We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Columbus
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Stayed here as part of a leisure trip and casual business trip. We had a suite with kitchen and some extra room. The hotel staff was friendly, including the kitchen staff and cleaners. Everyone was genuinely nice.

Breakfast was really good. Hotel had an indoor pool and hot tub, nice little exercise room and a decent basketball court right there. The business center is a nice too, though the do have free internet in your room.

Location was close to the shopping center north of Columbus and less than 15 minutes to the park entrance and Nashville.

The location is good, close to

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICNiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 130 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2010

I highly recommend this hotel. Why?
-Location, location, location: Right off of I-65 and centrally located for trips to Columbus, In. (Big thumbs up for that architecture tour), Nashville In art colony, and Edinburgh Outlet Mall.
-Comfort and value. Staying here was like a home away from home: two-room suite, fully equipped kitchen, spotlessly clean, modern stylish decor, super-comfortable beds and linens. The complimentary breakfast and Mon-Thurs evening reception helped our pocketbooks, too. The large outdoor patio (grill available too!) was a nice place to relax on this warm summer evening.
- Fitness. Didn't use the machines, but we did spend some time in the heated pool to work off some calories. Saw some teenagers shooting hoops using the outdoor basketball nets right outside the facility.
- Service. Very friendly, efficient and helpful staff that went the extra mile. The tone was set by top management - when we arrived, the manager happened to be outside retrieving something from his car, noticed us struggling with a bunch of bags and immediately offered to fetch a cart for us. The sales manager was also very helpful when we decided to extend our stay and the hotel was nearly fully booked. And the rest of the staff in the dining area, front desk and cleaning crew were also wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagogirl2827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Relaxing week-end visiting Columbus, Nashville & Bloomington. Loved the condo-like inn with its full kitchen, fireplace & two flat-screen TV's. Everything was spotless and comfy. Had a wonderful meal at Smith & Rowe downtown (crab encrusted walleye) thanks to the front-desk advice.

Though our bedroom faced the parking lot and we had lots of rain and thunderstorms, we never heard a sound. This is what all hotel should aspire to.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Extremely comfortable studio room with excellent kitchen. New hotel with new rooms that look like the photos in the magazine ads. Great shower. Do not use Google driving directions -- they have you drive to the wrong end of town.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biztravelerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We stayed here overnight for a quick trip to Nashville, Indiana. It was very convenient in terms of location - just off of I-65 and only about 20 minutes away from Nashville. We were pleased with the room and with the fact that we could get an early check-in. Our only issue was with Heather, the concierge/desk assistant. That evening, we wanted to go out to dinner. We asked for recommendations, and one of the spots she mentioned was Carrabas. We asked for directions, and took off with map in hand. The directions were terrible. I called her from my cell to double-check, and she verified that we were going the right way. I asked if she had ever been to this particular restaurant, and she confirmed that she hadn't. We finally found it by taking a completely different route (the way that she had told us had us going the wrong way down a one-way street!). Only when we "found" the restaurant, we learned that it wasn't a Carrabas, it was a Johnny Carino's! We got back to the hotel and pointed this out to her, in the hopes that other travelers wouldn't have to through this. Both my husband and I got the impression that she could have cared less about the fact that we had to drive all over Columbus, and she definitely wasn't paying attention when we gave her the new directions and the CORRECT name of the restaurant.

Other than that one employee, our stay here was great!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geneviev00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

This was my first stay in the area, and I LOVED this place. It was quiet, comfortable, and affordable. The unit I stayed in was a king suite - loved the separate bedroom area with separate doors. The fitness center and pool area were both clean and well maintained. The employees were all friendly and helpful. Would definetely stay again if I was in the area on business.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I cannot add anything positive that has not already been said. The hotel is brand new and pristine, the staff friendly, service excellent, and the location ideal.

As others have said, the furniture/décor is trendy; however, trendy does not equate to comfort. With the exception of the patio and poolroom chairs, we found the furniture to be quite uncomfortable.

We booked into the hotel for 6 nights with our Shih Tzu. Initially, we were very happy that the hotel was so new and pristine. Unfortunately for me, that happiness was short lived. As soon as we walked down the hall, I suspected that I would have problems with the odors from the new carpets, wall coverings, and furniture. The odor in the room was overpowering for me. We kept the windows open all night to no avail. In the morning, I had a severe headache, dizziness, and nausea. I was very disappointed but by 12 PM, I begged my husband to check us out. Thankfully, by evening away from the room I felt better.

The Residence Inn has a $100 per stay pet fee, which we knew about when we booked, although the room directory lists the pet fee as $75. Checking out left us with a one-night rate of $233. I later learned that my husband did not realize that the room odors caused the problem and did not explain that to the desk personnel. I doubt they could have done anything about the situation had they known; presumably all the rooms would have been the same.

We booked the room knowing the policy, but never dreamed this would happen. If you consider staying here and have any kind of chemical sensitivity, I would wait six months for the furnishing’s etc. to “cure”.

We would stay at the hotel again (after 6 mths) if we were in the area without the dog, and I would recommend it to those without a chemical sensitivity.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Columbus Downtown
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Tipton Lakes
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside
1.2 mi away
Columbus Hotel
Columbus Hotel
#3 of 9 in Columbus
301 reviews
14.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbus

Address: 4525 W State Road 46, Columbus, IN 47201-2883
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: $131 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing