We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kelmscott House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eversholt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kelmscott House
Ranked #1 of 1 Eversholt B&B and Inns
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This has to be the best b & b we have stayed in. Idyllic setting in a charming village.We were greeted by Tom (owner) friendly and welcoming. The guest house certainly has the wow factor, the decor and furnishings are contemporary and very comfortable. Breakfast is a vast selection which includes freshly laid eggs from their own chucks which roam free in their delightful garden,Cheryl's poached eggs are just perfect as is the rest of the breakfast fare. Plenty to see in this area,Woburn Abbey & safari park, Bletchley Park and dine at the Michelin starred Paris House restaurant at Woburn Abbey. We will definitely return to Kelmscott House later this year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soapy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelmscott_12, Owner at Kelmscott House, responded to this review, January 2, 2017
Thanks, very kind comments. Enjoyed having you to stay.
All the Best
Cheryl & Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
39
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Was a pleasure to spend a night and morning in the company of Cheryl and Tom, 2 well traveled and well presented owners of the B&B set in the beautiful town of Evershot. The room was very large with a well presented en suite and bag room, with wonderful living quarters and access to mod cons in the room. Very welcome attitude and very relaxed way of live - check in and check out is never rushed and you are always treated like part of the family. Breakfast was cooked as you waited and was whatever you desired - whilst the conversation was as simple or in depth as you wanted. Absolute joy, well worth paying that little bit extra for supreme quality. Oh, you must love dogs as they have 2 other the most friendly ones going!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelmscott_12, Owner at Kelmscott House, responded to this review, January 2, 2017
All the best for 2017
Regards
Cheryl & Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have never written a review before (this is my wife's account) but I couldn't let my stay at Kelmscott House pass without sharing my thoughts. I stayed here on a business trip and if I was to list all the things I look for in a place to stay this would tick every box. Clean, modern, smart and welcoming with a very personal feel and literally everything you need. The room had a big comfortable bed and as well as the things you would expect to find in a standard room (tea and coffee etc.) they provide a mini fridge with different types of juice, bottled water, fresh milk and cafetiere coffee. At breakfast they supply everything you could possibly need and I find this remarkable for a B+B with only 3 rooms. I was looked after superbly - Tom made me a map to my meeting place as my route was diverted and even left me with some tropical juice for my journey! - and I left feeling like I had made new friends. I was even presented with 3 new golf balls complete with the Welsh flag as a parting gift after a chat with Tom at breakfast. You can't fail to be impressed with the genuine hospitality you receive here and I hope to return in the near future. Thank you both for a lovely stay and for the maps and golf balls! James

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktlc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelmscott_12, Owner at Kelmscott House, responded to this review, January 2, 2017
Thanks so much for your kind comments.
Cheryl & Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just returned tonight from a business trip in Bedfordshire. l had stayed overnight at Kelmscott House on the night of Thursday 25th April. l was so impressed, so blown away that l had to leave a quick note on Trip Advisor tonight. From Cheryl's warm and genuine smile right at the door as l entered to Tom's charming discourse at breakfast, l have to say Kelmscott is the best B&B l have ever stayed in bar none....and that's coming from a well travelled man.
Decor, size of the room, size of the double bed, cleanliness...all A1. Now add luxurious touches of elegance, dark wood furniture, two beautifully ornate crafted victorian type leather chairs with matching soft cushions, private balcony overlooking beautiful greenery, as free range hens peck away merrily down below......in readiness to supply free range eggs for your breakfast the next morning...you get the picture...
I happen to have forgotten my phone charger in the room when l checked out to attend my business function in the morning. I wasn't even aware l had left it...but because l had mentioned briefly at breakfast that l was attending a business function and where it was.....Tom and Cheryl actually got into their car and drove some 20mins to my function and dropped off the charger that l hadn't even realised l had left in the room. Now...that is what you get with the genuine kindness and unmatched customer care of the Keeleys....no where else compares.....no where else comes close...Thank you Tom....Thank you Cheryl

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adewale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelmscott_12, Owner at Kelmscott House, responded to this review, January 2, 2017
We really enjoyed your company.
Cheers
Cheryl & Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Me and my fiancé stayed here for a trip to Woburn Safari park. We had read the positive reviews beforehand but were still massively impressed by Cheryl and Toms hospitality!

We were welcomed into their gorgeous home and treated to an awesome breakfast! (Complete with fantastic poached eggs fresh from their very own hens!)

The room itself was immaculate, comfortable and beautiful.

We shall definitely be recommending this to friends and will hopefully be paying Tom & Cheryl another visit in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelmscott_12, Owner at Kelmscott House, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. Hope the stay made your birthday a bit more special. And I still want to know what the surprises was in the evening!!. Cheryl and Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novena, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Dearest Cheryl, Tom

Thank you for sharing you house and home. ....and friends and friendships across the breakfast table!

Your white towels smelt so nice and were toasty warm and soft...They were so nice and pristine... I could not bear to use more than one towel (!! ... old parental rules about staying at friends houses!).

The bedroom was so BIG! and warm and comfortable. As I shared with Tom.. This would be divided into three rooms in the city where I live!

I will share the pictures of your most beautiful dogs and productive hens with my children. They will want to visit!
Thank you for a wonderful welcome and amazing set of aga-cooked breakfasts!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blk13Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelmscott_12, Owner at Kelmscott House, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dearest Nigel. It was our pleasure. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope when you come back to england you will come and visit us and the mad dogs. Cheryl and Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you ever want to know how to run the perfect B&B, just visit Tom and Cheryl and bring a sizable notebook.
The moment we arrived we received a fantastically warm welcome. We were shown to our very sizable, very well equipped, extremely well presented room. We have stayed in so called luxury hotels that hold nothing in comparison to Kelmscott.
A few people have already mentioned that nothing was too much trouble, and yet again we have to say the same.
Tom and Cheryl have mastered the art of hospitality. Their willingness to take the time to chat is a rare delight. This was reiterated when we spent an hour and a half at breakfast just chatting whilst enjoying a breakfast to die for. Cheryl has a gift on the Aga.
Thank you both for a truly wonderful stay, we will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelmscott_12, Owner at Kelmscott House, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Sorry about the long breakfast. Tom does like to talk!!!! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you will visit us again. Cheryl and Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eversholt
2.7 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moore Place Hotel
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
11.1 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelmscott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelmscott House

Property: Kelmscott House
Address: Kelmscott House Higher Rads End | Near Woburn, Eversholt MK17 9ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Eversholt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eversholt
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the fringes of the Woburn Abbey Estate and a short drive from the famous Woburn Golf & Country Club. Set back from a quiet no-through-road, so you're guaranteed a peaceful stay. Yet only 5 minutes from the M1 (junctions 12 or 13) - there's easy access to Luton Airport and London to the south, Milton Keynes and Northampton to the north. Bletchley Park, Paris House (Michelin starred restaurant) and Cranfield University close by. Large double suite, priced here for single occupancy. En-suite bathroom with large powerful shower and twin wash basins. Flat screen TV, fridge, tea/coffee area. Free broadband and great breakfasts, all at surprisingly reasonable rates.. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing