We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The room I stayed in had roaches. It was disgusting. It was about 4 when I had come back to my room from the casino and I noticed a pair of antennae poking out from the headboard. I shined a light on it and the bug scurried away. I quickly called the front desk. They sent up a maintenance guy who briefly checked the room. I went downstairs to check out and the guy at the front desk acted as if it was normal and okay that there was vermin in the room. He wanted to sent something in the mail to come back and stay another night. No way or no how I am coming back. The only thing nice here was the valet guy.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Celineeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeSI, Owner at Horseshoe Southern Indiana, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Celineeec, we have a pest control company and do inspect rooms vigorously. We apologize for the inconvenience but would like you to give us another chance should you ever be in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    771
    368
    132
    93
See reviews for
462
1,058
262
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at and I have stayed at many. Beautiful decor and clean clean and clean. Hotel staff so pleasant and helpful but, be ready to walk. They have a casino on the riverboat across the street but everything is so spread out if you are not able to walk far this could be a problem. They have carts to take you around but you have to wait to get one. Wheelchair rental $20 for 4 hours and $35 for 24 hours. Food was good at restaurants and fair priced for a resort setting. Casino was okay, pretty but nothing special. I would go back .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip I had in Louisville for three days in early October when i could not find a cheaper option within city limits. The rooms are average with standard amenities. The casino and hotel itself are pretty dated. The cost of internet was really high considering the slow speed of the link. I wouldn't make this a destination trip if i had the urge to gamble, but as an alternate option just outside the city its not horrible.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mehtatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

we get there and everything is fine we end up getting a couples massage but as the night goes on it Goes down hill like down A very tall mountains! we were charged an extra $20 it was supposed to be taken off the bill and then we go to the casino so we can play our money gets taken from that stupid keno machine and we waited there for almost an hour to ge Someone To Help! we go back to Our Room and I went to open the waters That Are Already In The room which are An extra 4 dollars and SomOne Had Already Drank Out Of it and put it back! we call down to the front desk and we just got in OK really that's all you going To do is just say okay so I hung up and my husband called back and they said they would come up and take the water bottle but they couldn't do anything else. we had a king size bed was 1/2 smelt like throw up that Was Half Way cleane d! then the next morning I was charged for the water text someone else drink out of and they came up and took out of my room!!!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leahmae4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville,ga
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Nice hotel, comfy beds. Pretty good food choices. Hotel is a bit of a walk from casino but lets you work off some of the food and drinks you will put away. YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR DRINKS which is sort of a bummer if you're used to getting free drinks while gambling. We stop here on the way up or back from Chicago when we visit family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

For truck drivers (checking in hotel for weekend) they offer no shuttle service. The GM personally called me with a condescending attitude to tell me its a liability!!! How is it not a liability when they load a golf car full of people from hotel to casino & speed thru the building??? So we had to carry all our luggage etc...from truck lot to hotel. It's not like we can pull a 70ft 18wheeler thru valet. Also encountered a rude hotel staff member. They do have some great staff though. Had a ok time considering all the bad stuff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truckdrivrforammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia Mountains
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Upon arriving after dark at the hotel/casino, it was very difficult to find where to check in at the hotel. The Ohio River and the casino are on one side of the highway and the hotel is on the other side of the highway, connected by a covered walkway (very long). After arriving at the hotel/parking garage building, we had no idea where to check in. We stopped at what we thought might be the front lobby and were told that was the Valet, and the hotel lobby was on the top floor of the parking garage?l.?.?. How Odd! So we drove into, up and around until we got to the top deck outside and were confronted with two doors about 200 feet apart. Which one?? Of course, I went in the wrong one and had to walk the 200 feet to the next one, then around a corner and another corner and finally found the front desk. After getting my key, went back to the car and back down into the covered part (snow was forecasted) and parked near an elevator. The elevators in the parking garage are not the same numbers as the hotel. We had to go up from there to somewhere close to the lobby part, then take a different elevator to the room floor. While doing this, I was nearly run over by a large electric golf cart (totally noise free) that was running between the hotel and the casino since the distance is totally too far to walk if you're over 35.

As far as the hotel itself, the front desk personnel were helpful and friendly, the room was clean. The bathroom was separated into two areas - one with a door for the toilet area, and the other part for the shower/tub and vanity. The makeup mirror was excellent. Toiletries and coffee service were good. The on-tv checkout was not working, as were the computers when we checked out so I could not examine my bill until it was emailed to me. (It was correct)
All in all, it was a very confusing place, and I probably will not stay there again.

Green Features: They ask you to leave your toiletries (used or unused) to recycle for distribution in poorer countries. Also to not have your sheets/towels changed every day to save on soap/water. Good ideas, although I think the toiletries should be used for shelters, etc here in our own country first.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tunicamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
Comfort Inn Louisville
#49 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#37 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 3,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Southern Indiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Property: Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Address: 11999 Casino Center Dr SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117-7753 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Southern Indiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Horseshoe Southern Indiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Hotel Elizabeth
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Elizabeth
Caesars Indiana Hotel
Caesars Indiana Casino
Caesars In Casino
Elizabeth Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing