We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Service and Unprofessional Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
A TripAdvisor Member
“Terrible Customer Service and Unprofessional Staff”
Reviewed October 8, 2005

Our son lives in Columbus Indiana so we are here frequently. We took my elderly parents along and chose this hotel because it was new and seemed a nice place for them to stay. This hotel is a customer service nightmare. First of all their room was not made up the 1st night so we called down for service when we returned that night. The clerk Jason was extremely rude ,said there was nothing he could do about it and that if we needed towels my elderly parents should come down and get them. He practically threw the towels at me and said if we didn't like the service to get the heck out of here. The next morning we went to pick up my elderly parents and found them locked put their room at 9:45am. We went to the front desk again the a clerk named Nicole was working the desk. We told her of our problem and she issued new keys. We took them up and still could not access their room. We went back to the desk,told them of this and the clerk was nasty and very unprofessional,saying that if we wanted to make a complaint the manager wouldn't care because her family owned the hotel and wouldn't do anything about it anyway. We travel on average 12 times a year and have never encountered this level of poor service, I don't know if this is a reflection of all Sleep Inns or just this particular one but I will be telling everyone I know about this atrocious behavior.Please dont"t stay here unless you want to be treated rudely and with disregard for your comfort.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    42
    16
    5
    16
See reviews for
56
35
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2005

We've stayed in many Choice Hotels--mostly Sleep Inns--and this one was the best by far. The lobby was attractive, and the continental breakfast had a good assortment (lots of carbs like pastries, muffins, and bagels but also fruit, oatmeal, and yogurt). The rates were very reasonable, especially considering that it's close to Nashville, a big tourist area that commands much higher prices for its motels and b&bs. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jblwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardendale, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2005

We stayed here as a stop in between Chicago and Birmingham. My daughter is a Tony Stewart fan and she wanted to stay in his home town of Columbus to sight see. When we first pulled up we noticed several people just sitting out in the parking lot on towels and just standing around talking. They were there most of the night and made me feel very uncomfortable and worried about my vehicle. The room was very large but the bathroom was unorthodox for a "family" hotel. There was a sliding door and only a shower. We could not give kids a bath and they kept getting stuck in the bathroom because they could not work the door (age under 7). The indoor swimming pool was a hazard. We left the pool after 5 minutes because the kids were getting hurt falling on the floor after getting out of the water (and I almost did). That floor was slippery when wet and very dangerous. Plus the pool was a little green and greasy looking. The lake out back was nice and the kids enjoyed throwing do-nuts to the huge fish. Overall nice place just not kid friendly in my estimation. I had the impression of a long term rental hotel with the folks hanging out in the parking lot and the old couple walking the hallways all night. Very uncomfortable and would not stay here again. But did love the town. Very nice.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol41363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2004

Just returned from another stay in the Columbus Sleep Inn and Suites and it was as always ---- top notch!
This is one of the cleanest, well-run small hotels that we have stayed in ------ always stay here when we are in the area. Currently is beautifully decorated for the holidays ------ staff is very attentive and caring.
Breakfast buffet is very good and the serving area is kept immaculate.
Highly recommend this establishment!

Helpful?
7 Thank Baley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 5, 2004

I arrived in Columbus for a job interview and stayed here. I arrived before noon and the room I had originally booked would not be ready until later that afternoon.
Desk Clerk checked with her superior and I was given the LARGE meeting room.
I would have taken anything they could give me after driving 700 miles from NC, but they insisted I take it. Very comfortable bed. Slept real well that night and was
very prepared for the job interview. Wonderful inexpensive restaurant close by.
Finding the entrance to the Sleep Inn the first time was a little tricky. Would would here again no problem.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2003

Columbus Sleep Inn is a newer hotel type three story lodging place,
Extremly hard to locate drive into faciilty !! Second row location behind restraunt.
Just a stone throw east i=of I-69 on HiWay #46 and on drivers right if eastbound.

Cont breakfast, elevators, large rooms, pleasent staff ! Very clean and airy !
Rear rooms over look four acre manmade lake and a commercial shopping area under development.

Roadside rooms might be a bit noisy ? Restraunts of all kinds very close nearby.

Recomended highly !!

Helpful?
7 Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus
Residence Inn Columbus
#4 of 10 in Columbus
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Tipton Lakes
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Columbus Downtown
7.7 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh/Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside
Address: 2335 Jonathan Moore Pike, Columbus, IN 47201-9253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully, newly renovated hotel with numerous amenities such as refrigerators and microwaves in every room. A full free breakfast is included with your stay which includes sausage, eggs and a selection of pastries, cereals, etc. Free wireless and wired internet connection and 32" flat screen TV's offering over 100 channels including TV Japan in all of our Guest rooms. We also have a business center, indoor heated swimming pool, and a brand new fitness center. We are just eight miles from the Edinburgh Premium outlet mall which offers over 85 specialty stores for your shopping convenience. We are 16 miles from Little Nashville which is a small, quaint throwback to the past with hundreds of little shops featuring antiques, collectibles, hand-blown glass, leather, candle-makers and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Lakeside
Sleep Inn Columbus
Columbus Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing