We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally tried it”

Smokey's Southern Barbeque
Ranked #11 of 67 Restaurants in Chesterton
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Finally tried it”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent pulled pork! Service was quick. Sides were delicious. The atmosphere is cute and cozy. We've wanted to try this for a long time

Helpful?
Thank Gogograny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pulled pork!!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This pulled pork dinner doesn't taste like it's from N.W. Indiana. It has the taste of Memphis. Awesome taste, always top quality, healthy sized portion. Great comfort food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodoco1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
165 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Maybe I'm in the minority, but I thought Wagner's was much better for ribs - mine were dry and flavorless. The sides and the pie were just okay, I probably won't drive out of my way to eat there again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cataclysmblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No exaggeration: Best pulled pork sandwich I've ever had”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Tiny cabin 20 between Mich City and Chesterton (where 20 meets 375), no matter what GPS (or Smokey's website) tells you! Also, know that it closes at 7pm, even on weekends.

Absolutely delicious meat and sides. Sauce is red, thin, and just-right-spicy; not that thick, too-sweet stuff. Lots of vinegar in the coleslaw, which went perfectly on my pulled pork sammie with a fresh bakery bun. Homemade beans are sweet with a little kick.

Regular size sandwich was $4, large was $5. Full meal with 2 sides was under $10.

Eat in if you have time; really great service and fun, country/lumberjack decor. Kid Rock ate there and signed the wall, so...whatever that's worth. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank OhioAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hands down the best barbeque anywhere!!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A great find in a small town!! The food was amazing, from the side dishes to the homemade dessert not to mention the amazing barbeque. The service was exceptional and the atmosphere was perfect. A great dining experience!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tarheeled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey's Southern Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Smokey's Southern Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing