We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice and comfortable stay”
Review of The Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Theberton B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was our first stay here (3 nights) and we were not disappointed. The accommodation is in two purpose built modern log cabins in a peaceful setting at the rear of the pub. One is a double, the other a twin. Both have en-suite toilet and shower. We had the twin cabin and both beds were very comfortable. There is a Freeview TV in each cabin plus tea & coffee making facilities. There is also a mini cooler (not a fridge) which we didn't find very useful as it didn't seem very cool even after several hours and it can only be kept on for a maximum of 8 hours, otherwise it leaks. We ate in the pub on the first night and the food was very good and priced reasonably. Breakfast was an optional extra, which we thought was a good idea as you're not committed to paying for something you might not want. The owners, Michael & Caroline, are very friendly but are kept busy running both the pub and the adjacent village shop. The only small "minuses" were that during our 3 night stay, the tea/coffee mugs were not changed and became a little stained despite being rinsed out by us in the hand basin and we ran out of milk, even though it was stated that the tea, milk etc. would be replenished every 2nd day. However, we had our own UHT milk with us (to go with our breakfast cereal), so it was not a significant problem and to be fair, more would probably have been supplied had we asked. We would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bearsted2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

Accommodation is two log cabins at the rear of pub.

Ours had a double bed, ensuite shower and toilet, tea making facilities and tv.
The cabin was warm and clean could not fault.
Full English breakfast was served in the pub or if you wanted in your cabin.

The evening meals were of a very high quality and home cooked, 10 out of 10.

The location of the pub is ideal as we were never more than a 20 minute car drive from all the places we wanted to visit ie Southwold, Snape.
We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

On Geocaching tour on the beautiful Suffolk coastal area this was a wonderful place for a couple of days break. Cant fault anything , food all home cooked, I e-mailed the owners and asked if there was fish on the menu and she provided two fresh cod from Dunwich beach.
Great couple run the pub, message to all fellow Geocachers visiting the Area have a treat and stay here.
Roger and Lesley Shinn
AKA Scarecrow Rog & Polly Styrene

Room Tip: The Double at the end has a table and chairs overlooking beautiful Suffolk Countryside where you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The 2 rooms offerred for B and B are chalets in the garden of the pub. Each has its own bit of outside space as well.
The small fridge in the room was a good extra as we brought a pint of milk for our coffees
Breakfast was served in the pub and was an excellent full English.

Great location, friendly owners and good service and value.

Room Tip: One chalet has a double bed and one has twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Inn

Address: Main Road | on the edge of the Minismere Bird Reserve, Theberton IP16 4RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Theberton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Theberton
Price Range: $89 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing