. I observed him folding sheets with his clerks while they laughed and made comic noise; truly this place has a positive aura that permeates!

The Hotel is nestled among several cookie cutter type properties that all look alike but with the kitchen and full size refrigerator its hard for me to imagine anything better.

For Notre Dame parents its less than 14 minutes from the campus via interstate and its half the price of South Bend. Its so quick and easy to go back and forth its just not worth the extra money.

Go Irish, even if you will get punked by Alabama

Room Tip: The two beds offer the same amount of unused space as a king
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS46514, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Elkhart, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

In speaking with well traveled sales reps, they say that Elkhart is the happening place along the 80-90 toll road. If one is traveling from the east, Ekhart is the first stop along the way to offer the incredible restaurants, great hospitality, sports, and leisure functions.
Thank you for taking the time to honor us with a five star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were meeting our brother for a get together and was having a hard time finding a decent motel. We looked at reviews and they were bad. We found the Candlewood and thought it looked very expensive. My brother called and got a good rate. When we got there we were totally
surprised with everything. This is by far the nicest place we have ever stayed in. They have a fully stocked kitchen in every room with high end pots skillets, dishes, silverware, lg. refrigerator,stove,cupboards,dvd player,large closet and nice bathroom. Outside there is a covered place were you can sit with tables and chairs and 3 grills with charcoal and lighter. Also,
there is a computer room. They have everything but a pool which we didn't need. The price for all this was unbelievable .We will stay there again!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was at the end and we didn't hear any noise. They also have rooms for the handicapped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harleymama68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS46514, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Elkhart, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

It's truly a pleasure to be in the hospitality arena. We value our guests and are humbled that we were chosen to be your host hotel. We hope that you will return to say hello soon. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I wanted to comment on the superior service offered to me at the Candlewood Suites in Elkhart, In. First, the rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are very confortable. And lastly, the guess service representatives were very helpful and accommodating. I would recommend staying at the Candlewood Suites in Elkhart, Inc. A very fine experience. Ms. Rene N. May 3, 2013.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candlewood-Elkhart, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Elkhart, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We really appreciate the kind words. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We only stay at Candlewoods when traveling with our dogs, and this is one of the best. We stay here every time we visit my husband's family in Elkhart/Goshen, and we always know we'll get a great, comfy and convenient room. Updated rooms, and so clean that it feels almost like home. This is a very, very well-managed Candlewood!

This time we're here for Christmas, and my husband caught a bad flu from his relatives, so we have ended up spending a lot more time at the hotel than anticipated. The niceness of this hotel has made a bad experience much less unpleasant. The stove makes it easy to cook soup, and the bed is super comfy. The huge selection of TV channels gives us something to do. The staff is very friendly and professional! Great place.

Room Tip: If you travel with pets, pick the first floor for easy access to dog walking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candlewood-Elkhart, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Elkhart, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We are so glad that you consider us like home!

Thank you for such a great review and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I was totally pleased with every aspect of our 4 day stay. Clean, comfy, roomy, friendly, large exercise room and my favorite, free laundry! Our dogs were treated with respect and they had a lovely dog walk area. We enjoyed grilling steaks on the gas grill under the gazebo. We had a lovely time considering we were here due to a stressful stituation.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntiegodmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candlewood-Elkhart, Manager at Candlewood Suites Elkhart, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you we really appreciate your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

On a 100 degree day, there is nothing more welcoming than entering a room whose air conditioner was not turned on. The mass amount of humidity in the room took a while to leave. More disturbing was the awful mildew smell that came from each towel in the bathroom (perhaps a result of the AC not running?). I had to clean myself with paper towels. The sheets were also very heavy on the starch... first time I can recall being unable to sleep on Candlewood sheets.

I was equally annoyed that my only online request was ignored... a room on the top floor. I know that many of the newer Candlewoods have awful sound proofing, and here too, every single foot step is felt on the 2nd floor. The room actually vibrates. I checked in right away at 3pm and the check in girl did not even bother to look citing "We're sold out." Not true either, as rooms were still available online.

On a positive, I liked having the exhaust fan in the kitchen for a little white noise. Other than that, just as I was never even welcomed as a Priority Club platinum member, I really don't think I will acknowledge this property again.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, though you will probably be ignored too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LEGGROOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Elkhart, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear LEGGROOM,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us! We appreciate you being a loyal Platinum Priority Club member and are honored that you chose our hotel. I am pleased you liked the exhaust fan in the kitchen. We are hospitality professionals who are committed to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However, it is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regrettable you were not satisfied with the room accommodations, condition of the amenities and service you received from our staff. I assure you that the valuable comments you've shared will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer. Again, my apologies for any inconvenience pr discomfort.

We appreciate your loyalty and we hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elkhart hotels
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Elkhart North
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Elkhart
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
#8 of 22 in Elkhart
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites North
Comfort Suites North
#6 of 22 in Elkhart
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkhart
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elkhart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Elkhart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Elkhart

Address: 300 Northpointe Blvd, Elkhart, IN 46514-6763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Price Range: $83 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Elkhart 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Elkhart is an all-suites, 65 room hotel. Each suite features a full kitchen. Additional hotel features include: Candlewood Suites Cupboard, Exercise Room, free Guest Laundry, and a Business Center. Candlewood Suites also offers free High Speed Internet Access, Gazebo with Grill, and free DVD/CD Lending Library. Visit Elkhart, IN and stay at the Candlewood Suites. Pets are allowed with a non refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 for 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights per pet. One pet allowed per suite and must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Contact the hotel for a copy of the Pet Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Elkhart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Elkhart
Elkhart Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing