We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 motel...on my top 10 worst list.”

Budget Host Stone's Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Budget Host Stone's Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dale
Reviewed June 11, 2009

I have stayed at many motels on my travels and this one still takes the cake for worst. 2 decades behind outdated rooms, cigarette burns in non smoking rooms, AC that freezes, bugs in the rooms (probably due to the huge gap under the door). I don't care so much if the room is old and outdated, as long as it is clean. Maybe a new owner has taken over since I stayed? I have sen better reviews recently. I only stayed here more than once because the other motels near Holiday World were outrageously priced in the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndHart120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Budget Host Stone's Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2009

It's about 10 minutes off 64, west of Santa Claus, IN. We were first told that it wasn't a "good place to stay." We decided to check it out anyways. We can called to find out more about it. We asked if it was a "clean" room. The manager, Donna, told us that she would make doubly sure the rooms were ready and clean.The outside isn't the prettiest, however, you can't judge a book by it's cover! The rooms were VERY clean and neat. It has wi-fi available, basic cable and AC. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganTraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Booked room 2 days in advance, even called to make sure that the time we would be there would be okay but when we showed up there was no room. They blamed it on Priceline saying that they over booked them and Priceline said that they never called to say that they were full, but beginning to wonder if they just gave our room away!!!! There were 2 other couples that came in the same time that we were there and had the same problem!! They were going to give us connecting rooms, if you don't mind (or your kids) sleeping in a room that has no bed but they will give you some blankets to sleep on and the room that did have a bed had someone's things in it but that's no problem either they will just pack everything up and move it out so you can stay in that room becuase those people had "checked out" and just didn't need their suitcases or other things so they just left them there, no big deal!!! So don't trust that when you book a room at this motel that you will have a room and don't think you can call and confirm and tell them when you are going to arrive because none of that matters!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
1  Thank ladybugKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

I can't believe how nasty and unclean the place was. I booked the room because it was a good rate, but now I know why. As soon as we walked in the room we walked back out. My advice to anyone reading this; please dont waste your time or your money on this motel. It is so worth the extra 30.00 to stay in a nice, clean hotel. I do have to say the owner was really nice and very understanding, he gave us our money back with no problem at all.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amywhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2008

Well it isnt a 5 star but there was a nice mexican resturant to eat at on the property. They let us stay in the pool as long as we wanted he said to just call the desk when we were done. The rooms were fine. Close to Holiday World without having to pay the outragious price. The only problem would be that everything closed at like 6:00 and there wasnt anywhere to eat at except there resturant for miles. but hey had to drive a bit to eat still was closer and didnt have to pay an arm and a leg plus they were very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank melodee0687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

I stayed at the Budget Host for a trip to Holiday World about 7 or 8 years ago and was not impressed. I was very hesitant to stay there again, but nothing else was available in a reasonable price range and my husband found our last visit to the Budget Host to be quite humorous so he convinced me to book it. It had a new paint job since our last visit and the rooms definitely got some improvements, but its still a very budget class motel. Some unexpected amenities included a refridgerator, free wi-fi (although it barely worked) and a pool (not sure if this was added since our last visit or we just didn't notice it last time as it is hidden in the back of the motel). The beds are old and have seen better days and the pillows are flat. But everything seemed clean. The chair had been repaired with duct tape. The bathroom is small and suffers from the lack of a fan and a toilet that was crooked and would run uncontrollably at strange intervals (something we do recall from our last visit). In fact one morning the bathroom floor was all wet because the toilet tank had overflowed. The room was equipped with plenty of soap and shampoo, but no extra toilet paper. One odd thing we noticed is that the "room freshener" was a bar of soap that someone stuck into the vents of the air conditioner. It definitely gave our room that clean, soapy smell. The parking lot could use some resurfacing and the bar out front can get a little loud on the weekend, but we slept well here and can't complain too much. As someone else posted, the room does come with a fly swatter which we had to use, but only once when we first arrived.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marybink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dale
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dale
7.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Ferdinand
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Ferdinand
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Huntingburg
111 reviews
14.9 mi away
SureStay Plus By Best Western, Jasper
17.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Lewisport
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Stone's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Stone's Motel

Address: 410 South Washington Street, Dale, IN 47523
Location: United States > Indiana > Dale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dale
Price Range: $60 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Budget Host Stone's Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Budget Host Stone's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Stone`s Hotel Dale
Budget Host Stones Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing