We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worstest Hotels ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Edinburgh/Columbus
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Not my first rodeo, but first time staying in Best Western. The very first time will be the last one. The room that i got was stinking, air smell was like in public Rest room. After getting different room I discovered that: 1) carpets so dirty that walking white socks on it would change color to the black; 2) Sink was not letting water go through; 3) Door would not lock itself without inserting the key. 4) $88 for this room ripoff!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Owner at Best Western Edinburgh/Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We are sorry to hear about your experience. Thank you for your feedback about the room, we are always looking for ways to improve. Our front desk staff is fully trained on handling any maintenance requests or concerns so we encourage all guests to bring any concerns to their attention so that matters can be resolved quickly for you.
Sincerely,
Dave Amin
Hotel Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 280 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel was very clean and the rooms comfortable. The front desk staff were polite and helpful. The alarm clock in my room did not work so I relied on wake-up calls. I stayed in this hotel for a week and they missed the wake-up call 3-times. They need a computer assisted system. Also, there is no elevator so avoid the second floor if you have heavy luggage. Breakfasts were great and coffee/tea was available in the lobby 24-hrs a day. Very nice!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We found ourselves in need of a pet friendly hotel and discovered Best Western. A bit hesitant knowing it was one of the original hotels in Edinburgh and wasn't sparkling new like the others, we gave it a try anyway. To our pleasant surprise, the hotel had been completely renovated and classically updated for 2013!! Classy, welcoming lobby, extremely friendly and accommodating staff, luxurious rooms with all of the high end appointments, nice indoor pool area, and a generous breakfast to boot! Kudos to the owners and Well Done to the Staff! First Class All the Way! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyDLYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Owner at Best Western Edinburgh/Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent stay. We are glad you liked the new renovations! As you saw, we are constantly working to give top-notch quality service to those who come and stay with us. Thank you for choosing our hotel on your trip, and hope you will stay with us again the next time you’re passing through.
Sincerely,
Dave Amin
Hotel Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I'll start with the bad.

1. Wood trim in bathroom falling apart.
2. Lengthy check-in.
3. I went down to grab a muffin during breakfast and was treated very rudely by a maid. I still haven't figured out why. She was upset that I was wearing sandals in the eating area. She asked me to change into "normal shoes" before entering breakfast area. I told her to mind her own business. She seemed unstable. When I complained at the front desk, they said they were sorry and that " she's a little strange sometimes".

Now on to the good.
1. Nice pool.
2. Very quiet. I never heard a sound from other rooms or the hallway.
3. Close to outlet mall.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xepazenith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Owner at Best Western Edinburgh/Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share with us both the good and bad you experienced at our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities and the location of the hotel. We will look into ways to make future improvements for our guests and appreciate the feedback. Thank you for choosing our hotel, we hope you will stay again the next time you are visiting.
Sincerely,
Dave Amin
Hotel Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Close to interstate, outlet mall and Columbus, IN. Motels in the area are pricey, and the taxes are really high. Room was nice, but the high pressure toilet didn't work correctly and it never did get to work right. Breakfast OK, but the breakfast room way too small. Desk staff very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tenormary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Owner at Best Western Edinburgh/Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your room, the location and our front desk staff. It’s great to hear that kind of feedback. We’ll be sure to fix the maintenance concern you mentioned. Thank you for choosing to stay with and hope to see you again the next time you come to visit.
Sincerely,
Dave Amin
Hotel Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

In all fairness here were the pros: allowed our dog for a $10 fee, relatively inexpensive, free breakfast, good location. The staff was friendly, though there were so many issues with the hotel itself it would have been pointless to request remedy.
Here were the cons that outweighed the pros for us:
Paint chips in the bathtub
Room (in a non smoking hotel) reeked of cigarettes and musk
Hair in bathroom corners (that wasn't ours)
Stained carpeting
Centipedes in the bathtub (inch and a half long, not a subtle insect presence)
Towels smelled dingy and unclean

Yeah, this place was gross. We don't at all recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doylemedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Owner at Best Western Edinburgh/Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We are sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. We will look into the feedback which you provided us. We are always striving to make improvements and we appreciate you taking the time to inform us. We hope you will try staying with us again to see the changes we have made.
Sincerely,
Dave Amin
Hotel Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We needed a place to stop on the way to kentucky because it was getting late. We randomly decided to stop in this little town that we knew nothing about. The service was great! The rooms were clean, the breakfast had a selection. the only downside was that the beds were too hard for our preference.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thenims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Owner at Best Western Edinburgh/Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your review and we're glad that you stayed with us during your trip. Hopefully you had an enjoyable time and will look for us the next time you are passing through.
Thanks,
Dave Amin
Hotel Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Edinburgh
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edinburgh
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus / Taylorsville / Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville
7.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Tipton Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Edinburgh/Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Edinburgh/Columbus

Address: 11780 N US Highway 31, Edinburgh, IN 46124-9000 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $83 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Edinburgh/Columbus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the small town charm and big city amenities of this Edinburgh, Indiana hotel, just minutes from Camp Atterbury, downtown Columbus and Edinburgh Premium Outlets. Located between Indianapolis and Louisville, the BEST WESTERN Edinburgh/Columbus in Edinburgh offers access to both downtown Indianapolis and downtown Columbus. Easily accessible from Interstate 65 or US 31, the property is also a great home away from home while exploring local attractions. Guests at this Edinburgh hotel can shop to their heart's delight at the Edinburgh Premium Outlets, just across the street, or learn fascinating history at Camp Atterbury, a National Guard training facility. Features & Amenities Complimentary Breakfast Indoor pool Fitness center Pets Allowed High Speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Edinburgh/Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing