We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Go to Belterra instead” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toledo.OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go to Belterra instead”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Not easy to find at night. Only one person at Valet for hotel. Employees very nice, room clean and big. Don't touch the mini bar unless you want to pay thru the nose. Hall carpets were stained with who knows what? Yes, it's a little walk to Casino. Casino was very smoking (eyes were burning), not enough of penny machines. Had to go hunting for the penny slot machines. When I found some, half of them weren't working. I wouldn't come back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    774
    369
    134
    94
See reviews for
470
1,064
264
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

My husband and I went for a two day get away. We don't really gamble so nothing was comped. The service was fantastic! Every employee was friendly and helpful. We loved our room and watching the Canadian geese each morning. We will definately be back. Though we were not comped, we were given rate reductions when we asked.
Paula Deens was good but expensive. I was sick on the day we left...I think it was the oysters. Just be careful what you eat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisabethann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ky
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

Service was great at the hotel, but tried to reserve the room at a cheaper rate online, it would not let me, even though it was listed as a cheaper rate. By the time I made it to the hotel, no deluxe king rooms left, and they informed me that they could not give me the online rate at the hotel, only online.
Employees were all very nice and helpful, room was clean, other than the carpet, my socks were dirty from walking across the room several times.
Casino was good, but I feel they should have more $5.00 tables, we have very few funds to go have fun with, so its not that we don't want to spend more, we can't. And I also thought some of the snacks and food were really, really expensive, come on now, you can't tell me that the majority of people who frequent there, can afford a 2.50 can of M&Ms. They need to reconsider that.
The Italian restaurant was great, but the Paula Deen Buffet, well "just sucked". Sorry Paula, but you know...
We did have a pretty good time but I feel like they may need to review their management and see what they can do to improve it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoodleDuckKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

I know the ratings are all over the place for horseshoe, but I guess you must decide for yourself. Stayed for 2 nights in Sept. and had a great time. Machines seemed to be paying out o.k. Didn't see any jackpots, but really wasn't looking. Played blackjack and did extremely well. All the restaurants were great except Paula Dean. And that was o.k. Buffet was comped so no big deal. All the other restaurants were good, large helpings and very reasonably priced. Hotel room was super and our room was comped. I don't know what all the complaints are about. Room 715 was very clean, LG flat screen hi def, beds fine, etc. etc. The walk to the casino was not as bad as some people said. I guess some people have to complain about everything. Golf course was great and cheap. But we had 95 and 96 degree days and golfing was not comfortable. All in all, trip was great. But not too much else to do unless you go into Louisville. And we did not hear anybody from another room. We could barely hear the shower running.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkos4457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed at the Horshoe for 3 nights (September 2 - 15). From the moment we arrived everything was perfect. The check in was quick and easy. All my requests were met. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We ate at the Paula Dean Buffet three times during our 4 day stay. Good variety of food and very tasty. The restaurant near the hotel front desk had a good selection of food - reasonably priced. Opens early but closes at 11:30 a.m. and reopens again at 6pm. The casino was as good as far as casinos go - not great. Did manage to win a few dollars to keep me playing.

Walk from hotel to casino is toooo long. Seems like 2 miles. Wear good comfortable shoes. There is a free shuttle to take you back and forth but you have to wait for it - usually about 10 minutes. Casino has a good selection of machines and a few new ones I never heard of. I could play all the machines I play at my home casino.

The Host I was given was fantastic. He supplied all my extra needs and the comps were great. Would definitely come back again and tell my friends about Horshoe Southern Indiana.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casinowomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We waited in line over an hour which we had done when it was the Villa Buffet. That would have been ok if the wait was warranted. The fish was cold and dry. The crab legs were extremely small and overcooked. Without going on and on.......the food was simply not good. My wife and I heard a foursome at the next table commenting the same way. The server (term used very loosely) was inattentive due to spending a lot of time talking with another server complaining about their boss. In any event we left determined not to return and agreeing it was certainly no value. I then discovered today while checking my bank account online it was worse than we thought......the amount charged to my debit card was more than I authorized when I signed the slip. The positive for us was now we will feel much better about making the drive to Belterra Casino. Don't waste your time or money going there.......absolutely horrible experience. The next question on this review I'm completing is "Would I recommend to a friend?" I'm gonna have to say No because Hell No isn't one of the choices.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mike47131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Can't say much about our comped room except, it needed a new rug.The much promoted Paula Deen buffet, however, was not a pleasant experience even with meal coupons. Someone in food service should scope Ryan's. We will be back because this is where we gamble but not fade the buffet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank excarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
Comfort Inn Louisville
#51 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#34 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Southern Indiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Property: Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Address: 11999 Casino Center Dr SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117-7753 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Southern Indiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Horseshoe Southern Indiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Hotel Elizabeth
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Elizabeth
Caesars Indiana Hotel
Caesars Indiana Casino
Caesars In Casino
Elizabeth Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing