We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely beautiful lodging!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kintner House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corydon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kintner House Inn
Save
You added Kintner House Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Corydon B&B and Inns
Mt. Sterling
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful lodging!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Kintner House Inn exhibits the best of what a B&B should be, plus much more! This historic old house features the most beautiful and historic furniture and architecture I've ever seen in a place of lodging. My only major problem with it - and the reason for the Average review - was their HVAC system. The temperature cannot be controlled in each room individually because of the way the HVAC system is designed. When I stayed there, on 8-31-2013, the temperature in my room was only 69 degrees F. and could not be changed. Altho I did not measure the temperature in other parts of the house, my room did not feel like the coldest spot. Also, it was obvious from the filthy ductwork that the air filters were not changed often. In summation: If you like cool places to stay, this place offers everything, including a great home-cooked breakfast! But if you like your room warmer than 69 degrees, either bring your own heater or find other lodging.

Room Tip: Bring your own electric heater if you like sleeping and bathing in warm rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We greatly enjoyed the history of the inn, the hospitality, and the wonderful breakfast. The innkeeper treats you as family. The location in "downtown " corydon is perfect for walking to most attractions. We will be returning!


  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig47933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Chicago
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We first visited the Kinter House more than 12 years ago when my sister got married, Our whole family was there . We have visited the Kintner more than any other B & B. The location is ideal for us to break up our trip when we travel down 'south'. We live near Chicago so it is about halfway to Atlanta. The hostesses are very nice and they usually engage the guests are breakfast time so it's not so uncomfortable sitting with strangers. We usually stay on the first floor, although all the rooms are quite charming and each is decorated differently. We will definitley return again!!

Room Tip: Go onto their website you can preiview each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great B&B...lots of charm and character. We enjoyed the period-furnished (1870s) rooms...a step back in time, but with all the modern amenities. Corydon Indiana is a wonderful place to visit to get-away from busy life.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back of the B&B if you are bothered by any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael-and-Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
106 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We took a weekend trip to Corydon, IN to visit some of the site, bufallo farm, glass factory, Squire Boone Caverns, train ride, etc.. and stay at the Kitner House. We stayed in a room on the second floor towards the back of the house so we were not disturbed by the street noise. I especially liked the drawing done by famous guest that have visited and stayed in the past. It was nice to walk to dinner across the street and afterwards walk back and sit on the front porch in the cool evening. Would I stay here again, yea, yes I would!

Room Tip: Reading a bad review does not mean you will experience the same. We all have different taste. Have y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Being a veteran of the bed & breakfast experience and overnight stays in similar type places, I was rather disappointed and found the place quite unremarkable. If you have never been to a bed and breakfast before then perhaps you might enjoy Kintner House Inn. However if you're looking for a quiet room with nice amenities, an interesting place with a good story, or just a good breakfast look elsewhere. There are 15 rooms in this old 3-story building on the corner of a busy intersection. The floors creak loud even for a historic house and you hear the guests like they're practically in your room. Most of the rooms are quite small. We stayed in the School Master's room (one of the supposedly better/more expensive rooms I guess just because it had a king bed) and it felt and looked like a large closet in the attic. Aside from the bed, there was just one comfortable rocking chair to sit in. The shower head was hard to control and so was the water temperature. The bathroom was small and in general very basic. There were no DVDs or VHS tapes in the room, so bring your own if you plan on watching something. We were given an 8am breakfast time without choice. At breakfast if you're a borderline vegetarian you might actually like this, but I found fruit, hash browns, and egg casserole (it supposedly had ham in it somewhere) quite unsatisfactory when I was paying the peak fee for what was an already greatly overpriced room for the size, quality, and amenities. The building goes back to 1873, which isn't all that old compared to many b & bs. More significant is the "current" Kintner House isn't the original with the real historical significance. The original burned in 1871 and the present day Kintner House is pretty much just another inn from that era without much of a story and is rather generic. I can see why it's voted highly for being in downtown Corydon, IN when considering the lack of direct competition, but if one invests the research they will find much better and more interesting options within a 50-75 mile radius of the Louisville, KY/southern Indiana metro area. If you haven't been to Corydon before, enjoy historic small town charm, and have never stayed in an old house b&b, this might suffice. For those that have experience with this sort of thing - keep looking.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nic5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

This B&B is overall very good, and has many interesting and period-correct furnishings for the 19th Century decor, making anyone who is a fan of history or antiques happy. The Inn is located within walking distance to a number of nice shops, restaurants, and historical tours in Corydon. Pros: Very nice staff, clean rooms, and tons of character. Close proximity to O'Bannon Woods State Park, Squire Boone Caverns, etc. Cons: Pillows (in the Presidential Suite at least) were a little flat; wireless access not really a possiblity - I was unable to log onto the Inn's wi-fi - password was not available by staff; stained wing chair in our suite, needing reupholstering; traffic noise on front rooms can be an issue. This Inn is on the main street through town, which has a lot of traffic. Consider booking a room more towards the back of the Inn if you are a light sleeper. Breakfasts were overall good - sausage/potato casserole, fresh fruit salads, breads, cereals, etc., along with a wide selection of hot tea, etc. Same breakfast choices on 2nd morning.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munseetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corydon
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Corydon
Hampton Inn Corydon
#1 of 5 in Corydon
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Corydon
Comfort Inn Corydon
#4 of 5 in Corydon
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Corydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Corydon IN
Super 8 Corydon IN
#5 of 5 in Corydon
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Corydon
12.2 mi away
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kintner House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kintner House Inn

Property: Kintner House Inn
Address: 101 S Capitol Ave, Corydon, IN 47112-1103
Location: United States > Indiana > Corydon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Corydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing