We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the time of my life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

cant say ive really ever done this before except once before at another location.my lady and myself visited the ameristar in east chicago .and litterly had the best day of our lives. we only brought so mmuch money with us and we made money and spent money i guess that the whole idea but time flew before we new it it was 9pm granted we started ataround 130pm. went to see if they had a room and ended up being compted a sweet on the top floor the room was quite a pleasent supprise. they treated us as if we were their number 1 guest will definetly be going back real soon. you wont be dissapointed gift it a try and hope your visit was as great as ours was...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgewshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We love hearing stories like this. Thanks for visiting and for sharing your experience. We're glad you had a great time and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 311 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

My Fiancee & I frequently visit Ameristar Casino & Hotel on a weekly basis for over two years for leisure time. The hotel staff is great. The rooms are always clean & the beds are very comfortable. We've never had to complain about anything. Housekeeping always supply extra towels if needed & when we stay more than one day housekeeping never have a problem coming in to clean the room. The atmosphere is quiet & comfortable I recommend this facility to anyone who is visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We really appreciate your recommendation and thank you for your loyalty throughout the past couple of years! We're glad you enjoy your stays and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The staff was so friendly and nice I thought I was dreaming . The bathroom was excellant big just loved the stay. We went to gift shop and different restaurants where wonderful . I enjoyed Ameristar East Chicago .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eunice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Ameristar East Chicago has been remodeled. The hotel was totally revamped, the rooms are much nicer now, with 42 inch big screen TV's, the carpeting was redone, and the hotel is much nicer than it used to be. The front desk staff is quick and efficient, they have a security guard monitoring the entrance to the hotel elevators, and you have to insert your hotel key to access the floor buttons. The restaurants are very good, they especially take care of the buffet, they put out small pans of food, so the food turnover is fast, so the food is always fresh and hot. They make sure that the food line is always kept clean. The guests who stay overnight can sometimes be a bit obnoxious and loud, but that comes with the area. The bathrooms are very nice and clean, and the water is HOT. Housekeeping staff is friendly, and will quickly respond to your needs. Overall, we like this Casino/Hotel.

Room Tip: Get a lake view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Whenever my husband and I get a chance to get away for a day or 2, we ALWAYS head to Ameristar for a relaxing getaway. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is ALWAYS friendly and eager to help with anything we may need. The restaurants are also wonderful. We have never been to a better Steak house. We go for all of our special occasions!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the nicer the room. That's what I've always been told; but, to tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

So i flew into O'hare Airport in Chicago, rented a car and proceeded to a few days of some fun gaming. It was about a 45 minute drive and located in an industrial area. I can't be exactly certain, but there was definitely a shipping harbor, a huge network of railway tracks and all kinds of processing plants of one type or another in the surrounding area. Valet was courteous and helpful, check in was professional and very friendly and the hotel layout was quite interesting, i liked it. The room was somewhat clean, spacious and comfortable with signs of stress and wear. The casino was multi-level going underground, extremely smokey with dodgy ventilation, however there was a small non-smoking gaming area on the top level. Nice restaurants with decent food and friendly staff. I booked 3 week nights and was quite shocked at the behavior of other guests, the music was so loud in one of the guest rooms on my floor that security was banging on the door for a solid 20 minutes at 1am (no joke) before the guest finally answered, marijuana smokers in elevators and in the corridors. I was hoping for quiet by 2am (heck 3am) each night, but to no avail, so i checked out 1 day early. Nice place, but they have some awful clientele! I thought staying week nights would be tamer compared to weekends??? Oh well!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WI036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. I'm so sorry your visit was not a complete success. If you have any trouble sleeping, we encourage guests to let our team members know and we would be more than happy to do what we can to ensure you have a comfortable stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope you give us another try. Please feel free to send details of your stay and your contact information to AtYourServiceEC@ameristar.com and we would be more than happy to follow up with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Due to the weather we (wife and I ) decided to try this property and enjoyed our stay. The casino was easy to drive to from Northern Illinois and roadways good.
The rooms are very nice and clean. The view (beach side ) is nice and food at the various restaurants good. We both liked the buffet selections and ate there twice. We also dined in the sports bar finding it good also.
The casino is the "Old River Boat" style with four levels, but had a good selection of machines and table games. The draw back was the "smoke" as it was close ceilings and ventilation so,so :( The personnel that we came in contact with were very nice and willing to help with whatever our questions were or needs. Another thing we noted is that there is "nothing" around the immediate area but another casino boat......but need to drive back to Chicago,Il. ( 25 miles) for further eateries or entertainment or the like. Good Time........

Room Tip: Lakeside if available. Better view as this is next to a steel mill and train yard. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

I'm glad you had a good first visit! Thanks for sharing your review and for giving us a try. We do have a non-smoking slot section on the fourth floor of our casino. We hope you can visit again soon and check it out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago

Address: 777 Ameristar Blvd, East Chicago, IN 46312-1806
Location: United States > Indiana > East Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Chicago
Price Range: $83 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago is a full-service luxury hotel that boasts a variety of amenities. Complimentary wireless internet In guest rooms and a 24-hour fitness center are available for guests to use throughout their stay. The 56,000-square-foot casino includes four spacious playing levels, with one of the largest selections of games in northwest Indiana. Ameristar East Chicago includes diverse selection of restaurants ranging from deli sandwiches to steaks and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing