We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not your typical gaming experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not your typical gaming experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

While the hotel is above average for their rooms, the walk to the casino is not worth it. The hotel is located on the Ohio River and a bit of a challenge to find, but once there, you are isolated. You are miles from any attractions or tourist activities. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, flat screen tv, safe, referigerator, comfortable beds and large bathroom. The hotel corridors are long. There is a beautiful pool and hot tub, although it is difficult to find and access as you have to take separate elevators for the pool alone. There is a small cafe in the hotel if you are hungry, but the main restaurants are two blocks away by the casino. The walk to the casino is gained by indoor corridors with moving sidewalks or golf cart shuttle, but it is a long walk. Parking is free but again not easily accessible. Casino is a Horseshoe, but it is a riverboat, not all on one floor. Restaurants are great eating when you get to them and the Paula Deen's is your typical buffet. It is a smokers paradise and difficult for non-smokers. Overall, I would not be in any rush to return, even with comped rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    804
    382
    137
    98
See reviews for
497
1,102
275
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The rooms of the Hotel were nice. Not to level of most Vegas/Atlantic City casino hotel rooms. But it was a nice place to rest your head while not at the casino. Check in was quick and Valet was always fast and FREE.
Casino was a little old looking and needs a renovation. Smoke was bad at times, though they do have a non smoking level which houses the Poker Room. IF you are even in the area this is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catfishncwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, nice clean rooms. Wireless internet for a fee. Housekeeping was very responsive to requests. We were there for a visit with family. Paula Deen buffet was good as are the other restaurants. Not a huge gambler but the casino was nice, and I didn't loose too much. LOL
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seethemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

I checked in with a room deal on Trip Reward Site. Stayed in January of this year. Very efficient check in. Room very nice and clean. Plenty of soaps, lotions, etc. Lots of towels. Coffee maker, plenty of coffee. In room safe, easy to use. It was cold but turned heat up and it was tolerable. Bed comfortable, but sheets did not fit tight, even though I requested clean sheets the next day-- still the same. BIG TV ! Customer service at desk in lobby answered my questions and where very polite. Food there was decent but expensive. JB's on 2nd floor of casino has good sandwiches. Paula Dean has good Seafood to my taste anyway. Lunch is cheaper there. A good stay but received a charge on bank statement when I got home. It was for bottles of water in the room that I did not drink. I called them and finally talked to a person named Sarah that assured me that it would be taken off bill. The bottles where almost $5.00 a piece. She said possibly they did not credit them to the last occupant in the room. So, don't drink the water-- unless you want to be charged high prices. Lol. All in all the visit was pleasant and a good respite. Thank you, Sarah!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blountville, TN
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at Horseshoe for one night. I booked online and got a special of $59.99. The room was nothing special - just a typical hotel room. The valet was a very helpful and polite young man. The check-in personnel could use a little customer service training. I understand that they repeat the same thing over and over, however, not everyone is a repeat customer to your facility. When asked a question, please reply with more than a yes or no. The other hotel personnel we met always greeted us with a hello/can we help you. The walk over to the Casino/resturants is not bad at all. They do offer the moving sidewalks or a golf cart they continuously runs folks over. The casino is nothing great, but fun for a little entertainment. They offer a few shops and resturants, and you would need to drive into Louisville for additional entertainment, if you stayed for more than a couple of days. Overall, a good overnight getaway, if you live close.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Well, the thousand dollar slot win didn't hurt, but I already was impressed with the hotel. Comfy room, big flat screens, very clean. I would go back to the hotel even if there wasn't a casino attached.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohappyday10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a business conference and are not gamblers. We asked for and were given what was supposed to be a non-smoking room. The room reaked of smoke so bad that we were unable to sleep for the smell. When arriving home, our overnight bag and clothes smelled of smoke. The mini fridge did not work, the shower was lukewarm and in room internet service will set you back another $10.99 per day/per computer. If by some unfortunate chance the business conference is held in the same location next year, we will find a Sheritan and drive to the meeting. The smell was horrible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tawanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,546 reviews
Comfort Inn Louisville
#50 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#12 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Southern Indiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Property: Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Address: 11999 Casino Center Dr SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117-7753 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Southern Indiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Horseshoe Southern Indiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Hotel Elizabeth
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Elizabeth
Caesars Indiana Hotel
Caesars Indiana Casino
Caesars In Casino
Elizabeth Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing