We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel Choice For Derby Week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Louisville North
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clarksville
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel Choice For Derby Week”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked this hotel almost a year ago since hotel rooms over the Kentucky Derby weekend are sold out far in advance. My wife and I thought we were lucky just to find a hotel room anywhere within 25 miles of Churchill Downs. As soon as we checked in, we agreed that, for our needs, this was the best hotel we could have hoped for if we had our choice of Louisville area inns.

The hotel was easy to find. It is not right on the highway, but our Garmin led us right to it. The parking lot was very clean, the landscaping was nice and the hotel looked relatively new. The lobby was spacious and had a big flat screen TV and sofas to relax in. There was 24 hour free coffee available in the lobby and free newspapers. We are not big fans of 3:00 p.m. check in times, but it seems to be the norm these days. There was no line at check in and the staff throughout our stay was very friendly.

We did not know that housekeeping was only offered after a week long stay. We were in town for four days which meant the room would not be refreshed at all. We were told that we would be given fresh towels by bringing down our used towels and that we could either put our trash outside the room for pick up or bring it down to the front desk for disposal. As it turned out, we were able to spread everything out a little more when we were not expecting a maid to come in daily. Our room was extremely clean upon check-in and we did not miss daily maid service at all.

We were assigned a top floor (4th floor) room. The queen sized bed really looked more like a full size bed, but it was comfortable and we slept well. The room was very spacious and is set up like an efficiency apartment. We had a full size refrigerator, a stove, a counter, sink, microwave and cabinets. There was silverware and dishes in the room.

A multi-purpose dining table was located next to the kitchen area....perfect for watching the 42" flat screen TV and browsing the Internet at the same time. The wireless Internet only gave us "fair" signal strength and was little on the slow side, but it was free and got the job done. There was a huge cable selection....well over a hundred channels. There is a DVD player in the room. We had a good deal of business to tend to and the free wifi and the room setup made it easy to do everything

The closet is about six feet long and offered plenty of space for hanging clothes and other storage. The bathroom was spacious and looked brand new. The minor complaints are that the water pressure was fair, not great, and the hair dryer is a little pea shooter that gives a so-so performance. Unlike most hotel rooms, there were plugs everywhere which made battery charging for the computer, cell phones, tablets and cameras easy.

Even though no free breakfast was offered, we were able to keep milk in the fridge and cereal in the cabinets for an easy breakfast. We could store our dinner leftovers safely in the fridge for next day snacks. The hotel was very quiet. On Saturday and Sunday, we had the local paper delivered outside the door. There was a Kentucky Derby party on Friday night with a light buffet, soft drinks and beer in the lobby. We wish we would have known about the festivities before we ate dinner out, but it was still fun in the lobby as the excitement continued to build for the big race.

To our surprise, there were two souvenir mint julep glasses waiting in our room and a wooden plaque containing the logo print for Kentucky Derby 139. The freebies would have cost us $51.00 plus tax at the Churchill Downs Gift Shop, so they were really nice giveaways. The hotel is just a few miles north of the Ohio River. It is just a couple of blocks off of I-65 which zips you right into Louisville. Downtown Louisville hugs the southern bank of the Ohio River and Churchill Downs, our main destination, was only 8 miles away.

The Clarksville area is really nice. There was a mall less than a mile from the hotel and Best Buy, Kroger,Target and Walmart were all a couple of minutes away by car. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. You will feel like you are in an apartment.....which is a lot more like home than most hotel rooms. Our many thanks to the Candlewood management and staff for a great four day stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    24
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
34
26
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the Candlewood Suites on Saturday night and love the nice room we received. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The housekeeper was very friendly. I recommend this hotel if you will be staying in the area. From the staff to the rooms the hotel was great! Will be staying there again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccerM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Louisville North, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
SoccerM14,

Thank you very much for you kind review of your recent stay with us. Our housekeepers work very hard to make sure they are maintaining a very clean and organized hotel for our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Derek Smith
General Manager
Candlewood Suites - Louisville North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

this was a very wonderful hotel, It was great. clean right price the king suite with full kitchen was wonderful for the children and dog. the front desk service was so accommodating .Especially,Mackenzie, Derek. The king bed was so comfortable i didn't want to get up in the Morn.The bath towels were very nice. Coffee at your conv.all day. Its tooo bad people steal the dishes in the kitchen,and dirty up the floors [make stains] on carpets . love this hotel thanks for letting me have my dog comfeeee. also the free dvd rentals nice touch. Brand spanking new was enjoyable at a hotel.also everything available all around the hotel!!!!!!! cindy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Louisville North, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
wearetheones,

I would like to thank you for your review with your recent stay at our property. I apologize that problems that you encountered while staying with us. We strive towards keeing our facility and rooms very clean. We want every guest to feel right at home. I invite you to come back and stay with us in the future and hopefully we will be able to achieve all of your expectations. I would love the opportunity to speak to you about your recent stay. You can contact me at the hotel at (812)-284-6113 ext. 503. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Derek Smith
General Manager
Candlewood Suites - Louisville North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronx ny
Level Contributor
237 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

All in all it was ok, I found it to be very overprice compare to so many other Candlewoods I stay in the past, but I was whilling to over look that because I really enjoy staying at Candlewoods hotels. The room was not as clean as other candlewoods I been to, specially the kitchen area. Bed was comfortable, hotel was quiet. Pool area was very clean and water warm, Customer service, the first lady I encounter was not so nice didn't make me feel welcome but the second lady the next day (Short, light skin girl, can't remenber name) was very, very nice! Good location to visit Lousville as is a easy 15 minute drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearetheones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Louisville North, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear wearetheones,

Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read you like our comfortable accommodations. However, we are very sorry about the experience you had with the service from our hotel staff and if you found the room cleanliness less than. We would like to assure you that this is not normal and has been addressed with our housekeeping department. We take our guest comments very seriously and appreciate feedback as this is how we improve our hotel.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope to serve you soon and provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked this room because besides a couple of smoking rooms in another hotel, this was the only room availabe in the Louisville area!
The room in and of itself seemed like it had been cleaned (ie - fresh sheets, etc.) But the furniture and carpet was stained and made it icky.
The beds were not comfy. Our boys used the sofa bed and you could feel the springs/bars of the bed frame.
We used the pool, which seemed nice and well maintained, but upon entering the pool room, it stunk like exhaust and it was very loud.
My husband was flying in after 11 pm and the front desk attendant said she would arrange for the shuttle to pick him up (which was after their hours, so it was a very nice gesture) but the shuttle never came for him and he ended up paying for a cab.
Thankfully, we were able to get out of the 2nd night of our stay and were able to find a much nicer hotel for only a few more dollars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustus A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Louisville North, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
mnd76,

I would like to apologize for the problems that you encountered while staying at our property. We love to hear positive and negative feed back from guest to help us show what we need to improve on. I would love to speak to you about the issues that you had when you stayed with us. We strive towards making every guest feel right at home when staying with us. Please call me at 812-284-6113 ext. 503 so I can speak to you about the issues you encountered. We value your feedback and hopefully I can speak to you soon.

Sincerely,

Derek Smith
General Manager
Candlewood Suites - Louisville North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALEXANDRIA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Looking for accommodations near family that was close to our son's house is sometimes challenging, but the friendly and accommodating staff of Candlewood made this stay very comfortable. The room was clean and the king-sized suite was very comfortable for our stay. The hotel was only a short distance from New Albany IN and was close to restaurants, shopping, and the interstate. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Quiet area, but close to shopping and interstate in the Louisville, southern Indiana area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karonmkAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustus A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Louisville North, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
KaronmkAlexandria,

I would like to thank you for the very kind review of your recent stay at our property. We love to hear all feedback from guest staying with us to help show what we are doing well and what we need to improve on. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Derek Smith
General Manager
Candlewood Suites - Louisville North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had to stay the night in the area for business the next day, but it was going to be short so I took my family along and we stayed here based on reviews. I also stayed because I am a priority club platinum member. The room was great, and had a great layout with two queen beds and kitchen. The desk clerk brought us a pack n play for our baby. The pool was great, and we had a blast. The only issues we had was that the room was so hot that we had to turn the AC on and it was really cold outside. The room was comfortable after that. Also, the hotel says that it has DVDs that you can borrow from the front desk, but when I took my kids down to ask for one they could watch, they only had 5 movies and they were not appropriate for them. We would definitely stay here again, and it was very close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommycash1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Louisville North, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Tommycash1982,

I would like to say thank you for your very kind review of your recent stay at our property. We strive towards maintaining a "great hotel guest love" and hope that we are creating memorable stays for every guest. I apologize about the DVD selection at the time you were needing them. We are purchasing a new selection of DVD's this month. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us recognize what we are doing well and what areas need improvement. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Derek Smith
General Manager
Candlewood Suites - Louisville North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarksville
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Louisville-North/Clarksville
0.4 mi away
Best Western Green Tree Inn
Best Western Green Tree Inn
#1 of 7 in Clarksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Clarksville
3.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Louisville Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Louisville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Louisville North

Property: Candlewood Suites Louisville North
Address: 1419 Bales Ln, Clarksville, IN 47129-8721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Clarksville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clarksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Louisville North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Louisville North a 100% non-smoking hotel. We are located 4 miles from downtown Louisville and offer all of the comforts of home along with the convenience of having major businesses, retailers and restaurants nearby. We are located off exit #5- Veterans Parkway on I-65. Our all suite hotel is ideally located for visiting Norton Healthcare, Jewish Hospital and Clark & Floyd County Memorial Hospitals. The hotel is also close to the University of Louisville and the brand new Indiana- Purdue University campus. This brand new property has been designed with your needs in mind. Swim year round in our beautiful heated indoor pool, work out in our state of the art fitness center. Cook a meal in our fully equipped kitchens, grab a snack from the fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard or cook-out on our gazebo equipped with a gas grill. Or you can unwind after a hard day s work in our plush recliners while watching premium cable and HD channels on our 32 LCD TV s or grab a movie from our free movie library. If you prefer to work in the privacy of your living room we also offer wired and wireless free high speed Internet and an oversized work desk in every suite. All of our amenities will make you feel right at home and with all that downtown Louisville has to offer makes our Candlewood Suites the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Candlewood Suites Louisville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Louisville North Hotel Clarksville
Candlewood Suites Clarksville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing