We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we had stayed somewhere else”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Muskegon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wished we had stayed somewhere else”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were just passing through town...needed a place for the night. Stopped at this Econo Lodge. I knew we should have walked back out. The place smells like an old dirty bar from the moment you walk in. Stale cigarettes with a side of meth lab. The person working the desk was no ms. personality either. We were just driving back home from a southern vacation and I remarked to my husband "Well, I guess we're far enough north again that the southern hospitality is out the window." We got a non smoking room, but it smelled weird....not like the lobby, but a weird twang was in the air. On the surface, it looked clean enough. The decor wasn't too shabby, there was a fridge and microwave...always a huge plus. Pillows were THIN...super thin. Glad we brought our own. We slept okay...beds weren't super comfy, but I've had worse. THEN...when we were getting everyone ready and checking the sheets for loose socks, etc...I noticed the sheets had CIGARETTE burns and mystery stains on them. I about barfed. How trashy does a hotel need to be to have cigarette burns in the sheets in a non smoking room? The continental breakfast was also disappointing. Little Debbies, Toast, and the most watered Orange and Apple Juice I've ever had in my life. There was no fruit...or cold cereal...or oatmeal. Listen, I am NOT a fussy traveller. Read my other reviews. I've given 5 stars and great reviews to MANY budget motels. This is our first experience with an Econolodge....sorry to say to the chain, but we will never stay at one again based on this one experience. There are several chains in this little town....if the rest are sold out and there's only one room available here, save yourself $78 and sleep in your car.

Room Tip: I'd rather give tips to the owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKBails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    6
    9
    20
See reviews for
21
6
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The older woman working the front desk was very rude...she seemed totally put out by my questions. Our room...when you walked into it, the chemical smell was overwhelming! Two days later now, my sister said she doesn't know if she'll ever get that smell of out of her head. All 3 of coughed through the night and woke with headaches and sore throats. The pillows...I've eaten pancakes fluffier than the flat pillows and there are no extras in the room. Our lamp shade was broken and hanging sideways and it had several holes in it. There were only two lamps in the entire room and it was very dark. My daughter wanted to take a bath...the drain wouldn't close so the tub held no water. I thought the tub looked kind of dirty, so I scraped my fingernail on it and soap scum caked my fingernail. As someone else mentioned, the soap is broken into several pieces. I happened to see behind the nightstand while looking for a plug-in and the floor and wall was caked with thick dust and there was a dead flower laying on the lamp cord. The breakfast consisted of Little Debbie oatmeal pies and honey buns, along with watered down orange juice that was barely drinkable. What a disappointment. We were so tired or otherwise we would have never stayed here. We certainly won't stay here again and cannot recommend this motel. The price of $76 was outrageous for a dirty, dark, smelly room. We came home and immediately washed all our clothing, including the clean clothing that was in our suitcases. Also, the WiFi was a joke. I tried to sign in and got a virus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyMom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chesterton hotels

Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The room I received was clean, had a mini fridge and microwave. Fella at the front desk was very accommodating and the price was right. Only fault I found was pillows were flat, had to double up.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Bad experience from the moment we checked in. I reserved 2 nights, but decided to only stay one night. The woman was very rude and made me call the main number to cancel my reservation, which was incorrect of her do do. There were only 2 small towels, no shampoo and it was very dirty. The worst thing was that my boyfriend was bitten by bedbugs..yes, bedbugs. If you have to stay here, make sure you wash your clothes right away when you return home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennh39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

When you are traveling you have to decide what type of accommodations will serve your purpose. When staying in NW Indiana to visit family and friends we decided that we would need a bed and a shower and not much more. This Econo Lodge is obviously not the best choice in the area so I was not surprised with what we got for the money we paid. What we did get was our requirements filled with a hot shower and bed. The location is good for dining options and their packaged breakfast items and coffee will hold you over till you get some real food. Please don't whine when you pay $50 a night for hotel and all you get is $50 worth of product/service. Oh and I almost forget that the staff was nice and helpful and that is always a bonus at any price.

Room Tip: I think the closer you get to the front office the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

excellent rate
Internet bombed
could not open window(was cooler outside than inside my room)
Plenty of restaurants close by
Long John Silvers
Kentucky Fried Chicken/A&W rootbeer
Walgreens across the street
room needed attention
nicked walls,drink cup staind
Breakfast consisted of
Orange Juice on tap
Coffe
an assortment{it looked like little debbie brand}but still acceptable
close to interstate 80/90 & 94
very safe state police very visible,close to chicago,gary

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This place was a total crappy dive. Do not stay here even if you have no choice. There was no breakfast in the lobby the next morning, just Tastykakes, and there was no coffee. The front desk guy didn't understand English, and did nothing when my son threw up. The bathroom was dirty, no shampoo, and the TV didn't have all the channels. Will absolutely not be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterton
0.1 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
398 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
7.1 mi away
Super 8 Portage
Super 8 Portage
#6 of 11 in Portage
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 713 Plaza Dr, Chesterton, IN 46304-1550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Chesterton
Chesterton Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing