We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruddick-Nugent House
Ranked #1 of 2 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a charming B&B with so many wonderful treasures to look at and books to peruse. The reasonably priced accommodations come with a delicious breakfast, knowledgeable & friendly hosts, lovely grounds, etc.

I especially liked the way Dennis gets the conversation going at breakfast, making breakfast a time of both good food and good fellowship.

A good assortment of documents and pictures for those interested in the history of the property and the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaPennyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
65
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights and couldn't have had a nicer time. Dennis & Joyce were very knowledgeable about the area and the house. They recommended the Miller House Tour as soon as we made reservations. (A must see). We really enjoyed hearing about their travels. Breakfast was delicious every morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 43PatN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay in Columbus, Indiana. Dennis and Joyce made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived till the hugs good by when we left. The decor is amazing and the service is wonderful. They are very knowledgable about the history of the house and the area. Breakfast with all the other guests is warm and friendly. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: William's room is my favorite room. Reserve it if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My college girlfriends and I stayed here for a "girls weekend". It was the perfect setting for our annual reunion. We rented all four rooms so had the place to ourselves and it couldn't have been more enjoyable or relaxing. The rooms are very spacious, the beds comfortable and beautifully decorated. Each room had different amenities that made it unique. We could be in our rooms on the second floor or there was a common area on the first floor with a baby grand piano, comfortable sofas and fireplace where we spent time sipping wine and visiting. Dennis and Joyce are wonderful hosts - really knew the area, the history of the home, and kept the conversation lively at each of our breakfasts. Breakfast was served by candlelight and was a highlight of each day. We were there for three mornings and the variety and quality of the food was very good. Each morning they also used a different table setting - each one was more elegant than the previous one. There is a small refrigerator on the second floor outside the bedrooms for guests to use (stocked with bottled water and sodas), a DVD collection and many books. Each room has a TV and DVD player and private baths. If you're looking for a nice, personalized stay away from a chain hotel, I would highly recommend staying here. We also enjoyed good restaurants in the area, the outlet mall, a winery and an afternoon trip to Nashville which offered unique, artistic shops. The perfect girls weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBGIRLGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this B&B for three nights and couldn't have been happier. The owners were welcome and inviting. I enjoyed hearing about the places they had traveled and their suggestions for places we should visit in Columbus. The breakfast, both the setting and the food, was very, very nice. The rooms were beautiful and I enjoyed hearing about the history behind the rooms and house. I will be definitely be back again!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaukane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our second stay at the Ruddick-Nugent House. We stayed in Inez's room this trip. The bed was very comfortable, so we were well rested which was important to us. Drinks and snacks are provided in the hallway for one to enjoy. Books, DVDs are also provided. The candlelight breakfast was the highlight of the stay! The diningroom table was beautifully set with china and crystal. A three course breakfast was as great as the conversation. Thanks to Dennis and Joyce for our fabulous stay at your lovely home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
314 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This large historical property is a bit difficult to find in Columbus. Once there however, the owners are warm, welcoming and accommodating. Narrow stairs to bedrooms. Beds are comfortable and rooms are large. Complimentary movies, soda and water available. Breakfast was very good.
For the most part, housekeeping was good although as par with big houses with lots of "stuff" - dusting would be nice. This property is for sale and it is apparent that the owners are weary of the largeness of this business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DayBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Columbus Downtown
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Columbus
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus
Residence Inn Columbus
#4 of 10 in Columbus
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Tipton Lakes
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside
2.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruddick-Nugent House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruddick-Nugent House

Property: Ruddick-Nugent House
Address: 1210 16th St, Columbus, IN 47201-5654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Columbus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 1884 home, fully restored, occupies a full city block with gardens and water features. We have Wi-Fi throughout, and each room is furnished with antiques, and has a private bath. We serve candlelight breakfast in the formal dining room, with crystal, china, and silver. While in Columbus, noted world-wide for its concentration of modern architecture, take the city architectural tour or the Miller House tour. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing