We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Elkhart”
Review of 523 Tap and Grill

523 Tap and Grill
Ranked #13 of 193 Restaurants in Elkhart
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bistro fare with a Mediterranean flair. Perfect for a quiet lunch, evening out, group dinner or a nice nightcap. Delicious martinis, craft and mainstream beers on tap and an extensive wine list help to enhance your dining experience. Allow us to be your Perfect 10 for dinner, drinks and dessert!
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gem in Elkhart”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Was in elkhart for a day of meetings and stopped by here was a group of business partners for a lunch between meetings. Nice bar and cafe style place, newer, clean, friendly and attentive staff. I had the Greek Salad which was great and priced very fair. It was pretty quiet at the time we went which I suspect was after the main lunch rush. The only comment was the restaurant temperature inside was rather cool to me but no one else seemed to complain about it at my table so I dealt with it. Overall great lunch spot and if back in Elkhart would certain stop by again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    33
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
144 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This upscale restaurant is a nice addition to the downtown scene in Elkhart. The interior is modern but not severe -- impeccable! Service is excellent without being perky -- good, professional staff. Friendly, accommodating, please-the-diner attitude. The steaks are to die for -- large, well seasoned and done to order. The greek chicken, however, I don't think is worth the 30 minute wait...small, small half chicken that lacked true greek (lemon, oregano) flavor. Desserts looked marvelous, although too full to try! Definitely worth a repeat visit

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lora719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great local flavor”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Can't beat 523 for good atmosphere, friendly service, and, oh yes, the food is great too! We visit often for both lunch an dinner

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice Dining Option In Downtown Elkhart”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have been to 523 Tap and Grill a few times over the past year with my fiancée. I would say that overall we have had a very positive experience at this restaurant. The food is good, the service is good (but a tad bit on the slow side), and the atmosphere is very modern and chic. I would recommend this restaurant to couples and business travelers. The pricing is definitely on the higher side compared to other options in the area, but it is definitely worth checking out if you are in the downtown Elkhart area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Random_PJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Were were intown on business and were taken here for dinner. Nice wait staff and great service. The food was very good. I would definately go back and eat here again. There were out of Ribeye so we had the fillet and it was very good but I perfer Ribeye. It was quiet enough to have a nice conversation but not to quiet. Liked it alot.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe75160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 523 Tap and Grill also viewed

 

Been to 523 Tap and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing