We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2007

I have been to all of the Indiana riverboats and Caesars is the nicest. Only disadvantage is the walk from the hotel to the casino. Quite a ways, however they now provide a shuttle (golf cart) free of charge (driver accepts tips). Food at this hotel is also good. They have a steak house, a buffet, a cafe in the pavilion as well as cafes on the boat. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are clean, bathrooms done in marble. Very nice place!!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank barbark2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    806
    382
    139
    98
See reviews for
501
1,106
275
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shepherdsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

I have been going to Caesars Indiana since the place opened in 1998. My multiple visits have included rooms all over the hotel and every bar and restaurant in the place (even some no longer there). It’s fair to say I know Caesar…

So many reviews of this property, just like many other casino riverboat properties, turn on whether the writer had a good day at the slot machines. With exception of discussions about table limits and employees, my views of the property are based on my non-gaming experience.

CASINO:

It is fair to say I have spent more time in this casino than any other casino. Originally, this casino was not owned by Harrah’s, but by a smaller operator. Just like everywhere else when Harrah’s comes in, table limits went up. The selection of slots did get newer and shinier. Table limits tend to be $10+ with higher prices on peak times. Lately, with the opening of nearby competition in French Lick, Indiana, Caesar has felt the pressure of competition and now advertises $5.00 tables…limited times only, only on select games, not applicable on holidays and special events…Don’t expect to find any reasonably priced games on Friday or Saturday evening.

Décor is unremarkable. The various themes are hardly noticeable. The place does have the largest chandelier in the world or some such nonsense on the 3rd floor (again, hardly remarkable). The casino is in the process of a change-over to the Horseshoe (damn the Binion family for ever letter Harrah’s have the right to this name). Right now there is Horseshoe themed material next to busts of Caesar. Roman-hillbilly…odd theme. A recent high-roller section is ooo-la-la but “yawn”. Though you will not be encouraged, be sure to step outside on the 3rd or 4th floor and view the river. It’s the only part that is worth “seeing”.

The casino itself is fairly clean. The casino is largely smoker friendly so if you don’t like smoke, you better like slots or poker (the smoke-free level, floor 1, has only these games).

Drinks are reasonably priced ($3.25 beer). The bars provide quick service. The cocktail service is not so hot. Unless you are in the high-roller salon, expect to wait a while for drinks. While this would make sense in Clark Co., Nevada, where drinks are free, it would seem capitalism (selling beer = profit) would ensure prompt beverage service. Nope.

The staff has always been friendly even when adversity strikes. As is often the case in a Midwest river boat located near a big city, the players will often remind you of those on East Fremont Street. Too often the blackjack table is populated by work-a-day guys that are way down on their luck needing just one more 21 to make a mortgage payment. I have seen very bad behavior handled always professionally.

Most dealers, maybe because they are starved for non-welfare-wagering patrons, actually seem excited if you have a little personality when you play (as opposed to the abundance of English-as-a-second-language-deal-at-blazing-speed dealers that are way too common in Vegas now). Some staff is so memorable you’ll want to seek them out visit after visit. “Snappin’ Bob” (nametag Robert) is my personal favorite.

DINING:

Legends- This is the property’s mid-priced dining experience. It has decent décor. It’s part bar part restaurant. It’s the only place to eat if you don’t want to spend a fortune but you’re looking for a sit-down meal.

Priced a few dollars more a plate than O’Charley’s or Chili’s, things here cost more than they should. The food is often mediocre, cooked wrong, or cold. Service has always been friendly. Sometimes it can be fairly good. The bar has a good variety. This place could benefit from strong management in the kitchen.

Cleopatra’s- It’s the coffee shop. It’s the standard comp given for a few hours play. It’s a self-serve grill. Like everything else in casinos that don’t really have competition, it’s overpriced. In the wee hours, it can take 30 minutes to get a burger (hey, cooked to order is good, right?). Save yourself the headache and some bucks- go to Waffle House unless you’re too smashed to drive.

Buffet- I don’t wear polyester slacks. I do not ride a scooter up to the slot machine. I do not get excited about buffets. I do not have anything great to say about the buffet. I do not have anything bad to say about the buffet. It is buffet- hear it yawn…

Portico- This place is expensive (about $100 a head with wine). Unlike most high-dollar casino dining, it is genuinely worth the price (so often comp dining is way overpriced). The food, service, and décor are superb.

I am not a lobster fan. This place is known for its lobster. In the tune of the Monkey’s “I’m a Believer”… “I tried the lobster, now I’m a believer”. I will order lobster there again.

Our meal was a fortune and worth every penny.

Other food- There are various food counters on the gaming vessel and in the hotel. It is what one would expect- slightly less than average food at slightly high prices.

ENTERTAINMENT:

This ain’t Vegas baby! You’ll see lots of talent here that Kathy Griffin wouldn’t even associate with (which, admittedly, is better than no show at all). Usually the acts are country. Anthony Cools (who plays in Vegas) is a favorite and sells out when he comes. They have some fun events at holidays with good food and free drinks for high-rollers. I am not invited.

On weekends, a band plays at Legends. If you like Beatles cover bands, you’ll like the band. Thank God they don’t have karaoke.

HOTEL:

There is nothing spectacular about this place. Just like all the other casino hotels in the Midwest (with the exception of French Lick) this one is nothing special. It’s clean. It’s a little nicer than a Hampton Inn (well, the Hampton Inn does have down comforters). Like other casinos, the choice of TV channels blows.

As discussed, as the players in the attached casino are often the down-and-out crowd, it’s not infrequent that your neighbor may be like an angry, drunken, Jethro Clampett. For whatever reason, people like bring (dump) their kids in a room while they go gamble. More than once, my neighbors have “entertained” me with their noises from drunken domestic violence, raucous sex, and ill-mannered kids (sometimes simultaneously).

The bathrooms are roomy and covered in pretty tile. The views from the top floors looking at the river are impressive. The pool, fitness center, and other facilities are good. Remember, they want everything to be bland so you’ll seek entertainment outside of your room…in the casino.

Otherwise, this hotel is like a new Buick. It’s clean, comfortable, and wholly unmemorable.

Overall, this hotel casino is good. I am hard pressed to give it four out of five but almost feel guilty for giving it only three. If you’re coming here (Louisville area) for some reason, expect a fair experience. However, if you want a destination trip, I would try the nearby French Lick casino. I would be more inclined to give this place a better rating if its three-point-five stars facilities didn’t have five-star prices.

  • Liked — Good casino, rooms, and dining.
  • Disliked — Overpriced casino, rooms, and dining.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TeamW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

This hotel was a good hotel to stay at if you want to be at a casino property. The room was comfortable, very clean and in mostly good condition. Some of the furniture was showing wear. The service was good but not exceptional. Though it was too expensive on the weekend -- it was what you would expect from a Harrah's property.

Gambling on the boat was not great, but there are no buy-in limits, so if you want to gamble a lot you certainly can. There was a mix of machine denominations and tables were $10, 15, and 25 minimums. Only 2 $10 tables available though. All tables were staffed so seating was not a problem.

Buffet food was average, room service was good.

  • Liked — comfortable room
  • Disliked — a little too noisy at night
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RdWarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

We just returned from an overnight getaway at Ceasars in Indiana. It was very nice. The rooms are very nice w/ large bathrooms and comfortable beds. The walk to the casino is not bad at all but I had heard it was so I was expecting a 10 minute walk or something but it's more like a 3 minute walk.
The casino was fine, we actually won enough to pay for the entire trip including food. We won on dollar slots mostly.
Legends is a great place to eat. The buffet was ok but not special at all. The hotel and casino are worth visiting imo.

Helpful?
1 Thank JanineLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

We stayed here on Sunday, Sept. 9. We're from Texas and were on our way to Detroit for a ballgame and on to Canada. Had a little difficulty finding the hotel.

Checkin went very smoothly. Very nice, they even took a card I needed to go out and mailed it themselves because hotel mail delivery was so slow.

We had a nice room, not much of a view, could see a little bit of the river. We slept comfortably. We really liked the casino, even won a little(we usually don't.)

Our room was booked thru Harrah's and was comped. We didn't have the buffet, but had a sandwich at one of the deli spots.

Even though this is a little out of the way, we would certainly go back.

  • Liked — Excellent staff, gambling
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ForneyNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joliet, illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

My wife and drove from Joliet, Illinois, a bit of a juant but once
we got there had a GREAT time. Won a little bit of money had a lot of fun and we were treated like "High Rollers" which we are not. Nothing compares to Las Vegas but for a couple days and no airport hassles it is a Great place. I just hope the change to Horseshoe doesn't change it too much.

  • Liked — We had a great room, clean comfortable.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gambler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

Stayed 1 night (Saturday) to take my wife's 85 year old Aunt for her birthday. Kind of a last minute trip. We drove 3 hours. living in east central Illinois. This Hotel/Casino is in the middle of no where. You better come to gamble, because there isn't anything else to do.

LOBBY: Nothing spectacular. If you've been to Caesars in Las Vegas, don't expect this to be like that.

STAFF: Very friendly. They are taking your money so they are going to be friendly.

DINING: Expensive. Legends in nothing special. Basically a sports bar atmospher. The buffet wasn't bad. Paid $18 a person. It's you basic buffet.

ROOMS: OVERPRICED! We stayed on Saturday, so I expected to pay a little more. Price was $250 a night. Monday and Tuesday the rooms are $99.

Clean rooms. Nice, comfortable beds. It is your basic mid-upper scale hotel room. Paying $100 a night is a good price for this hotel. No complaints except for the price.

BATHROOM: Clean, everything worked. Nothing to complain about.

Biggest complaint by most is the walk to the casino. You do walk a bit, but they have staff in golf carts to assist hotel guest. Casino was larger than I thought it would be, 4 floors. You have to pay for any alcohol drinks.

I lived in Vegas and still visit. My opinion is you have to be a die hard gambler or one with a problem to visit this casino more than once. I am still loyal to the lights of Vegas...

OVERALL: If you must go here stay on a Monday or Tuesday; not on a weekend. No need to get there early in the morning and try to make the most of your time. Only thing to do is gamble. Don't book more than 1 night. One is enough!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,549 reviews
Comfort Inn Louisville
#50 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 3,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Southern Indiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Property: Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Address: 11999 Casino Center Dr SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117-7753 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Southern Indiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Horseshoe Southern Indiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Hotel Elizabeth
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Elizabeth
Caesars Indiana Hotel
Caesars Indiana Casino
Caesars In Casino
Elizabeth Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing