We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
18
14
8
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
14
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casserole other guests breakfast was delicious place to stay dee keys comfort
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 45 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2008

Although not a fan of B&B's, this was the closest accommodation available to the O'Bannon Woods State Park we could find. We did not stay for any of the breakfasts, although they smelled very good. If you love antiques, you will no doubt love this B&B. There are 13 rooms loaded with them. However, the bed clothing is worn. Ours had actual holes in it. Wallpaper is peeling off in many of the rooms in a very noticable way. Also one night our room was so hot we could barely stand it. The temperature in each room is controlled at the main desk, and the poor woman on duty that evening didn't seem to have a clue how to handle it. Our mattress was old and worn out and was terrible for sleeping. There seems to be a general lack of maintenance to the facility, as the bathroom faucet leaked as well. Although "cute", the claw foot tube was quite awkward for showering. You can also hear anytime anyone walks around at night with the squeaky floors throughout. The place seems to be staffed with older women, some of them quite congenial, others a bit on the grumpy side.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank snackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

My company flew a consultant in to Corydon for our annual business meeting and booked a room for her at the Kintner House Inn. We thought we were putting her in the nicest hotel in town and it was important to make sure she felt pampered. We even hand picked the nicest room for her after reviewing them all.

After the meeting, she invited my wife and I to see her room. We were mortified to find a huge stain on her comforter that was not there when we picked out her room. We were both stunned and embarrassed.

I registered my complaint to a woman at the desk who then referred me to a second woman, who then passed me off to the housekeeping manager. She said she was aware of the stain, but didn't have the authority to replace stained comforters. Nobody took responsibility for the problem, ultimately blaming management for being cheap when it comes to replacing stained comforters. We will never book a guest to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
4  Thank bodidly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Our new adventure is to visit all 92 counties in Indiana, one a month, and learn about its history. The first county on this odyssey was Harrison County on May 31. We decided we wanted to stay in a B&B and Kintner's House website provided some interesting information. Since it was a last minute decision, only two rooms were available. We stayed in the Joseph Zimmerman room that was on the top floor. We found that while the rooms up there are a little small, it's quieter to stay on the top floor. The place was full and we weren't disturbed by noise at all. Sara Jo checked us in and was very pleasant and helpful with information about the area. We even received a coupon for 1/2 off an appetizer or free dessert at a local restaurant. We sat on the front porch in the evening after dinner to relax.

Since there were so many guests in the house, there were two seatings for breakfast, 8:00 and 9:30. We choose the later time and was disappointed that only one other guest joined us, but the innkeeper on duty on Sunday morning (I forget her name) was very friendly and talkative. She even dressed in period garb from the 1800's. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Two different egg casseroles, three different sweet breads, fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. It was a buffet, serve yourself setup that also included juice and coffee or tea.

I definitely would recommend the Kintner House.

-Sheilah and Gary Summers-

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryandSheilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

We loved our stay . It was our fist time at a B&B and it was quite an experience!

The place is huge! I don't recall, now, the entire history of the place, but it's old and it's packed with history. The bed was comfortable, if a bit creaky. We really enjoyed all the old furniture. The documention on the wall described the history of each of the pieces of furniture.

The staff was very friendly. We had no trouble booking, checking in, or checking out.

There were always fresh cookies, etc, and breakfast was very good. The other travelers who stayed the night were from all over the place - this is a well-know tourist destination.

We really enjoyed Corydon. We're from Louisville (about an hour away) but had only driven past Corydon. Our stay was very fun. The town is quaint and packed with great antique stores and other unique shops. There are also a number of historical landmarks to look at and explore.

We'll go back again.

Here's one word of warning: My wife woke up in the middle of the night to some loud banging. Then she heard the phone at the front desk ring very loudly. She mentioned it in the morning, but I hadn't heard anything. At breakfast, we learned that one couple had been locked out of the B&B. The front desk clerk had fallen asleep and didn't hear them knocking. They proceeded to bang on the door and then eventually called and woke her up. Apparently she thought all the guests were in for the night and failed to account for this couple. So the warning is: walls and floors are a bit thin. AND make sure to tell the clerk when you leave if you plan on being out late.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steeeeevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

Stayed here on Nov. 30, 2007. Grand old hotel, beatiful place. We stayed in Hoosier Suite on ground floor. When we return, will stay upstairs. Very good breakfast is included with stay. A great restaurant across street ( Magnalenas).

Stayed: December 2007
Thank tasteefreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews