We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun to explore”

Falls of the Ohio State Park
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Clarksville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dating back 386 million years, the Falls of Ohio are among the world's largest naturally exposed fossil beds.
Sanborn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun to explore”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My grandchildren and I enjoy exploring the park. We dig in the piles of dirt behind the visitor's building hoping to find fossils. Children would enjoy the outdoor activity.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank launcher68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    63
    20
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great morning trip.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Spent 2 hours of a morning exploring the riverfront area for fossils. Lots of great finds everywhere. My 5 year old had a great time exploring. There is a $2 fee for parking & entrance fee $8/adult. Bring good walking/climbing shoes and strollers for small kids. There is a ramp leading to the riverfront as well as stairs. It was kind of cool & kept the kids busy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
343 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Nice area and well done interp centre”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is not a world class facility, but it works well to explain the history of the area. There is an excellent series of vantage points.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChillyAlbertans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Take your bike”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

There is a nice paved trail for walking and biking along the river. If we had been on our bikes we could have seen more of the river. The view of Louisville across the river and the bridge is very nice. There is a statue of Lewis and Clark as this is where they set off on the exploration of a route west. Inside the welcome center there is an interpretive center. We didn't have time for that.

There is a charge for parking at the welcome center. Pay in the lot or inside.

Pretty spot to take a break when traveling.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WhisperDowntheLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A nice sidetrip”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were traveling over the bridge from downtown and noticed the falls .... they were easy to get to and we enjoyed getting great photos of downtown Louisville.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pma03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falls of the Ohio State Park also viewed

 

Been to Falls of the Ohio State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing