We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise in E. Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, IN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise in E. Chicago”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were very impressed with the quality of this hotel from the minute we crossed the threshold. After taking advantage of the free valet parking, we entered a shining modern lobby. Check-in was quick and friendly, and access to the casino and amenities is easy. We had a semi lake-view room, a double-queen with smoking privileges. Surprisingly, for a smoking room, there was no lingering odor. The room was clean, inviting and functional. Free WiFi was a welcome asset. The flat panel TV was a bit strange, with the actual channels received not reflected in the welcoming channel guide on-screen. The bathroom was roomy, with both a stall glass-encased shower and a large tub. Our room had a dorm-sized fridge, and a safe. The furniture and the beds were very comfortable, although they have fallen for those strange square pillows, which I find nearly useless and annoying. Check-out was easy, but not as easy as most hotels these days, with a drop box in the lobby for your keys. How about offering in-room checkout? Just a thought. Over all we will definitely be back to enjoy this little oasis in the land of steel.

Room Tip: Ask for higher up and lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misemici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I'm glad you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback. Thanks for being our guest and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    80
    13
    7
    15
See reviews for
39
114
37
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The rooms are superb!! It's like being in Vegas. As soon as you check in, you are treated like royalty (Christine is the bomb!). All the restaurants are very very good. The steak house is out of this world (Jackie is great). It is a wonderful experience over-nite and close to home. Even if you live far away, give it a try, you won't be sorry. My casino host, Mike always keeps in touch with me. A truly great experience, we don't go anywhere else. The rooms and casino are super clean.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I love this hotel, the service is always excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are great, love the comfortable beds and the set up of the bathroom..I always enjoy the deep luxurious bath tub. The service is always great. We've never had a bad complaint about the appearance of the room. You can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rana06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! We're pleased that we can always provide a comfortable stay for you. We appreciate your review and hope you can visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is the best casino/hotel i've been to the people that operate this place are very nice the food is great and the hotel is head and shoulders above all the rest.and i've tried them all. the casino hosts are always their for what ever you might want."especially Clark Bone" the guy goes out of his way for you. even with a foot injury he made sure I had everything I needed. and to tell you the truth it's the luckiest casino for me in the country.the first time I went was the night it opened and I won some big dollars and i'm still winning.so if your looking for a fun place to gamble or just to get away for a night this is it. the lake and the lights from the hotelrooms are very lovely as well. relaxing spot to spend a night or two wiyh your wife.

Room Tip: I prefer the tenth floor or higher lake side beautiful after dark.any room is good however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Second to none,if I wasn't an Indiana resident ,I would have thought I was in LasVegas.The buffet was superb,everything from the food,to the management. I will be returning in February. I applaud the services & attention that my wife & I received during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeltD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for being our guest! I'm glad you enjoyed Heritage Buffet and had a nice stay. We appreciate your review and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Staying at the Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago is always delightful. The staff goes beyond the call of duty to make you feel welcome. I have stayed at some top hotels throughout my travels to various major cities and this hotel rates among the best. In addition to an outstanding staff, there were other exceptional features that impressed me such as the security features, the pleasant atmosphere, the decor, variety of eateries, and the best cocktails in town. .

Room Tip: Ask for A room that is spacy and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elga-jefferies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I'm glad you always have a great experience when staying with us! We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Lake, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

No matter what casino we visit none of them compare with ameristar. The hotel is very clean and the people working there are very pleasant and helpful. As for the casino, we enjoy playing there more than any other casino. They also pay off more than most of thte casinos we visit.

Room Tip: we have no problem with any room or floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Chicago
3.8 mi away
Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hammond
14.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN
5.8 mi away
Best Western Northwest Indiana Inn
7.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago

Property: Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago
Address: 777 Ameristar Blvd, East Chicago, IN 46312-1806
Location: United States > Indiana > East Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago is a full-service luxury hotel that boasts a variety of amenities. Complimentary wireless internet In guest rooms and a 24-hour fitness center are available for guests to use throughout their stay. The 56,000-square-foot casino includes four spacious playing levels, with one of the largest selections of games in northwest Indiana. Ameristar East Chicago includes diverse selection of restaurants ranging from deli sandwiches to steaks and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing