We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Hammond)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Hammond)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$119
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$125
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveler rating
206
94
13
11
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
206
94
13
11
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindustrial arealake michiganbell hopnon smoking floorameristar casinolarge bathroomroom keybeautiful hotelparking garagefront desk staffup to datenice stayjames bondgamblingvaletslotsdoorman
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 340 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Denise at check in was great. The room was beautiful and clean. All employees were very pleasant. Not much on gambling so can't comment there. Food and service at Heritage buffet were wonderful. Only downfall ...if youre a non smoker it's difficult to get completely away from that smell in casino area. Would definitely go again. Good price for such a nice room.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

I'm glad you had a great experience and enjoyed your meal at Heritage Buffet! Thanks for sharing your review with us and for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

IF you want somewhere to stay, relax and play games, AMERISTAR Is the best in town, it is home away from home. When I looked online, the rooms were presented just what the pictured showed. Great space, private with a lake view. places to eat inside the hotel/casino, a gift shop an all you can eat buffet, valet parking and much more.

Room Tip: you have to visit for your self and when you find that special room, request for each stay.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iceland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was truly amazed with the hotel. The rooms were more than expected. Very beautifully decorated and comfortable. Not to mention the beautiful view of Lake Michigan. I will definitely be back. A must stop for gamblers!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of Lake Michigan
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herakane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Ameristar Hotel reminds you of the nice hotels in Vegas! The rooms are comfortable and quaint and the bathroom makes you feel as if you're in a spa. They have nice views of Lake Michigan and marina boat docks. I will continue to patronize this establishment!!

Room Tip: Book early in thd month, you get the best views of the lake
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melody1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for being our guest! We're so glad you enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed in the hotel and it was very nice and clean. We ate downstairs and the food and service was excellent. The machines could have been a little better.
The few times I stayed you could look out and view the scenery.
It gives me pleasure to tell others of the wonderful experience you can have at the
Ameristar.

Room Tip: The higher floors give you a better view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience with others, Anita! We're glad you enjoy visiting and thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews