We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to play slots and table games”

Horseshoe Southern Indiana Casino
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Elizabeth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World-class gaming complex features 140 gaming tables and more than 2,500 slot machines.
Gainesville, Texas
Level Contributor
352 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Nice place to play slots and table games”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice place to play slots and table games, I love that the entire bottom floor is non-smoking, which is also where the poker room is. On Wed/Sun they also have $5 blackjack on that floor and you don't have to put up with all the smokers just to play table games.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    199
    132
    43
    55
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Smokiest Place Ever”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I went to Horseshoe Casino on Saturday February 9. Upon entering th lobby from the parkign garage, we immediatelt noticed the rank smell of cigarette smoke. As we walked throught he lobby to Legend's to et dinner, you could see the smoke hanging in the air. Some friends were spemnding the night there for a birthday. We had a party of 12 to eat dinner at Legend's and it took them about 10 minutes to pull 3 tables together even though the restaurant was not even 1/3 capacity. they were too stupid to add another table as 2 people had to sit at one end of the last table. As soon as our waitress appeared we knew she would not be able to handle a table of 12. We all ordered dinner and she brought the salads, then main course, then checks. She did not check back on our table even once to see if we needed anything. I playe dit safe and order a cheeseburger but it was so cold the cheese did not even melt. My wife ordered a baked potatoe with her dinner. Upon receiveing the check my wife informed her about not receiveing her potatoe and to take off the bill. The waitress replied, "Are you sure you did not get it." What a moron!!! While at dinner, some of the peopel came up with Casino Bingo. items such as mullets, missing teeth, grilles, etc were items to be lookign for. It was evident very quickly that every trashy person in 100 mile radius comes to this casino. After dinner, we went into the casino but stayed a very short time. All the trash and old people just sat around playing everything. Welfare and disability checks must have come that mornign in the mail. The casino was dirty and smelled of an ashtray. We never really saw anyone win anything for the hour we were there. After leaving and on the way home, our clothes smelled just rank. it was so bad, we immediately put our clothes in the washer and hoped it helped fumigate them. For those of you a little betetr off than average, do not waste your money and go to Horsehoe. Save up and go to Las vegas instead!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Experience change”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent a couple days during the week, considerably cheaper. We had a good time. The free dinners they advertise come with a catch. The casino obliviously cater to the whales and frequent visitors. First time normal visitors are pretty much on their own.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blountville, TN
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun Visit”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have to agree, it's no Vegas, but it is neat place to have a little fun. The second level could benefit from a better venilation system - the smoke was a little heavy most of the time. However, they do offer a smoke-free area on the first level, but, not the machines/tables don't seem as varied as on the other floors. We ended up going to the bar to get our drinks because the waiters were few and far between. They were doing the best they could - just not enough workers. All staff members we had contact with were helpful and very polite. We probably will return, but wouldn't stay for more than a day. Overall, a good experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fun”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

It's been last winter since my last visit but always enjoy myself here. Trying to win big is a rush and never take more money than i can afford to lose but if you need they have an atm and hotel on sight

Helpful?
Thank sarajo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horseshoe Southern Indiana Casino also viewed

 

Been to Horseshoe Southern Indiana Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing