We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A family favorite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A family favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husbands begins his day at 6am at SnS for breakfast and coffee. We frequentit for lunch or supper occasionally. Good varieetyof food. Like the salads andchili mac as well as variety of burgers. 2-4 happy hour shakes are half price. Always have coupons from paper so economical. They also have a $4.00 menu which is good. Staffing is sometimes inconsistent but Beth will always take care of you well!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank betsystrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    0
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Local resident --- we won't go back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have been to many Steak and Shake's and this one is the worse. We went last night - Wednesday, December 4, 2013 around 5:00 p.m. Not many people. There were about 7 tables that needed cleaned. We were seated. Again, we wait and wait and wait and wait.....we didn't even get asked what we wanted to drink. This has happened to us numerous times at this location. So we got up and went to Culver's ! We will now be going to Culver's! We have never been there before. Culver's is clean, organized - the staff was even smiling, the food was great! The same price as Steak and Shake. Try Culver's!! We were very happy we left Steak and Shake and went to Culvers --- near Walmart. Enjoy!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoyinglife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
111 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Steak 'n Shake is always consistent no matter where you are!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The waitress, Nicole, is very nice and peppy considering it's after 10p. The restaurant has free public wifi! Woohoo! I just appreciate that Steak 'n Shake is so consistent and u know what to expect. I also enjoy that they r open 24 hours a day! Steak 'n Shake for the win!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lishness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“trying places ive never been”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

it was great food was good and service was good will go again and price was greatwhat more can i say but it was great

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mawix47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Kids in charge”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

There are seldom any adults working at this location. Consequently, service is haphazard at best. We have been to other Steak 'n Shake restaurants in Illinois, Ohio, Missouri, Georgia and Florida that serve hot food and have great service. This one does not. The last time we ate there, we stood at the cash register while the high school kid who was supposed to be the cashier was doing his best to impress two girls sitting at the counter, a mere three feet away from us. After waiting for him to finish his dog and pony show, we fished through our wallets and purses to find exact change, then left. It's the same story every time and filling out a comment card does no good whatsoever.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Motherroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 
Crawfordsville, IN
 
Crawfordsville, IN
 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing