We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unhappy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Kokomo, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very unhappy”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Usually when we stay at this hotel the room is nice. The last time we stayed the room had a very strong odor, cigarette burns on the floor and when we asked for a blanket it also had a bad odor and a burn. The bed was also very uncomfortable. The walls are paper thin as we heard a whole couples argument for 2 hours. We come from 3 hours away and play a lot of money. The offers that they provide at the casino are meager for the amount of money that is spent. This hotel use to be the best in the area. They have supposedly remodeled, but this last stay was not good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I’m so sorry to hear this, Tamara. Your experience does not sound like a typical one here at our property. We want our guests to have a comfortable stay each time they visit. We’d be happy to follow up with you further regarding your experience. Please feel free to send us a message to atyourserviceEC@ameristar.com. We appreciate your feedback and hope you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    80
    13
    7
    15
See reviews for
39
114
37
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were there again last weekend. This time we got to stay Friday and Saturday night. We got there late Friday night After work. I set up my laptop to get ready to do some work for Saturday And my boyfriend took a long luxurious bath This hotel and the rooms are just fantastic. Even the halls are superclean and smell great. We then went to the casino to play Friday night And even though we lost we had a great time. I made a major come back Saturday night Which made it even better. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. I can't wait to come back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommistrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for coming back to see us and for your recommendation! I'm glad you got to stay both Friday and Saturday nights this time. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoy staying here. I get a free room once a month. It's relaxing, and modern. No complaints at all! I would definitely recommend this place to any and everyone!!! I just wish there were more places like this!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chipotlequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We really appreciate your recommendation and are glad you enjoy staying with us. Thanks for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I just stayed here since they remodeled this hotel For the first time. I Stayed here when it was named Resorts. The rooms are beautiful And the service is excellent. Whenever I get a comp room I will stay here again for sure

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommistrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We've always had great experiences at Ameristar in the past, and by setting the bar so high, we expected nothing but the same. Unfortunately, that was not the case this time, far from it.

Upon our arrival, we went to check-in to our room, and mentioned that it was our anniversary. The lady behind the counter said, "congratulations, we'll get a nice room with a view for you!" Upon entering our room, we could smell stale smoke, and the carpet, nightstand and desk were littered with cigarette burns. All of this in a non-smoking room! Our view? We got to look at the parking garage, and a VERY small portion of the beach. To say we were disappointed is an understatement......we expected much better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MIke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear of your most recent experience. We want our guests to have great experiences each time they visit, especially when celebrating a special occasion. Our hotel manager is in the process of contacting you to offer a personal apology. We do appreciate your feedback and thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I wold advise anyone in the area or traveling thru, to check into a room at Ameristar. The food is excellent and inexpensive. it took very little time to check in.My wife and I shared a King Side Bedroom (non smoking).The all you can eat buffett was a highlight.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Denise at check in was great. The room was beautiful and clean. All employees were very pleasant. Not much on gambling so can't comment there. Food and service at Heritage buffet were wonderful. Only downfall ...if youre a non smoker it's difficult to get completely away from that smell in casino area. Would definitely go again. Good price for such a nice room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I'm glad you had a great experience and enjoyed your meal at Heritage Buffet! Thanks for sharing your review with us and for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Chicago
3.8 mi away
Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hammond
14.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN
5.8 mi away
Best Western Northwest Indiana Inn
7.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago

Property: Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago
Address: 777 Ameristar Blvd, East Chicago, IN 46312-1806
Location: United States > Indiana > East Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago is a full-service luxury hotel that boasts a variety of amenities. Complimentary wireless internet In guest rooms and a 24-hour fitness center are available for guests to use throughout their stay. The 56,000-square-foot casino includes four spacious playing levels, with one of the largest selections of games in northwest Indiana. Ameristar East Chicago includes diverse selection of restaurants ranging from deli sandwiches to steaks and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing