We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40 years of awesome!”

Derby Dinner Playhouse
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Clarksville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Louisville
Level Contributor
193 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“40 years of awesome!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Just had to say that I have been a patron of Derby Dinner for 40 years. Have seen well over 200 plays. Have been a season ticket holder for 10 years now and absolutely love this place. There are times that food is hit and miss, has been so much better the last few years, but I look forward to every play. The waitstaff and performers are like family and we enjoy seeing their characters change and how they develop them from performance to performance. The children's plays are top notch, I wish I had a little one to bring again, we kind of miss subscribing to the kids program. It's a great, fun, family style atmosphere and you may come here a stranger but you leave with friends.

Thanks for keeping us entertained for 40 years, here's to 40 more!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    32
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awesome Productions, Great Food, Wonderful Environment”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We saw Mary Poppins last night. The Disney Musical was awesome. The lead - Mary Poppins - was great. The child actors were equally as good. The supporting cast fit brilliantly. We were singing along for nearly two hours. Past productions of other plays including Beauty and the Beast, Smoke On the Mountain, Annie and Peter Pan have been equally as good. The buffet had fried chicken, fried fish, baked chicken, carved roast beef, carved turkey and all of the fixings. The salad bar was amazingly fresh. Definitely an "A" all around from the customer service, show, food and environment. Looking forward to seeing Rudolph (part of the Children's Theatre) this winter.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ky_traveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, Indiana
Level Contributor
153 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good shows; decent food”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Some of the shows are great, but others are only so-so; choose wisely. The food is decent--typical buffet offerings.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank REC_23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
225 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice play and good food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have taken my granddaughter to 4 Sat Children's plays and my wife and I have attend 3 evening plays in the last 8 months. All of the shows were excellent with good music and dancing. Singing in the Rain was exceptional. The musicals and comedies are the best to watch in this venue. The simple stage is "in the round". There are few props on stage but the costumes were excellent. It is a Dinner theater so a buffet meal starts the night off. It is a good buffet, food is fresh and hot. They seems to always have roast turkey and either Ham or Pork roast which are excellent. Other main entrees are a fish and pasta dish along with the normal vegetables you would expect. It also includes a very nice salad bar. If you want desert ($2-$5) that is extra and ordered at your table, with a option of having it served prior to the play or at intermission. Wine and cocktails are also available at a very reasonable price. This is a great outing for 4-6 people who are friends or family. If there are only 2 of you, you will likely share a table with another couple. How the 4 levels are tiered everyone has a good view of the stage.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jaxx k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shepherdsville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“2 visits - food quality different”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We went to see Copa Cabana for an evening show and I was pleasantly surprised at how good the food was compared to when we last visited...maybe 20 years ago.

There was a nice salad bar with prepared salads and salad ingredients...and the hot food, which was a nice variety of well seasoned vegetables and fried chicken, fish, carved meat, a pasta dish...pretty much all good.

There was plenty of time to eat...unlike our visit in the past.

This time we went for Singing in the Rain..a mid week matinee. What a difference in the food offerings.

The salad bar had only prepared salads and canned fruit, cottage cheese. The hot food was tasteless...the chicken so dry and tough I could hardly swallow it. The pasta had a bland tomato paste on it with a sprinkle of cheese.

Even though we had skipped breakfast we could hardly eat. It just wasn't good.

The servers have been great and attentive both times we were there. The shows are quick paced and the performers are talented.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeepdarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Derby Dinner Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing