We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It stinks” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It stinks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

If you are a non smoker stay away from this place. The hotel and Casino reek of smoke, never been in a place as bad as this. Seems like they have no ventilation . On to top of that they charge 10.95 per night per device for wifi. We could not get a data connection on our smart phones. They claim they do not block the signal, but soon as we got out of the hotel we got a connection. They refunded our money , but we would never go back. FYI been in Jersey casinos when they had smoking and in was never as bad as this place.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    771
    368
    132
    93
See reviews for
462
1,058
262
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed at this property twice in 30 days and found it to be really clean with large tv and small fridge. The beds were of good quality but towels were of very poor quality and (RUFF) The air flow from the furnace was really weak as noted by other guests on this site.The hotel was quiet considering it was attached to a casino and staff was very nice. Food choices were limited with long lines and a little pricey for the type of property.bring your own soda and snacks. We had chicken from Paula Deans carryout and it was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeisshortOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

EVERY YEAR,DERBY TIME!KENTUCKY IS WITHOUT CASINO'S-GOTA GO TO HORSESHOE-Been there 10 years in a row-we have our room on the 1st. floor-excellent but walk is the most difficult since nam-2 to 3 times a day-six trips!!!-book very early if you want a room--but our room is delightful-we are vip's there so we get some perks-hotel overlooks the mighty OHIO RIVER when in spring time can flood. Boat floors move up and down depends on river height-main hotel is stable always.3 restaurants of note,LEGENDS-crazy good food-BINIONS-dark,moody, romantic-PAULA DEANS BUFFETnot worth the price food stinks(sorry paula) charlie T.-P.S.-CASINO same old same old-seen one you have seen them all

Room Tip: book looking at river(facing south)actually if you are not a Churchill Downs Derby fan April, May is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PIGEARS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The rooms here are pretty nice and are worth the price, especially when the price is low from one of their special deals or a Total Rewards comp. The beds and furniture are comfortable, the amenities are nice, the TVs are big and flat, the bathrooms are roomy and well lit - all the stuff that makes a hotel room nice. We're just glad that they got rid of the "you bump it, you buy it" mini-bars in the rooms.

The indoor pool area is nice too, even if it is a little bit of a hassle to get to and may require multiple elevator rides. The pool itself is seldom busy and, while not huge, offers enough room to swim and play and have a good time. There is plenty of seating around the pool to sit and chat. The hot tub is nice too but the occasional "mystery foam" that develops while it's running can be a bit off putting.

Plenty of dining opportunities too, including Pearl, Jack Binion's and the Paula Deen Buffet right downstairs as well as an ice cream shop and small cafes.

Obviously, there is also a casino boat at the other end of the corridor.

Room Tip: I don't know if all the rooms face that way, but our rooms have always faced toward the walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouieBiz-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed on Friday night, 12/28/2012.

I was a little concerned about checking in on a Friday
evening, but the VALET was quick and easy, and
CHECK-IN was also fast and easy.

The room was larger than normal with a nice flat
screen TV.

So I can easily highly recommend these
accomodations.

It was probably a little pricier than other hotels in
the area, but I'm sure I could have gotten a lower
rate if I was not staying during a peak weekend
time.

Yes, it is a long walk to the casino, as a previous
review pointed out. But they have moving sidewalks
AND a golf cart that takes elderly folks back and
forth. And all of that is in a nice enclosed hallway,
like an airport terminal. This is really a NON-Issue.

I will say that the buffet was very busy all night
long with longer lines than I was willing to wait
in. So we had a perfectly nice meal in the cafe
in the hotel lobby. And I'm sure the little
cafe was a lot less expensive than the buffet
anyway.

Gambling:

Some of the VP games have better
paybacks than many of the Strip properties
in Las Vegas. So that seems more than fair
if you know what you are doing. I find SLOTS
pretty boring, so can't comment much on
them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny-Q2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a nice room equiped with a coffee maker but nothing to go with it. The room appeared to be clean and the room was very comfortable. We ordered room service for breakfast and when we moved the seats for breakfast we found some disgusting items housekeeping failed to take care of. We won't go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdq42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I guess I was in a "Comp" room. It was very clean and cozy. The TV was as big as the bed. The only problem was that the A/C and Thermostat was right next to the window. (Which confused the thermostat) The "In-take" and vent was all together in the corner. No air flow what so ever. Staff was awesome and friendly.

Room Tip: Dont get room 414
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greydog98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
Comfort Inn Louisville
#49 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#37 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 3,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Southern Indiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Property: Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Address: 11999 Casino Center Dr SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117-7753 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Southern Indiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Horseshoe Southern Indiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Hotel Elizabeth
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Elizabeth
Caesars Indiana Hotel
Caesars Indiana Casino
Caesars In Casino
Elizabeth Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing