We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but needs some tender, loving care...”
Review of Kintner House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corydon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kintner House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Corydon B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We really enjoyed the tour guide, Miss Kathy, at the Indiana Caverns! She was funny and very informative. This cave was just opened in June of 2013.

We stayed at the Kintner House Inn, which is a quaint historic home with lots of history, in old Corydon. Our room, the President Harrison Room, was very large with a large bathroom but it was very cold so you should ask for a second blanket and wear warm pajamas! All rooms are controlled with a thermostat down at the registration desk. Our room needed a good dusting of the blinds, under the bed and the whole inn could use professional cleaning! Our tub had a shower curtain which needed to be shortened to stay inside the tub but not on the floor of the tub, since it kept stopping up the drain. The linens were great and the bed comfortable.

That evening the manager let us set up a card table and chairs for our game of bridge. She was
very accommodating and the next morning we had a great hot home-cooked breakfast with quiche, grits, fruit, and several sweet breads. There was also a cookie jar of chocolate chip cookies for us to snack on when we arrived at the Inn.

This property was made into the present Inn in the late 80's and so some things need updating such as worn upholstery, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summersong1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 42 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Kintner House Inn exhibits the best of what a B&B should be, plus much more! This historic old house features the most beautiful and historic furniture and architecture I've ever seen in a place of lodging. My only major problem with it - and the reason for the Average review - was their HVAC system. The temperature cannot be controlled in each room individually because of the way the HVAC system is designed. When I stayed there, on 8-31-2013, the temperature in my room was only 69 degrees F. and could not be changed. Altho I did not measure the temperature in other parts of the house, my room did not feel like the coldest spot. Also, it was obvious from the filthy ductwork that the air filters were not changed often. In summation: If you like cool places to stay, this place offers everything, including a great home-cooked breakfast! But if you like your room warmer than 69 degrees, either bring your own heater or find other lodging.

Room Tip: Bring your own electric heater if you like sleeping and bathing in warm rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We greatly enjoyed the history of the inn, the hospitality, and the wonderful breakfast. The innkeeper treats you as family. The location in "downtown " corydon is perfect for walking to most attractions. We will be returning!


  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We first visited the Kinter House more than 12 years ago when my sister got married, Our whole family was there . We have visited the Kintner more than any other B & B. The location is ideal for us to break up our trip when we travel down 'south'. We live near Chicago so it is about halfway to Atlanta. The hostesses are very nice and they usually engage the guests are breakfast time so it's not so uncomfortable sitting with strangers. We usually stay on the first floor, although all the rooms are quite charming and each is decorated differently. We will definitley return again!!

Room Tip: Go onto their website you can preiview each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great B&B...lots of charm and character. We enjoyed the period-furnished (1870s) rooms...a step back in time, but with all the modern amenities. Corydon Indiana is a wonderful place to visit to get-away from busy life.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back of the B&B if you are bothered by any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael-and-Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We took a weekend trip to Corydon, IN to visit some of the site, bufallo farm, glass factory, Squire Boone Caverns, train ride, etc.. and stay at the Kitner House. We stayed in a room on the second floor towards the back of the house so we were not disturbed by the street noise. I especially liked the drawing done by famous guest that have visited and stayed in the past. It was nice to walk to dinner across the street and afterwards walk back and sit on the front porch in the cool evening. Would I stay here again, yea, yes I would!

Room Tip: Reading a bad review does not mean you will experience the same. We all have different taste. Have y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Being a veteran of the bed & breakfast experience and overnight stays in similar type places, I was rather disappointed and found the place quite unremarkable. If you have never been to a bed and breakfast before then perhaps you might enjoy Kintner House Inn. However if you're looking for a quiet room with nice amenities, an interesting place with a good story, or just a good breakfast look elsewhere. There are 15 rooms in this old 3-story building on the corner of a busy intersection. The floors creak loud even for a historic house and you hear the guests like they're practically in your room. Most of the rooms are quite small. We stayed in the School Master's room (one of the supposedly better/more expensive rooms I guess just because it had a king bed) and it felt and looked like a large closet in the attic. Aside from the bed, there was just one comfortable rocking chair to sit in. The shower head was hard to control and so was the water temperature. The bathroom was small and in general very basic. There were no DVDs or VHS tapes in the room, so bring your own if you plan on watching something. We were given an 8am breakfast time without choice. At breakfast if you're a borderline vegetarian you might actually like this, but I found fruit, hash browns, and egg casserole (it supposedly had ham in it somewhere) quite unsatisfactory when I was paying the peak fee for what was an already greatly overpriced room for the size, quality, and amenities. The building goes back to 1873, which isn't all that old compared to many b & bs. More significant is the "current" Kintner House isn't the original with the real historical significance. The original burned in 1871 and the present day Kintner House is pretty much just another inn from that era without much of a story and is rather generic. I can see why it's voted highly for being in downtown Corydon, IN when considering the lack of direct competition, but if one invests the research they will find much better and more interesting options within a 50-75 mile radius of the Louisville, KY/southern Indiana metro area. If you haven't been to Corydon before, enjoy historic small town charm, and have never stayed in an old house b&b, this might suffice. For those that have experience with this sort of thing - keep looking.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nic5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corydon hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Corydon
Hampton Inn Corydon
#1 of 5 in Corydon
419 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Corydon
Comfort Inn Corydon
#4 of 5 in Corydon
125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Corydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Corydon
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Corydon
Super 8 Corydon
#5 of 5 in Corydon
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kintner House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kintner House Inn

Address: 101 S Capitol Ave, Corydon, IN 47112-1103
Location: United States > Indiana > Corydon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Corydon
Price Range: $59 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing