We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Okay for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Horseshoe to attend a concert held there. The king room was a basic hotel room with a very small fridge but no safe. The bathroom was nice and clean. The walk to the casino was not that far and a non-issue for us. We ate at the Paula Deen Buffet and it was okay. The prime rib was awful and some of the food was kind of generic tasting. They did charge us an extra $11 for checking in earlier than 4:00 which I thought was kind of tacky. In all we had a nice time but would not want to stay any longer than one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LONG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    708
    348
    122
    90
See reviews for
419
995
231
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LAKEWOOD
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Having stayed at many other Caesars' properties, I have to say this one was average to below average. I am accustomed to Caesars having very comfortable bedding. This was very mediocre. And you are only given one very thin blanket (more like a duvet). This meant I had to turn up the heat and wake up hopelessy dry every morning (but don't drink that $4 water!). I will say the water pressure was excellent. And when we discovered we had a fridge, we picked up some soft drinks the next day and had our own. It is a hike to the casino, but there are moving walkways and nice men in golf carts (inside) to give you a ride. I will say, all the staff here were the most friendly I have ever met. They must have a 10 foot rule and they actually follow it. I never passed a staff member who didn't greet me. And a $2 tip to the valet at check in prompted a response like I'd given him a sack of gold. Not sure about the previous review about rude valet...we were offered help with our luggage and told to take our time getting our stuff. And this was on a Friday afternoon, so it wasn't exactly dead. If I was going to be in the area again, I'd stay here. But I don't think I would make a special trip here again.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms overlook the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carivt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

First dont book through Hotels.com/Expedia - I booked a room with King size bed - when we arrived on Thursday - was told by Horseshoe that the reservations were not guaranteed for a "certain" room and I had to take a room with two queen size beds. The rooms were clean, refriderator didnt work - but there were two big Dasani water bottles out that we could have enjoyed "warm" at a cost of $4.00. The walk to the resteraunts showed a very "expensive" steak resteraunt, Paula Deen Buffet or the "sports bar Legends" - that night we could not get past the choking odor of "smokers" coming from Legends and the Casino - we opted for Paula Deen - very expensive roughtly 65.00 for two buffets and two bud lights - food was not good - very bland. Tried Legends the next night - better - (once we got past the smokers. Prices still too much. Horseshoe would not offer any type of compensation for the room and neither would Expedia. I will never book at this hotel again and never again through Expedia/Hotel.com.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurmont, Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

While visiting family for a few days in Elizabethtown, KY, I had the opportunity to stay @ the "Boat" compliments of the Total Rewards program. If your visiting in the Louisville area, and want to stay away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, the "Boat" to me is an excellent choice. The room was very large in size and very clean. The bedding was very comfortable, and the bathroom area was clean and huge, with plenty of hot water and water pressure. The only issue with the room was the lack of a closet. The hotel is a good distance from the casino, but that makes for a quite stay. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and if your looking to gamble they provide a shuttle over to the casino area, where you'll also find some very fine dining and entertainment. Self parking in the parking garage @ the hotel is free and valet parking is available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spartanburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Valet was a joke. Arrived yesterday, the valet jumps in the car. I said hold up, I need my luggage and other stuff. I asked for a luggage cart, he said there aren't any. I asked for a bell hop, he said go up a floor and check in you can get one. I'm chasing luggage that was rolling around the parking lot due to high winds. Got the luggage under control as he is ready to take off. I said wait I need stuff still. He said "in case you haven't noticed we are having 40 mile an hour winds, I'm just sitting here staying warm". There is a water ban, the hotel gives you 2 bottles of water as a courtesy. Tried to get coffee at Aroma this am. No coffee due to ban, I asked if there were other options, she pointed to a cooler. These are just 2 of the rude employees I have ran into but it does seem to be a standard in this hotel. The rooms are clean but in need of some maintenance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhardy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The rooms are very nice - very large - but they are a far walk to the casino. Then both times I have been there in the last year, the moving sidewalks weren't working.... I don't mind walking, but at least make sure the moving sidewalks work. Like most Harrah's/Cesar's properties...be prepared to get nothing but the room & bed for your stay. Water is more....Internet is more, etc..... And can't say you should be prepared to win anything....not a great casino experience, either. Then I had to leave at 7:00 AM, and had to beat on the door for the valet to come out and take care of getting my car for me.

Room Tip: Get a non-connecting room. And ask for an even-numbered room in summer - the sun shines in the after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N. J. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My hubby and I earned a 'free' hotel stay which included one free buffet plus money to play on the boat with. Our only complaints would be first, that the closer we got to the boat, the more we could smell the cigarette smoke. Neither of us smoke and we both felt like we had licked an ashtray by the time we left. Second, the cost of drinks in the vending machine were $2.75 and $4 for a bottle of water in the room! We will be prepared and bring our own next time! Finally, internet is $11 - most places are free. Otherwise, the room was spacious, very clean, and the bed was comfortable. The view out the window was blah, but it is March and there's not much to look at unless you are facing the river (didn't know we could request this - will know better for next visit!). The Paula Deen buffet was great, would like to go back for breakfast sometime. I've seen a lot of complaints about the long walk from the hotel to the casino, but we looked at it as a bonus: no need to visit the exercise room after we ate so much - we just walked it off! :) We look forward to going back again for another mini get-away! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkFrogLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
Comfort Inn Louisville
#51 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#38 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 3,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#17 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Southern Indiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Property: Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Address: 11999 Casino Center Drive SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Southern Indiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Horseshoe Southern Indiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Hotel Elizabeth
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Elizabeth
Caesars Indiana Hotel
Caesars Indiana Casino
Caesars In Casino
Elizabeth Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing