We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burgers in NW Indiana”
Review of Port Drive In - CLOSED

Port Drive In
Restaurant details
Portage, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best Burgers in NW Indiana”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is old school, family owned, 50's style Drive-In. The food is more than just great, it is cooked while you wait, no fast food here. The Root Beer is made fresh at the Drive-In everyday. This is what American history is about. Stop by and say Hello to the owners, they are always there when it is open!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    29
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lived there”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm a local and The Port has been great for me over the last 5 decades
I grew up with this classic drive in.. If you like typical drive in foods and a real cruise turnaround this is it

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MstrMstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
313 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“LOVE their root beer”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was in Chesterton for a long-weekend, and was pleasantly surprised to see The Port opened after their winter break. The food is typical drive-in food: hot dogs, hamburgers, fries, etc, BUT the root beer is exceptional. I highly recommend stopping by for the root beer. You can even get a large container to go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, mi
Level Contributor
1,162 reviews
790 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 582 helpful votes
“A Frosty Mug of Root Beer in the Car”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I stopped here for a snack, and a frosty mug of genuine root beer. I ordered the side-order size of fried clams. The prices are not cheap, but not high either. The frosty mug is a little smaller than A&W, but it is an easier size to manage off the carside tray in a smaller car. The root beer is made here, and has it's own unique flavor... better than most. The food is ordered from menus, and there are no carside menu, speaker-boxes (where I parked, just off the road). You speak directly with the car-hop waitress to order your food. The menu has an amazing assortment of food and drink options you just can't get anywhere else... cool mixed flavor cokes and REAL malts and phosphate drinks. They even have "Green River" here. You must visit this place for the nostalgia alone... the food adds to, and is part of the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpster
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Older Drive in reasterant but going downhill!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I used to come to the port all the time. The food is OK the service is very good the root beer is excellant! The diningroom way closed the last time I stopped there because the air conditioning wasn't working. This was "THE" place to be back in the 80's after school or on friday night but looks to be hanging on by a thread now!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Drive In also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing