We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
18
14
8
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
14
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasseroleother guestsbreakfast was deliciousplace to staydeekeyscomfort
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 45 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Our new adventure is to visit all 92 counties in Indiana, one a month, and learn about its history. The first county on this odyssey was Harrison County on May 31. We decided we wanted to stay in a B&B and Kintner's House website provided some interesting information. Since it was a last minute decision, only two rooms were available. We stayed in the Joseph Zimmerman room that was on the top floor. We found that while the rooms up there are a little small, it's quieter to stay on the top floor. The place was full and we weren't disturbed by noise at all. Sara Jo checked us in and was very pleasant and helpful with information about the area. We even received a coupon for 1/2 off an appetizer or free dessert at a local restaurant. We sat on the front porch in the evening after dinner to relax.

Since there were so many guests in the house, there were two seatings for breakfast, 8:00 and 9:30. We choose the later time and was disappointed that only one other guest joined us, but the innkeeper on duty on Sunday morning (I forget her name) was very friendly and talkative. She even dressed in period garb from the 1800's. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Two different egg casseroles, three different sweet breads, fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. It was a buffet, serve yourself setup that also included juice and coffee or tea.

I definitely would recommend the Kintner House.

-Sheilah and Gary Summers-

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryandSheilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

We loved our stay . It was our fist time at a B&B and it was quite an experience!

The place is huge! I don't recall, now, the entire history of the place, but it's old and it's packed with history. The bed was comfortable, if a bit creaky. We really enjoyed all the old furniture. The documention on the wall described the history of each of the pieces of furniture.

The staff was very friendly. We had no trouble booking, checking in, or checking out.

There were always fresh cookies, etc, and breakfast was very good. The other travelers who stayed the night were from all over the place - this is a well-know tourist destination.

We really enjoyed Corydon. We're from Louisville (about an hour away) but had only driven past Corydon. Our stay was very fun. The town is quaint and packed with great antique stores and other unique shops. There are also a number of historical landmarks to look at and explore.

We'll go back again.

Here's one word of warning: My wife woke up in the middle of the night to some loud banging. Then she heard the phone at the front desk ring very loudly. She mentioned it in the morning, but I hadn't heard anything. At breakfast, we learned that one couple had been locked out of the B&B. The front desk clerk had fallen asleep and didn't hear them knocking. They proceeded to bang on the door and then eventually called and woke her up. Apparently she thought all the guests were in for the night and failed to account for this couple. So the warning is: walls and floors are a bit thin. AND make sure to tell the clerk when you leave if you plan on being out late.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steeeeevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

Stayed here on Nov. 30, 2007. Grand old hotel, beatiful place. We stayed in Hoosier Suite on ground floor. When we return, will stay upstairs. Very good breakfast is included with stay. A great restaurant across street ( Magnalenas).

Stayed: December 2007
Thank tasteefreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We called the same day. When we arrived we were greeted by Alice, who was a nice as your aunt! She gave us a tour of the lovely home and gave us our keys. We were offered some lemonade and cookies that we could help ourselves to.
The room was clean, the beds were very comfortable for me and my two eighteen year old daughters.
The breakfast was excellent with 2 egg based casseroles,(the corned beef casserole wasn't finished cooking. Also fresh fruit salad , 3 sweet breads, orange juice, and coffee or tea.
We had a nice time conversing with the other guests. There was a very nice restaurant called Magdalena's for dinner or lunch across the way.
The only problem was we were in Corydon on a Sunday, and not much was open. The Zimmerman Art glass factory which we wanted to see was closed on Monday too. So it was a great place to stay. The price was only $74 for 3 persons & breakfast included. But, my advice would be not to book a Sunday night.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolenzek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2004

We have stayed at the Kintner House quite a number of times. We make it a destination. The rooms are furnished in conversation pieces, and can be used as teaching moments for our kids. When my husband and I go alone, it is a romantic getaway. The beds are high and comfortable, and the breakfast, enjoyed with the other guests in the formal dining room, is fresh and delicious. Recipe cards are provided.
We have even sent both sets of our parents there.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank smartblnde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews