We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great piece of history”

General Lew Wallace Study and Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The General Lew Wallace Study and Museum, a National Historic Landmark and 2008 winner of the National Medal for Museum Service, features General Wallace’s personal Study, a unique building situated on over 3.5 acres of park-like land; his 1870 Carriage House, now an interpretive center and exhibit hall; and original memorabilia from throughout his life and career as a soldier, statesman, and the celebrated author of Ben-Hur, the best selling novel of the 19th century.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great piece of history”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lew Wallace was an amazing guy, and his study is AWESOME!! You can see where he wrote most of Ben Hur the greatest book of the 19th century.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jacobtraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon IN
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Piece of History Right Here In Indiana”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I recently attended a conference on writing books and one of the nationally known authors speaking at the conference commented on a handful of writers who had a great impact on the United States. I was surprised that General Lew Wallace was one of the authors he named, for his work, Ben Hur. He noted its importance as a fiction piece with a Christian theme that helped turn the moral climate of its time. I never knew how popular the book was, nor its impact, so I purposed to visit the site when I returned to Indiana.

Helpful?
Thank Hoosiertraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LIVING HISTORY”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The grounds are beautiful and the brick wall all around it! You can see where Lew Wallace wrote the book BEN HUR!

Helpful?
1 Thank Barb1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogerhaughey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative place”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Lew Wallace Museum is very interesting, comprising a small museum and gift shop, and the Study Wallace had built to work and retire to next to his home. The introductory video is a bit dated, but interesting, and the artifacts on display at both locations are well worth the visit. I was fascinated by the musical history, learning that Lew and his wife Susan were both musicians, with Susan's guitar (an old Martin?) and some of the fiddles Lew was in the process of making (he played as well) were on display. Well worth the extra 20 minutes of driving off the interstate!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerhaughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A surprising, historic gem”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This has been restored since we last visited in September 2008, but even then it had a fascinating collection of Lew Wallace materials. In addition to writing Ben Hur, he was a Civil War general, diplomat, and inventor ... and designed the study himself. Any history buff will enjoy it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mack3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Lew Wallace Study and Museum also viewed

 
Crawfordsville, IN
 

Been to General Lew Wallace Study and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing