We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Always nice hotel, friendly staff, loooong walk to the casino is a drawback, but no big deal. Fair to both smokers and non smokers, one floor non smoking and tables you can request it be made a non smoking table if you want. Smokers are welcome at this casino, so friendly to everyone in my opinion.
Great size poker room, though some of the staff at the desk are not always the friendliest. This is the tightest place for slots of anywhere, compared to Hollywood and Belterra. Lots of tables though to choose from. So good and bad here, but we go several times a year and for the most part, enjoy it.
The buffet is much worse than it used to be, they raised the price, and the food selection is worse, not sure who came up with the idea to spend all that money on a paula dean buffet, but it was not a good idea, most here agree with me, prices too high and it's not as good as it used to be.

Room Tip: With the long walk to casino, we usually request a room close to elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoey111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    774
    369
    134
    94
See reviews for
469
1,063
264
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The casino is not located close to a large city like many casinos, but along the river in the country. I have visited this casino at least 12 times over the last five (5) years and slept over twice. LONG walk from the hotel to the casino. The (1) one shuttle stopped running at 11:45 pm. I needed help with my card, went to the Rewards Desk and discovered that it closed at 12 midnight. The comforter and rooms are DATED, but spotless!!! The staff is excellent! If you have respiratory problems such as sinus, stay away from floors 2 - 4 . . . the smoke is horrendous! There is a nice walking trail on the property and exercise room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Empress30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erlanger ky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Our stay was for 2 nights, Dec 24th & 25. Room was fine. We were on the 10th fl with a view of the river. Had a great time watching football at Legends. Total bill for 8 Bud Lites, 5 mixed drinks, Blue Moon battered cod & the Reuben, including a generous Christmas Eve tip was $96. About the food: Legends does a couple of things really well and at reasonable prices. French onion soup, cream of potato soup, Blue Moon battered cod, Reuben & the hand breaded chicken tenders are fantastic, as is the Caramel Cream Cheese Chimichanga. Can't say the same for the pasta dishes. I think Ragu would have had more flavor. Ate breakfast twice in the Paula Deen buffet. Approx $26 for the 2 of us. It was good. Too bad Legends didn't do an ala carte breakfast.
As for the room, the bed was comfortable but if you need more than one underfilled feather pillow be sure to call Housekeeping before you go to bed. We had spare pillows in less than 15 minutes. The shower was adequate. The water was nice and hot. Room was a good size. This was the first casino hotel we had ever stayed in that either did not have an in-room safe or else it was very cleverly hidden.
Now for what really made this a less than great weekend. In Indiana casinos you cannot buy or be served alcohol on Christmas Day. This should have been featured prominently on their web site for anyone selecting Dec 25 for a visit. And we're not just talking Christmas Day, but from 3am Dec 25 until 7am Dec 26. Not being made aware of this law when making this booking may be just enough to keep us from returning. We also have a charge of $56 that we so far have not found a receipt for. If I can't find one I will need to call them back and see what it's for. We did the video checkout and missed it and I haven't received an emailed statement yet. We did not touch the mini bar so it had better not be that.
Casino was ok. It wasn't Vegas but we knew that going in. Slots are tight.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvg22858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is a breezeway to the casino and restaurants. Perfect for adults who want a get-away experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmoody1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, GA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My wife and I go to this casino once or twice each year for a two or three day getaway. The hotel was excellent, as usual. Room was very nice and housekeeping was exceptional. The casino has a wide variety of slots in all denominations. The automated drink service is excellent.
My only complaint on previous visits had been about the buffet. I am diabetic with a heart condition. I avoid most fried foods and all sweets. I had a hard time getting a good meal on previous visits. Not his time. They had a wide variety of grilled and baked entrees and they had added a number of sugar free and no sugar added deserts. Thanks for listening.
This was truly a great trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lafayette_GAPossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

HOTEL: was fine, comfy pillow top bed, large king room, plenty of space. Originally for one night (Nov29, 2011) the room was $89, then I put in my players card - dropped down to $69, caught a cyber monday special for $54. Not sure why a hotel in the middle of no where would even charge $89 a night. FOOD: grabbed a sandwich from Paula Dean's. Terrible, $8.50 for a cold club sandwich on white bread, not toasted and obviously not fresh. Went to Bisons for dinner because of 1/2 appetizers - great deal for us, just had that, since the meals were pricey. Their is a walk to the casino - I didn't care. That reason is because of Indiana's gambling law that casinos had to be on a boat (not sure if that is still the law) The boyfriend didn't even realize the casino was in fact a riverboat. CASINO - our first go around was only for about 40min -went back to the room and the BF, a former smoker, couldn't believe how much our clothes smelled of smoke. The casino has one floor (out of 4) for non smoking. But all they had were slot machines - not one table game. The guy working the bar was very nice. $.50 for a jack and coke. Free soda stations. The other floors could really use more ventilation, they just kept blowing very cold air (I was freezing). I liked the hotel but would not return to the casino because of the poor ventilation. Being a non smoker, from a smoke free state ...you really get use to breathing clean air.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nitesky014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. The only negative is the walk from hotel to casino. We will return for sure!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mydconder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
Comfort Inn Louisville
#51 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#34 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Southern Indiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Property: Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Address: 11999 Casino Center Dr SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117-7753 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Southern Indiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Horseshoe Southern Indiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Hotel Elizabeth
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Elizabeth
Caesars Indiana Hotel
Caesars Indiana Casino
Caesars In Casino
Elizabeth Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing