We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I almost hate to share this since it may mean many more people on the trails!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coffee Creek Watershed Conservancy Preserve

Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Chesterton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 167 acre nature preserve
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I almost hate to share this since it may mean many more people on the trails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have walked here most mornings for many years with a friend. It is remarkably cheap therapy for the soul as well as great exercise! I usually have a camera with me and have countless photos of the deer and each season's flowers. If you love birds it will not disappoint especially during seasonal migration. The Coffee Creek redwinged blackbirds are the first singers in Spring.We were fortunate several years ago to come across tiny furballs running towards us on the back path on one of the first warm and sunny Spring days. It took a moment to register that these curious little balls of fur were brand new coyote pups! We looked to the side of the path where mom coyote was watching and slooowly backed up and turned away. No problem! We also have seen 8 point stags surrounded by their does. It is a gorgeous escape ! Don't be afraid to enjoy the Conservancy in winter. Each Season has much to offer!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mizkmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, IN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great walking/jogging trails!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I live near the Preserve and enjoy morning walks on the trails there. Most are of pavers and boardwalks. The back trail (3.2 miles, I believe.) has gravel areas as well as the pavers and boardwalks. Most trails have some hilly areas. There is a frog pond and the Coffee Creek River runs through it where you can see steelhead trout or coho salmon spawning at certain times of the year.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JKJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, IN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil walking Trails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Quiet peacful setting. I go there to walk with my sister and love the trails while viewing nature and wildlife. Great local setting for exercising or social group gatherings. ;)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A lovely nature preserve for walking or jogging”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Coffee Creek Watershed is a great resource for people living in or visiting the Chesterton, Indiana area. The trails run behind homes but you would never know the houses were there because the preserve quickly takes you into nature. Birds and deer are everywhere. A very accessible place for someone just walking (or even in a wheelchair) and also a great place to jog.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank chipsbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go for a walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great, natural setting. Lots of deer. We saw a doe with her fawn scrambling behind. Weird walking by houses that skirt the path, though, and seeing right into them. Peaceful for a nice walk.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PTZHKWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Creek Watershed Conservancy Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Coffee Creek Watershed Conservancy Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing