We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
18
14
8
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
14
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casserole other guests breakfast was delicious place to stay dee keys comfort
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 45 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Being a veteran of the bed & breakfast experience and overnight stays in similar type places, I was rather disappointed and found the place quite unremarkable. If you have never been to a bed and breakfast before then perhaps you might enjoy Kintner House Inn. However if you're looking for a quiet room with nice amenities, an interesting place with a good story, or just a good breakfast look elsewhere. There are 15 rooms in this old 3-story building on the corner of a busy intersection. The floors creak loud even for a historic house and you hear the guests like they're practically in your room. Most of the rooms are quite small. We stayed in the School Master's room (one of the supposedly better/more expensive rooms I guess just because it had a king bed) and it felt and looked like a large closet in the attic. Aside from the bed, there was just one comfortable rocking chair to sit in. The shower head was hard to control and so was the water temperature. The bathroom was small and in general very basic. There were no DVDs or VHS tapes in the room, so bring your own if you plan on watching something. We were given an 8am breakfast time without choice. At breakfast if you're a borderline vegetarian you might actually like this, but I found fruit, hash browns, and egg casserole (it supposedly had ham in it somewhere) quite unsatisfactory when I was paying the peak fee for what was an already greatly overpriced room for the size, quality, and amenities. The building goes back to 1873, which isn't all that old compared to many b & bs. More significant is the "current" Kintner House isn't the original with the real historical significance. The original burned in 1871 and the present day Kintner House is pretty much just another inn from that era without much of a story and is rather generic. I can see why it's voted highly for being in downtown Corydon, IN when considering the lack of direct competition, but if one invests the research they will find much better and more interesting options within a 50-75 mile radius of the Louisville, KY/southern Indiana metro area. If you haven't been to Corydon before, enjoy historic small town charm, and have never stayed in an old house b&b, this might suffice. For those that have experience with this sort of thing - keep looking.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nic5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

This B&B is overall very good, and has many interesting and period-correct furnishings for the 19th Century decor, making anyone who is a fan of history or antiques happy. The Inn is located within walking distance to a number of nice shops, restaurants, and historical tours in Corydon. Pros: Very nice staff, clean rooms, and tons of character. Close proximity to O'Bannon Woods State Park, Squire Boone Caverns, etc. Cons: Pillows (in the Presidential Suite at least) were a little flat; wireless access not really a possiblity - I was unable to log onto the Inn's wi-fi - password was not available by staff; stained wing chair in our suite, needing reupholstering; traffic noise on front rooms can be an issue. This Inn is on the main street through town, which has a lot of traffic. Consider booking a room more towards the back of the Inn if you are a light sleeper. Breakfasts were overall good - sausage/potato casserole, fresh fruit salads, breads, cereals, etc., along with a wide selection of hot tea, etc. Same breakfast choices on 2nd morning.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munseetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

Although not a fan of B&B's, this was the closest accommodation available to the O'Bannon Woods State Park we could find. We did not stay for any of the breakfasts, although they smelled very good. If you love antiques, you will no doubt love this B&B. There are 13 rooms loaded with them. However, the bed clothing is worn. Ours had actual holes in it. Wallpaper is peeling off in many of the rooms in a very noticable way. Also one night our room was so hot we could barely stand it. The temperature in each room is controlled at the main desk, and the poor woman on duty that evening didn't seem to have a clue how to handle it. Our mattress was old and worn out and was terrible for sleeping. There seems to be a general lack of maintenance to the facility, as the bathroom faucet leaked as well. Although "cute", the claw foot tube was quite awkward for showering. You can also hear anytime anyone walks around at night with the squeaky floors throughout. The place seems to be staffed with older women, some of them quite congenial, others a bit on the grumpy side.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank snackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

My company flew a consultant in to Corydon for our annual business meeting and booked a room for her at the Kintner House Inn. We thought we were putting her in the nicest hotel in town and it was important to make sure she felt pampered. We even hand picked the nicest room for her after reviewing them all.

After the meeting, she invited my wife and I to see her room. We were mortified to find a huge stain on her comforter that was not there when we picked out her room. We were both stunned and embarrassed.

I registered my complaint to a woman at the desk who then referred me to a second woman, who then passed me off to the housekeeping manager. She said she was aware of the stain, but didn't have the authority to replace stained comforters. Nobody took responsibility for the problem, ultimately blaming management for being cheap when it comes to replacing stained comforters. We will never book a guest to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
4  Thank bodidly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Our new adventure is to visit all 92 counties in Indiana, one a month, and learn about its history. The first county on this odyssey was Harrison County on May 31. We decided we wanted to stay in a B&B and Kintner's House website provided some interesting information. Since it was a last minute decision, only two rooms were available. We stayed in the Joseph Zimmerman room that was on the top floor. We found that while the rooms up there are a little small, it's quieter to stay on the top floor. The place was full and we weren't disturbed by noise at all. Sara Jo checked us in and was very pleasant and helpful with information about the area. We even received a coupon for 1/2 off an appetizer or free dessert at a local restaurant. We sat on the front porch in the evening after dinner to relax.

Since there were so many guests in the house, there were two seatings for breakfast, 8:00 and 9:30. We choose the later time and was disappointed that only one other guest joined us, but the innkeeper on duty on Sunday morning (I forget her name) was very friendly and talkative. She even dressed in period garb from the 1800's. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Two different egg casseroles, three different sweet breads, fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. It was a buffet, serve yourself setup that also included juice and coffee or tea.

I definitely would recommend the Kintner House.

-Sheilah and Gary Summers-

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryandSheilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews