We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the Miller House if you love modernist architecture!”

Columbus Architecture Tours
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See the architecture that made Columbus, Indiana famous.Find out why the American Institute of Architects ranked Columbus 6th in the nation for innovation and design.This guided bus tour enables you to see many of the 70 world-renowned buildings by modern masters such as Eero Saarinen, I.M.Pei, Robert Venturi, Robert A.M. Stern and Richard Meier. Your guide will take you inside two building interiors on the two-hour tour. Also, see public art by Henry Moore, Jean Tinguely, Dale Chihuly and other internationally-known artists.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss the Miller House if you love modernist architecture!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I'm the Director of the Grand Rapids Museum of Art and made a pilgrimage to Indianapolis to see friends and two other reasons: to experience the Indianapolis Museum of Art and see the Miller House in Columbus, Indiana. I had heard about Columbus in my art history class, and was thrilled to see some of the progressive buildings this forward-looking city has built. There is a helpful visitors center where you can buy maps and sign up for various tours. The Miller House is booked through the Indianapolis Museum of Art web site and you really have to book ahead. I was really impressed with the quality of the Docent leader (Steve) and the detail and thoughtfulness with which the Museum has designed the experience and protected this private landmark for the public to experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Danafh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    58
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wentzville, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We recently were in Columbus, IN with our RVing group and had signed up for the 2 hr. Architecture Tour. It was worth every penny of the tour. Our guide, Nancy, did a wonderful job. Even though my husband or I are architecture "geeks", Nancy did a wonderful job of keeping us very interested.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great and interesting tour”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

lots of information and very well planned. One of a kind.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Advice32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A must-do in Columbus, Indiana”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a two-hour guided tour on a most comfortable bus. Our guide, Dody, was enthusiastic and informative, and a great promoter of Columbus! We enjoyed this very much. Tip: buy tickets online ahead of time and be sure to arrive 30 minutes before your tour time!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mbinbbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dune acres indiana
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Introduction to an Embarrassment of Riches”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This tour is a must for anyone who has an in interest in architecture, or is just curious about the art form. Columbus has an unprecedented collection of extraordinary buildings designed by some of the greatest architects of the past 50 years. This, in town of less than 40,000 inhabitants. The force behind this remarkable showplace is Cummins Engine Company, the town's largest, and most enlighten employer and its CEO, J. Irwin Miller
The tour focuses mostly on the downtown core and is extremely well done. Tour guides are well informed and enthusiastic. No boring droning on here. But, there is much more to see in Columbus and one should allow time to explore the entire collection of outstanding buildings. The visitor's center has maps and brochures to help you find all the buildings around Columbus and the staff are unflaggingly helpful.
After the tour, we walked around some of the buildings and, naturally, had a much better appreciation of them at ground level and up close than on the bus tour. So try that if you have time. Columbus is a fascinating place to spend a day or two. Enjoy!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jayclay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbus Architecture Tours also viewed

 

Been to Columbus Architecture Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing