We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Dale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dale
Lombard, IL
1 review
“Dirty”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The beds were old and creaky with a pillow top mattress pad. If you're lucky the fitted sheet actually fits on the bed, mine did not. The hallways are disgusting. The carpets need to be either cleaned or replaced and vacuumed once in a while. The dirt/dust build up in the doorways and along the baseboard in the hallways is sickening. The elevator needs to be wiped down, smudges and finger prints everywhere. I was afraid to touch anything. The hotel tried to blame it on new maids. I asked the front desk staff for contact information for the owner/manager to write a letter and they did not know how to contact him. They just said he would be there in 5 minutes. I was already checked out and wanting to head home, so they made sure they had my phone number. The manager or owner never called me. The rooms look they have been updated, but to get to the room, you have to walk through the filth. There was a grease spot on sheets in first room...asked to be moved. Paid $89.99, plus tax per night. For that price you should expect a clean hotel. Ask for a room facing the back as truckers park their semis in the front and leave at 5am, waking you up. This used to be a Baymont Inn, too bad it changed hands.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    125
    156
    104
    53
See reviews for
355
55
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This was our second time staying here. Last year we stayed at this hotel for a trip to Holiday World and liked it so much that we came back again!
The room was big enough for all of us (3 adult girls). We got the king bed/sofa bed room and it was more than enough room. Last year we got the double bed room and it was a little bigger, but this one was fine.
Everything was clean, and the staff was very kind and accomodating. The free breakfast saved us a lot of money (there's a Denny's within walking distance, but it was nice not to have to spend money on breakfast!) It's not fancy...but it's free donuts, bagels, waffles, boiled eggs, etc. If you complain about free food you're probably pretty lame.
It takes about 10-15 minutes to drive to Holiday World from this hotel. I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The hotel is ok clean. Staff is great. Rooms very small and need updates. No vents in bathroom so bring air freshner! No hot water in shower for our room. Beds are not bad if you like soft. Not many chanels to choose from. Free wifi! Breakfast is ok but not very healthy and breakfast room gets very packed and not easy to move around in. workout room has two pieces of equipment.There is a gas station, a wendy's and deny's within walking distance. very close to the park next to other choices. No stores to shop for needs close but there is a tiny grocery store close to park and a dollar general.

Room Tip: book ahead it gets packed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennesseemommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Holiday World. The staff was very friendly. Our room had a king sized bed, but the room was not much bigger than the bed. However it was very quiet, clean and nicely decorated. One thing I did not like was that my bed was not made after the room was cleaned. I asked the front desk staff and she said sometimes the maids do not make the bed if there are items on the bed, but there were no items on the bed, just luggage beside it. Although she was very apologetic, I was still disappointed that I was paying $85/night and my bed didn't get made. The pool was wonderful - very warm, and the hot tub was very relaxing after a long day of roller-coaster riding. The breakfast was decent, with many different foods to choose from. All-in-all, definitely a great place to stay if you're going to visit Holiday World!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tararulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed here (it is a Best Western at this writing) in July 2010. The room was nicely decorated, with chocolate brown/sage decor, large square framed close-up collages of leaves/prints for artwork, with modern design lamps, and nicely upholstered accent chairs, nice fabric drapes with cute sheers, and a good sized flat screen TV. The beds each came with 4 pillows, which is a plus for me, as I like to sleep with more than 1. The beds were extremely comfy - not too hard, not too soft. Our room was spotless and the bathroom, too. The room had a dresser cabinet with a compartment for the fridge/microwave. Our air conditioner was quiet, and seem to respond the the temperature changes just fine - I liked that you could set it to a specific temperature instead of just having a dial.

We had requested a crib, and they staff confirmed it upon arrival, but an hour later it still was not in our room, so I had to call and ask that it be delivered - so it seems that their internal workings could use a bit of improvement in the communication department.

The breakfast had a waffle station where you could make your own, but other than that it wasn't very good. Bread for making toast, Fruit Loops/Cheerios/Raisen Bran for cereal, apples, orange juice/milk/apple juice for drinks. Nothing special and we opted to skip it the second day.

I did think the hotel was on the pricey side - we paid $377 for two nights, including taxes. But, hotels in that area all seem to be pretty expensive, as they know you are there to be close to Holiday World. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_in_the_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I stayed here along with my wife, three kids (ages 6, 4, and 1), and mother-in-law on a recent vacation to Holiday World. (We obviously had two rooms, connected by a common door.)

The good:
+ The rooms were very clean and looked as though they were recently redecorated.
+ The beds were extremely comfortable. Our two older kids had no problems sleeping.
+ It's a little out of the way, so it's very quiet in terms of traffic noise.
+ The breakfast was good (though Holiday Inn Express is still the gold standard of hotel breakfasts).
+ It's only about 10 minutes from Holiday World, close enough to make the drive go by fast but far enough away that it's a better price value than some of the closer hotels.

The not-quite-as-good:
+ The air conditioners are VERY LOUD. When they kick on, it sounds like a jet airplane is taking off in the parking lot. Fortunately our 1-year old sleeps like a rock and I always travel with ear plugs, but some people might find themselves woken up several times a night by these if you travel in the summer.
+ The pool has a lot of chlorine in it, almost to the point where it hurts your eyes walking in the room.
+ It is sort of in the middle of a cornfield, which has some good points (see above) but it's also not close to any restaurants except a Denny's. That Denny's is very nice but it would also be good to have more choices close by. Jasper has a lot to choose from but is ~ 20 min away, perhaps too far for a drive with small, hungry kids.

Overall it's a nice hotel and a good choice for those looking to go to Holiday World or just en route through southern Indiana.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rtalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Our stay was great: check-in went very smoothly, the room was super-clean and comfortable, and the continental breakfast was good. Very reasonable rate, too.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realityshowfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dale
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Ferdinand
72 reviews
6.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Ferdinand
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Huntingburg
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Rockport
86 reviews
21.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Tell City
Ramada Limited Tell City
#2 of 3 in Tell City
209 reviews
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Dale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Dale

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Dale
Address: 1339 N Washington St, Dale, IN 47523-9688
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Dale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Dale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Dale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lincoln Land Hotel Dale
Baymont Inn Dale
Dale Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing